We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely pub with good food and service”

The Tollgate Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bath
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely pub with good food and service”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good pub local to nice places to visit. There is a small shop on site as well. Service was a bit slow on a busy Sunday lunchtime but staff were helpful and the food was fresh and well prepared.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BathForest72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    49
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Scrummy food and lovely staff”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited on a Sunday and were really glad they could fit us in. We had our little girl with us and they did us a special small version of the children's portion and were really sweet to her. The food was good old Sunday grub - filling and delicious. We'll definitely visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sasalice83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neil's Birthday meal”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Truly excellent everyone had a great meal ..... food was good as was the company. We would highly recommend this pub. This is a fourth or fifth visit and each time whether lunchtime or evening or just for a drink we have thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“well worth a second visit”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had lunch here earlier this week and chose it because it is very near our destination and was well reviewed on Tripadvisor. It is a very pleasant building and the interior is full of old Englidh pub charm. The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was good but fell short of excellent. My wife had grilled plaice which she described as only "quite" good and I had sausage,mash and gravy. The sausages were very good, the mash a bit dry and there wasn't quite enough gravy for my taste. The coffee was pretty good. We would definitely go again it's well worth a visit if you are in the area .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank x8mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic place - whatever the occasion!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Since the inn changed hands we have visited on a number of occasions. Firstly as a family with our children (aged 3,9,12), secondly with friends for a celebratory meal and finally as a couple for a much needed, all too infrequent romantic meal out" The Tollgate did not disappoint on any of these occasions. Friendly, welcoming and cheerful - there is a lovely atmosphere which makes eating or drinking very comfortable. When we visited with the children they were made to feel very welcome but,just as importantly, when we visited alone we felt like the pub and restuarnt were very 'adult friendly' too! The food was wondeful - not an overly large menu but I'd prefer a little done well. I'd heartedly reccomend this restuarant for a drink, snack or meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLN321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tollgate Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Tollgate Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing