We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and romantic, with cooking lessons a bonus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Alvados B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb and romantic, with cooking lessons a bonus”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

One of the most gorgeously designed places we have ever stayed. No detail overlooked, with a fun sense of whimsy and romance. Set in fields of ancient olive trees and wild thyme, this superb hotel offers beautiful food plus the fun of a hands-on lesson, steam baths, a pool and wonderful service. Plus great bikes to explore the countryside.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    38
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
99
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July 2013 and loved it. We had originally booked for Casa dos Matos by the same owner, but upon arrival we were upgraded to this hotel down the street. If you are doubting between the two - don't hesitate and book Cooking & Nature. It is beautifully equipped and very affordable. A no-fault hotel...we could't find anything we did not like: very friendly staff, rooms were stylish, modern, spacious and clean, the pool was nice and the views beautiful. The location allows you to make day trips to nearby Tomar and Batalha, and the beach in Nazaré is at 1 hr drive. We particularly enjoyed the cooking class at night, where the hotel staff helps you prepare your own 3-course meal. You don't have to join in these classes if you don't want to - there is a lovely Portugese restaurant in the next village. But the classes were a fun experience and you get to know the staff - which made our stay very personal. We'd definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking to relax for a couple of days. Just book and you won't regret.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mijke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of the best small hotels i have ever been
With an excellent service with a new cooking experience. In this hotel we have to cook our dinner. Excellent idea….
The hotel is located in the middle of the nature with a great view to the mountain…

Room Tip: different decorated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco de Arcos, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have a guesthouse in Lisboa, so please forgive my humble description. :)
And plus we are used too travel to small boutique hotels and we easily compare even if we don't want too. ;)
Since the arrival to the departure everything in this hotel was fantastic.
In the arrival everything was showed to us, with a great sympathy, tender and patient.
The room had the perfect size. Although it was windowed for the swimming pool it was super private cause the glass didn't allow to see from the exterior to the interior.
The design, the architecture and decoration is full of delightful details. And it most important with Portuguese influence and taste!
The breakfast was great. And if we want anything extra it was provided with a smile to us.
A real design nest in the heart of Portugal!!

Room Tip: With different decorated rooms you have liberty to choose your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindtrap007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alvados
7.2 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
317 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
7.7 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
344 reviews
21.9 mi away
SANA Silver Coast Hotel
SANA Silver Coast Hotel
#1 of 7 in Caldas da Rainha
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa dos Matos
Casa dos Matos
#4 of 4 in Alvados
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel

Property: Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel
Address: Asseguia das Lajes 181, Alvados 2480-032, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alvados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alvados
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Special Place to Stay in the heart of Portugal 12 rooms, 12 entirely different emotions - 8 romantic rooms and 4 family rooms. Dinner in the format of a cooking lesson daily. Light lunches available. Honesty bar. Function rooms, surrounded by nature, seating up to 25 people in a U-format Massages and d'Aire Baths - 3 small indoor pools at different temperatures. Outdoor pools and area for outdoor massages and yoga. Specially developed network of paths for walking, horse riding and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooking And Nature - Emotional Hotel Portugal/Alvados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing