We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay”
Review of The Tollgate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tollgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really lovely stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent a night at The Tollgate during a week away when we were visiting the local area. It was a great find; just the right amount of friendly, great, efficient service and welcoming staff. The food was good (particularly the Hock Ham Scotch egg and other starters we shared) and the room - though small, was clean, comfortable and cute. Breakfast was also excellent.
We would definitely go back anytime (just a shame it's not our local!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    75
    34
    17
    5
See reviews for
59
132
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review for the Tollgate for months now after a memorable visit earlier this year. The Tollgate has recently undergone some changes - for the better in my opinion. The menu was on point with fresh, local ingredients, the drinks reasonably priced and the service was EXCELLENT! The laid back attitude of the owners made you feel really at home, unlike some pubs where 'non-locals' are not made feel welcome. I was planning another visit when I was down for Badminton horse trials but sadly had to cancel this last minute. I look forward to a visit again soon! I really recommend this place!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great food, sensible prices and very friendly service.

We happened on this pub by chance on the way to a NT property nearby but were delighted with it in every respect and we will be back. The food and service was unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to give it ago, we'll I'm so glad we did, extremely well looked after place, friendly staff and very attentive,
Food was wonderful and even the children ate there fish pie,
We where so surprised we decided to book in and stay over for the night, easy and present clean tidy rooms to a extremely high standard.
We had a lovely walk around and had tea there too, staff remembered our faces and drinks! Thought this was a nice touch,
Lots of locals on the evening but still friendly and not "clicky" at all.
A very nice surprise was evening entertainment very well chosen band not my sort of music but got your feet tapping.
I would like to the barmaid and the owners on a wonder full experience!
We will be back x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrswyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertollgate, Owner at The Tollgate Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your really great comments, it was lovely to have you. We hope to see you all again soon. Many thanks, Laura & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have eaten here many times over the last 10 years and have always been delighted with the quality service, excellent food and great atmosphere; how things have changed! We visited with friends (who have accompanied us previously) to find the menu had been completely "revamped", replacing a previously excellent selection of high-end restaurant dishes with a very restricted range of low grade pub grub. The usually excellent wine list had been replaced by a very unbalanced, over priced range of offerings, which were simply not worthy of their price tag. The food took too long to arrive and was, as anticipated, quite poor in all respects. The disappointing night was compounded when I went to pay at the bar, where a wedged open kitchen door presented a view of a kitchen that needed a good clean up. There has been a very clear shift in emphasis here and in my view, in completely the wrong direction. We won't be going back any time soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Food4Thought354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertollgate, Owner at The Tollgate Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Sorry to read you did not enjoy the change in emphasis at The Tollgate. We are new owners and we want to make it our own, having changed the offering we do understand that not everybody will like the change but we really do believe in what we are trying to do. We are very proud of our wine list, we source our wines from local suppliers and everyone is available by the glass. Unfortunately after a busy service the kitchen might not be as clean as before the service started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I last visited the Tollgate some five years ago and it was good then. I have recently visited again twice once because it had been booked and was for business, the second time because i enjoyed the first time so much I wanted to go back! The starter of Pigeon Breast is the best I have had accompanied by a delicious black pudding and onion puree. The main of Fillet Steak and beetroot salad with twice cooked chips is divine, well on par with Michelin starred restaurants I have eaten in. The deserts! Where do I start? I am not a fan of deserts, I always have the cheese board! But not here I have to have the deserts they are so good. Seasonal fruit crumble with shortbread topping and spiced custard (I have tried this at home) and Coffee Creme Brule with Espresso Ice cream and shortbread finishes this all perfectly with a unique apple and pear cider called Toodle Pip! not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt9711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited on a Saturday lunchtime as a late "Mother's Day" meal. It was not particularly busy and our table was indicated to us by a waitress. Having been given menus and our drinks order taken we chose a variety from the "specials" and main menu. Our waitress then came back 5 minutes later to say that we had been given the wrong "specials" list and had to re-order. Whilst I will accept that food cooked to order will take a little longer than something heated in a microwave, it should not take over 3/4 hour to serve ham/egg/chips, fish pie and fish and chips! Even after asking the waitress how much longer it was "oh, not long". The food was fairly average, chips were soggy and too much dill in the fish pie. The waitresses seemed very keen to clear our table even though my son hadn't finished eating. We couldn't be bothered to wait around to have dessert. Another couple in the restaurant also complained about the wait and quality of food whilst we were there. It may have been an "off" day but I'm sorry I won't be returning to find out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireTAOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managertollgate, Manager at The Tollgate Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Naturally it is disappointing to read that on this occasion you did not completely enjoy your stay with us here @ Tollgate. Your constructive comments in relation to these aspects are invaluable to us as we strive to deliver the best possible experience to all of our guests. Although it might not have seemed very busy in our pub/bar area, we did have a rather large lunch party in that day in our restaurant. This is however no excuse as to why the food took its time and we should have made you aware of this.
Please accept our apologies and we hope that you and your family might give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
2.1 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
958 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tollgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tollgate Inn

Property: The Tollgate Inn
Address: The Toll Gate Ham Green, Holt, Trowbridge BA14 6PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge > Holt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tollgate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Tollgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tollgate Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing