We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mallin Colorado Ecolodge
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband & I plus another couple stayed five fantastic nights at Mallin Colorado & absolutely did NOT want to leave even then! We had the very best time - our cabana was gorgeous with a view of the lake & mountains that was changing every few minutes. We had privacy yet could walk just a few minutes to the lodge for food, drink or a comfy lounge. Paula cooked for us a gourmet delicacy every night and a yummy breakfast with homemade whole grain bread, fresh eggs, avocados & a changing fresh fruit frappe. We took several of the multiple & varied hikes right out the back door, from 40 minutes to 4 hours - all spectacular scenery & views trekking through beautiful changing forests, plants, birds & wildlife. It is just private enough to be private, yet close enough if one wants to explore the little villages nearby. The perfect blend of luxury & rustic. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckf722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polaguadalina, Owner at Mallin Colorado Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

THanks very much for making a review of our lodge and your stay in Mallin Colorado. It was a real pleasure to receive and attend you here! Hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Mallin Colorado Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

My husband, son (21) and a friend (24) stayed at Mallin Colorado over the Christmas Holiday. We were greeted warmly and treated like family. We had a lovely cabin and the food was delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed the excursions as well as the time spent relaxing in our cabin or wandering the grounds on our own. We loved the glacier day hike and would highly recommend it to others. Mallin Colorado is a beautiful place with charming people. We certainly had "good times" while we were there.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank dbodkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We spent eight days at Mallin Colorado and had an extraordinarily enjoyable visit. The setting is beautiful, with snow caps and glaciers in all directions, and the food, service and hospitatlity were wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLSmithRaleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The long drive on the Carretera Austral was worth it to reach this perfect place of nature.
The Mallin Colorado Lodge has comfortable bungalows with much privacy and from there you enjoy a fantastic view over the Lago General Carrera , as well as to the glaciers of the Andes. Paula (who speaks German) with family and team offers a perfect service.
We appreciated the familiar atmosphere , but also Paula`s good advices for several activities (hikes, trips to the Baker River or to the Marble Caves)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Mallin Colorado nature lodge might seem far away. Well, it is, and it is because of this very reason, that it is one of the most beutiful and serene places you will ever encounter. The setting, paired with very comfortable accommodations, the hospitality of the Christiansen family and fantastic home-cooked food makes Mallin Colorado well worth the extra few hours of travel.

I read somewhere that Patagonia is like Colorado was 50 years ago. I can only hope Patagonia will not change...

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Araucaria09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Every thing was perfect; the landscape, the bungallow, the food, the views... The owners were so kind to us, that we really felt at home. We had a wonderfull relaxing week in Mallín Colorado!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We arrived at the lodge after a longish but lovely drive along the Carretera Austral from Balmaceda airport. We were made very welcome by Paula and her family who speak excellent English and can advise on all local activities. There is lots to do from the lodge including horse riding, fishing and hiking. Our cabana was very comfortable and had the most amazing views over Lake General Carrera. All four cabanas are widely spaced along the hillside and totally private from each other. They all have woodburners and are very cozy. We spent 4 nights at the lodge and enjoyed local walks, many of them without the need to use the car. All the meals were delicious and beautifully presented. We really loved our stay and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Guadal
0.7 mi away
Terra Luna
Terra Luna
#1 of 1 in Puerto Guadal
197 reviews
16.5 mi away
Patagonia Acres Fishing Lodge
Patagonia Acres Fishing Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mallin Grande
17 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hacienda Tres Lagos
Hacienda Tres Lagos
#2 of 8 in Chile Chico
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Cabanas Valle Exploradores
Cabanas Valle Exploradores
#3 of 5 in Puerto Rio Tranquilo
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Mirador de Guadal
El Mirador de Guadal
#1 of 2 in Puerto Guadal
127 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lodge Parador Austral
Lodge Parador Austral
#1 of 1 in Puerto El Miten
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallin Colorado Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallin Colorado Ecolodge

Address: Carretera Austral Sur km.273 | Lago General Carrera, Puerto Guadal 605000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Aisen Region > Puerto Guadal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Guadal
Price Range: $137 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallin Colorado Ecolodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family ecolodge on lake General Carrera, Aisén, Patagonia, Chile, located in middle of nature, surrounded by the Northern Ice Fields, river Baker, lake General Carrera, glaciers, forests and pampa valleys, with a wide variety of outdoor activities, like horsebackridings, flyfishing, rafting, trekking, hiking. Special place to rest, disconnect yourself and enjoy the beauty of nature, the silence and an exclusive attention to the details. Rustic and elegant private log cabins in a secluded countryside, with the best view over one of the most beautiful places in Carretera Austral. Provides excursions, meals, transportation, laundry, wi-fi, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mallin Colorado Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallin Colorado Ecolodge Chile/Puerto Guadal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing