We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta de Santa Barbara
Ranked #3 of 3 Constancia B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Stay!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We just returned from Portugal and had the most wonderful stay that the Quinta de Santa Barbara. From the hostess, to Carlos at the restaurant, and the wonderful accommodations, our stay will be one always remembered. We loved our room and the locations so much that we actually extended our stay. We did travel on the off season (October) and found that we had the entire B&B to ourselves. We stayed in the Chapel Suite where you have a private sitting room and pass through the Chapel to enter your room. The room was large with a fireplace and extra large bathroom. Although out in the countryside this location proved to be perfect for daytrips to Almourol, Fatima & Tomar and just an hour out of Lisbon. This is the place for a restful holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city.

Room Tip: Highly suggest the Chapel Suite but had a change to peek in at the other rooms and they were all ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffs_space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was like staying in a museum while enjoying modern comfort. It is very nice looking from the outside and inside it is stunning, with fabulous ceilings and lots of antiques. The room was large enough for two adults and a child, with a nice bathroom. We really enjoyed the swimming pool. The cats have grown less social, but our 7-year old boy had a great time looking for feathers from the peacocks. We thus had to carry three feathers on flights through Europe...
The service was ok, but we did not see much of the staff.
As for restaurants, we did unfortunately not read the review below. We rather went to Remedio d'Alma, which is better avoided due to poor food at a high price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olavgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We were very much looking forward this place, but we were disappointed by the receptionist. Our phone reservation was not recorded and the guy at reception desk even did not say simple Hello or Good morning. Like if he did not want to be disturbed by new guests, coming for 4 nights. Therefore, we stayed in the next rural b&b, with perfect treatment by the owners. Therefore, otherwise perfectly looking and attractive place discouraged us by unwelcoming behavior.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edpePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Manager at Quinta de Santa Barbara, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
we are very sorry to hear about this regrettable experience. Please know that we have in meanwhile fired this receptionist and take care of our customers personally. We look forward to welcoming you again and are sure you will enjoy your stay this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We just stayed at Quinta de Santa Barbara, on our way from Coimbra to Evora, and were utterly charmed by this beautiful historic estate, which dates back to the 16th century, with ties to Portugal's revered poet, Luis de Camoes.
We stayed here on a Monday, and almost had the inn to ourselves, excepting 2 pet peacocks, and Pippa and Mike, 2 very entertaining kittens, who were diligently practicing their stalking and pouncing skills on each other.
Our room was very large and rustic, with a great view over the nearby valley. The quinta has a swimming pool that also has beautiful views, and is a very tranquil place to relax. There's a restaurant across the courtyard, which also has a tennis court and large garden behind it.
We had a good dinner at a restaurant in Constancia, "Falcoes", which serves various meats "a pedra", "on the stone", meaning that you're served the meat you choose raw, with dishes of salt, spices, minced garlic, and olive oil, which you use when you cook the meat yourself on a very hot stone tablet. It was very pleasing to eat this way - we'd experienced this presentation before, in a Bullfighting ring restaurant in Grenada.

Constancia is a tidy, pretty riverfront town of whitewashed houses, built on a sloping riverbank. Even though there is a modern factory across the river from the town, the place still manages to be quite charming. Many of the views don't include the factory.

There's also an enchanting 12th century castle nearby at Almourel. It sits on a tiny island, and a boatman will ferry you across the river to the castle, in a small boat.

The Quinta de Santa Barbara is a very good value - you get to stay at a beautiful, historic estate for a price that's much cheaper than many hotels of much lower caliber. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys historic, tranquil surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turismoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

First I must say that the Quinta de Santa Bárbara does not fall into the category of B&B. It's more a unique kind of establishment here in Portugal, where old castles, palaces or like in this case manor houses are adapted to receive guests.

The Manor House has a giant history, going back to the 15th century when it was build. It belonged to a friend of the most famous portuguese poet Camões, called Francisco Sampayo e Mello. In 1695 it was bought by the Governor of Portugal's colonies in India Fernando Lencastre. And finally in 1714 it was bought by the portuguese Jesuits which made several restorations and build it's precious 18th century chapel.

In the 1970's it was bought by the current owner, a lover of antiques and restorations that rebuilt and restored to his original grandeur the several original and fabulous houses that compose the property.

It has a big garden and also some farm land where several orange, pear and apple trees grow along many vegetables that end up in your table each morning, like fresh orange juice.
A tennis court, a gorgeous pool, a fantastic bar (a crossing between a centuries old english pub with an antiquities store) and a fantastic and surreal restaurant which is the old 16th century winery and olive oil storage house (perfectly preserved in time, it feels like you step out of the 21st century and step right in the 1500's) are at the disposal of the guests of the 7 rooms of the main House. A big plus, because with so few rooms you can enjoy the House with calm and tranquility, dedicating yourself to catch the thousands of little details that compose the Quinta de Santa Bárbara, from the bed head rests that are in fact centuries old oratories, to the authentic chamber of treasures that is the owners private collection of antiquities (which include a whole 19th century pharmacy), right next to the bar, to the orbicular templar knights cross embedded in the floor in front of the restaurant's door...

Also right next to the Quinta de Santa Bárbara there is an Astronomical Observatory, the Science Center of Constância, where you can go each night to take a peak at several planets or stars in one of the 5 telescopes, a fantastic plus to an already extremely rich cultural environment.

The Manor House simply has an unbeatable price/quality ratio, the staff is a family that lives inside the property, very efficient and that look after your every need with care and attention and you really feel like you belong there.

I spent 3 nights in the Quinta de Santa Bárbara, mainly to discover several of the attractions of the region, like the beautiful village of Constância, surrounded by Portugal's biggest river, the Tagus and the river Zezere, the fabulous Castelo de Bode Dam where you can go for a swim (I recommend the Aldeia do Mato ecological beach), boat ride or enjoy the fantastic scenery, the surreal templar knights Castle of Almourol, that seems to come out of a fairy tale since it stands in the middle of the river, and mainly the historical giant that is the city of Tomar, founded by the portuguese Templar Knights Grand Master Gualdim Pais in the 12th century, its castle and church are perfectly preserved and are a UNESCO World Heritage Site of major importance.

A place I recommend to those who love History, Culture, Gastronomy and Astronomy and also peace, tranquility, relaxation, romance and something that Portugal has in abundant quantities, Authenticity.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ArturEduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constancia
8.8 mi away
Quinta de Coalhos
Quinta de Coalhos
#1 of 1 in Pego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
20.9 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Lusitano
Hotel Lusitano
#1 of 1 in Golega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
12.3 mi away
Hotel Aires da Serra
Hotel Aires da Serra
#2 of 3 in Torres Novas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Constancia Guest House
Constancia Guest House
#2 of 3 in Constancia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de Santa Barbara

Property: Quinta de Santa Barbara
Address: Estrada da Quinta de Santa Barbara, Constancia 2250-092, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Constancia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Constancia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta de Santa Barbara 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta de Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing