We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best golf courses!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spring City Golf & Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Yiliang County
shanghai
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best golf courses!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Best golf courses in China! no matter the lake view course or mountain view course, they fullfill all your needs for a golf retreat. Challenging while enjoyable course design, well trained staff, and the amazing nature surrounds. You can not ask for more. So for the courses, I would give 5 stars without hesitation.
For the resort itself, I would say not as perfect as the courses. That's why overall I gave 4 stars here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in Kunming mainly for golf and stayed one night in Spring City. The hotel lobby was under renovation and in its place was a small corner with a basic check- in counter. We arrived at around 10pm and the bell service staff who took our golf bags seemed sleepy & unfriendly and just piled our golf bags by lying them flat on the floor in a tentage area at the door.

The reception staff made a mistake and claimed that we booked for only one golf game for the next day, instead of two. After some argument, they managed to check and confirm that we booked 2 games. The room was big and clean, with 2 twin beds and a balcony which overlooked a lake.

My husband and his friends played 2 games the next day and claimed that the green was a bit bald and didn't really enjoyed the games much.

Overall, we were a disappointed with experience as we expected better since they claimed to be fhe number one golf course in China in their website. We will most probably not visit the place again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited the resort during the lunar's New Year holiday. Wonderful experience on golf courses, both mountain and lake courses. My favorite was Lake Course.
However, the hotel although it is claimed to be 5 star is quite mediocre.
From the check-in, it was incredible to see the bellmena lazily keeping the station and no interest in helping the customers.
We had to carry our own bags.
The room was OK, spacious, but the lighting is bit dim.
You can't drink the tap water because of high iron content in the water.
Limited selection of foods. Price is not cheap either.
Passable English by employees, but they were willing to help out.
This hotel is bit out of way from everything!
Overall, a nice place for golf vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front desk seem to be better and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irxraydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were there for a 5 nights golf retreat, a annual program with friends. This time round, we decided to stay in their bungalow - a 2 bedroom unit. Great for group as we had the living room for our party ! The place is well kept and own privacy.
We enjoyed both the Lake and Mountain courses very much !
Great place to return to !!

Room Tip: Good to plan your itinerary to include Stone Forest Golf Course and if you want a sight seeing, do i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is mentioned to be China's best resort and I have been twice now from HK and love it. Well run, courses in great shape, challanging. If there for a few days you should definately check Sone Forest about 45 minutes away...amazing course!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I traveled here with my family for a golf vacation and enjoyed it more than expected (I'm not really into golf). The resort is about an hour drive from downtown Kunming on an isolated side of a mountain lake. This is great for people/families looking to unwind from rapid pace of urban life. The villas are situated on a steep mountain side (approx. 2000 m elevation) where you will need the valet to drive you back to your rooms from the club house, this means you get a lot of privacy, so its great to just spend time here with your family. The club house is basically supporting the scores of day golfers. They also have decent tennis courts and massage facility.

Main points in summary.

+ points
Beautiful golf course, fresh air, tasty Singapore food in cafeteria, good all around service, clean and spacious rooms, great views, serene and quiet, nature feel.

- points
small convenience store (I suggest buying groceries from town when you arrive at airport), 1 hour drive from town

Room Tip: 3 BR villas are great for large groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I booked the 2 night 2 round special and played the mountain course today. The fairways of the first nine holes were under heavy maintenance and in very poor shape (think mud, sand and gravel). They hadn't informed me of this when booking, or even before starting my round. When I complain later at having paid full price for a course under repair they apologized. I suggested that they let me play nine holes at the Lake Course as compensation (it was 3 PM and both courses were empty), they explained that the apology was sincere - and sufficient. The resort is empty, it is hard to even get service at the bar, the place is cold and boring.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StLouis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yiliang County
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Brilliant Resort & Spa
#35 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guandu District
Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel
Lakeview Golf Hotel
#90 of 1,169 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring City Golf & Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring City Golf & Lake Resort

Property: Spring City Golf & Lake Resort
Address: Tangchi Town, Yiliang County 652103 , China
Location: China > Yunnan > Yiliang County
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Yiliang County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class golf resort featuring 6 suites and 43 deluxe rooms, which are luxuriously furnished with private balconies overlooking spectacular views of the golf course and lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Spring City Golf & Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring City Golf And Lake Resort
Spring City Golf & Lake Hotel Yiliang County
Spring City Hotel Lake
Spring City Resort Lake
Spring City Golf & Lake Resort China/Yiliang County, Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing