We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa dos Matos - A small slice of heaven hidden on earth”
Review of Casa dos Matos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa dos Matos
Ranked #4 of 4 Alvados B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The perfect location for a getaway from all the stress and troubles of city life. A weekend here was enough to charge my "batteries" and give us the stremght for the last run till the end of the year.
The zen and peace offered and obtained is impossible to put into words and the owners help in every way possible to make the stay even more relaxing, whether it be the home cooked meals, teas and jams, or the simple touch of a nice relaxing moment in the living room listening to the chill out music.
Recommended to anyone and everyone who just want to get away from it all for a while. An experience we will definetly repeat and soon. :D

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logansrun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 35 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

We liked it very much because it was quiet, simple and a bit remote, in the countryside.
We loved the atmosphere during the evening, the host was very kind, and the simple meal was very delicate.

We liked the half-abandoned/half-in-the-process-of-being rebuilt very small village, with lost walnut and fig trees and paths to wander around.

Enjoyed the pool for a quick dip in the cooler morning, gazing at the light of the raising sun on the mountain.

We loved a nearby auberge with great grelhar and local customers (ask the host).

Remote because nestled at the side of the mountain, in the limestione dolines, and not as urban as the surrounding 10 km away.

Still very convenient to visit the monasteries at Bathala and Alcobaca, and spend the evening on the ocean shore.

Quiet, because it was september and there were only four couples/group.

The main building is in part 'ancient' in part all new, but well integrated into the surrounding. We liked the yellow room for its situation and it s simplicity and the fig tree protecting it. It is brand new, in a new (small) building.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Small cozy bnb set in a little village in a quiet setting. Great breakfast and owner is very helpful in getting organized with myriad of activities close by. Great breakfast and excellent food in region so worth getting around. Relaxed, composed and good value. Higher end rooms worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridgemagnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We were in Casa dos Matos for a Weekend, and it was even better than we could expect :)
Nice staff, cousy environment, and wonderfull surrounding mountains!
Rui and Rita received us with a large smile and helped us to feel at home.
The hiking in the mountains with Rui was a nice discovery of all Alvados mysteries.
We wope to return for the mushrooms season :)
Sandra & Rui

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Beatifull location excellent conditions. The rooms surely the "charme" ones are beatifull with alot of nice details like the bathtub with panoramic view and a great balcon. The all place is very well taken care of. Rita and Rui are very friendly as well the personel, the food and service perfect

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaoeJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying 2 weeks with Gita and Rui and enjoyed the hotel, the hikes and the cooking at casa dos matos. If you want to combine luxury, nature and culture this is the place for you! Annelie en Marijn Westerink

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank librarianUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We recently spent five nights at Casa dos Matos (couple with 2 kids aged 6 and 8). This small hotel is a modern restoration which blends in harmoniously with the surrounding village, and which provided our base from a trip to explore a region of outstanding natural beauty.

We rented a car at Lisbon Airport and it took us about 1½ hour’s drive to reach Casa dos Matos in the small villlage of Alvados in the Serra de Aires e Candeeiros Natural Park.

There are eight lovely bedrooms with TV, private bathroom, and a sofa with extra bed. We stayed in a charming room (called "Earth Room") elegantly furnished in minimalist style with a huge panoramic tub and a lovely little terrace.

The atmoshphere is very relaxed, homely and close to nature. We highly recommend this place!

Rita and Rui were our welcoming and enthusiastic hosts, and they had taken great care to ensure that we would will feel at home!

We had dinner at Casa dos Matos most nights - Rita's cooking is absolutely delicious. Rita prepares tasty meals using fresh local ingredients!


Outdoor facilities include a garden with swimming pool, badminton, terrace and bicyles free of charge.

Overall Casa dos Matos exceeded our expectations and we can not recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smourao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alvados hotels
3.1 mi away
Cooking and Nature - Emotional Hotel
5.2 mi away
Pousada de Juventude Alvados - Porto de Mos
2.9 mi away
Flor da Serra - Casa de Campo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa dos Aromas - Nature Tourism
2.8 mi away
Casa Boho
Casa Boho
#3 of 4 in Alvados
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Matos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Matos

Address: Rua Dom Fuas Roupinho, Alvados 2480-032, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alvados
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alvados
Price Range: $87 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa dos Matos 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the green valley of Alvados, surrounded by the imposing limestone massifs, Casa dos Matos is a modern restoration which blends in harmoniously with the surrounding village, and which provides a base from which to explore a region of outstanding natural beauty.Situated in the villlage of Alvados in the Serra de Aires e Candeeiros Natural Park, about 1 hour drive north of Lisbon, and close to the coast at Nazaré. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa dos Matos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dos Matos Portugal/Alvados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing