We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly with some nice food, but our room was no way a 'luxury' B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tollgate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tollgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Friendly with some nice food, but our room was no way a 'luxury' B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights B&B in late August in the larger room overlooking the road. If we were in the area again, we'd happily eat here, but we wouldn't stay overnight - the service/food was at odds with our bedroom comfort which makes it difficult to rate

Pros
*Friendly, helpful staff
*Pleasant, popular bar area where food was generally good (although why some dishes are served on slate 'plates' too small for the dish is a mystery). The fish & chips, pies and cooked breakfast were excellent with hearty portions (cold breakfast choice is nothing special)
*Holt itself is pleasant, convenient to visit local garden attactions (The Courts, Great Chalfield)
*Large car park, easy to find a space

Watchouts
The Inn markets itself as 'luxury' B&B with accordingly higher than average B&B rates. Based on our room, we felt they were 'overselling' themselves - a bowl of fruit and an small fridge didn't outweigh the downsides for us.
* We found both the bed and pillows very uncomfortable and lumpy
* Stuffy room with more noise than we expected from the road. The curtains were very thin and there was an orange lamp post shining into our room
* Our bathroom was in need of some 'TLC' with peeling paint on ceiling
* The bedrooms are accessed via an outside metal staircase on the side of the Inn and a narrow passage way - it wasn't a problem for us, but might be tricky for someone with mobility issues

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineWindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    71
    33
    17
    5
See reviews for
56
127
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked for an overnight stay supposedly as part of our Anniversary weekend, however, the weather put paid to ongoing plans and we only stayed the one night at the Tollgate before heading home. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and both the dinner and breakfast we ate were of an excellent quality.

Rooms have to be accessed from an outside staircase, which was a little odd, and the "touch" lights in the corridors seemed to only come on at the 2nd or 3rd "touch". The room was beautifully clean, and it was lovely to have fresh milk and a small bowl of fruit. Our problem though was that the bed (we were in a room called "Samantha"), was just a standard double bed and with a very springy, soft mattress. We're used to a super king at home and with a firm mattress, so neither of us slept very well. The en-suite bathroom was absolutely tiny, and I couldn't use the shower as I found it too claustrophobic. We could hear our neighbours boiling their kettle during the night too, so some of the walls must be quite thin.

I would have liked to have found some information in the room about the history of the Inn, there was plenty of material about the area, but nothing specific to the Inn.

So, to sum up, if you are slim and sleep well generally, and don't mind a "cosy" bathroom, then go ahead and enjoy your visit. If you're rather larger built then I'd give staying a miss!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our night here. The room, though not huge, was spotlessly clean, comfortable and welcoming (loved the bowl of fruit and the teddy bear!). The fresh milk in the room was a bonus too - my husband hates those little milk portions. The food in the bar was really tasty and just a bit different. The full English breakfast was massive but very easy to eat. The staff were really friendly and efficient and we would certainly stay here again when in the area. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room that doesn't overlook the road as its a bit noisy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A friendly Inn with nice rooms, great food and a welcoming friendly personal touch that makes all the difference. Highly recommend for pleasure or business guests to stay in just to have a drink and yummy meal. Loads if parking available too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We celebrated a family get together of 12 people for Sunday lunch in August 2013. We selected this restaurant based on previous experience from a couple of years ago. Our expectation was a high quality meal for which we were prepared to pay a premium price. The price was as expected, sadly the meal fell short.
When booking, because we were a party of 12, we were asked to pre-order (unusual, but not unreasonable). We pre-ordered the main course two days in advance, we all selected the standard Sunday roast and seasonal veg, but we did not pre-order dessert, because we were not sure whether everyone would feel up to the dessert without knowing the size of the portions.
The main course was served promptly upon arrival and was good however the vegetable portions were quite small, had we not been with 3 small children we would have needed to request more veggies. The quality was good, but certainly not special. We were still hungry after the main course, so decided to order pudding. We ordered our desserts and about 25 minutes of waiting we were told there was no creme brûlée and we needed to make four substitutions (we were left wondering why they didn't know this when we placed the order, but everything became later on...). Another 20 minutes passed by and the desserts finally arrived! 45 minutes with hungry young kids climbing over grannie to kill the wasps circling and swooping above us did not make for an enjoyable wait. The desserts were fine, however the biscuits accompanying the cheese plate were stale.
One of our party went to get some air and had a conversation in the car park with another two equally disappointed customers who relayed a similar delay for dessert. They were served curdled creme brûlée and following their complaint all creme brûlée was removed from the menu.
At the end of the meal we spoke to the manager, who agreed to removed the cheese plates from our bill, but her attitude left us feeling that the delay for the desserts was our fault because we did not pre-order, which was complete rubbish. The restaurant was less than half full and we were there for 2 hours. It was clear to me that the Tollgate could not handle a reasonable volume of people through the restaurant that day. The sad part about this situation is that the manager could have rescued this very easily by being more sensitive to their customers' needs. Instead of communicating and perhaps offering a few bowls of ice cream to the youngsters or another drink order, they had to mention the fact that we did not pre-order our dessert, which implies it was our fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 912PeterH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My parents live nearby and we all decided to visit after having an introduction postcard tempt us in (great idea by the way).
We were immediately struck by the warm welcome and friendly attitude of the bar staff, especially the owner. She greeted everybody who walked in the door and yet gave efficient service too.
We all had different meals but all were good and you could tell local produce is used. We sat in the garden but service did not suffer. Great Wine selection and the whites are chilled properly.
We will return and my parents have now made this their local .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent a night at The Tollgate during a week away when we were visiting the local area. It was a great find; just the right amount of friendly, great, efficient service and welcoming staff. The food was good (particularly the Hock Ham Scotch egg and other starters we shared) and the room - though small, was clean, comfortable and cute. Breakfast was also excellent.
We would definitely go back anytime (just a shame it's not our local!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
1.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tollgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tollgate Inn

Property: The Tollgate Inn
Address: The Toll Gate Ham Green, Holt, Trowbridge BA14 6PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Holt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tollgate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Tollgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tollgate Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing