We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visit to chettinad mansion”
Review of Chettinadu Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chettinadu Mansion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“visit to chettinad mansion”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Tucked away in the heart of Chettinadu, hometown of the Chettiar community of Southern India, this is a gem of the architecture of its times. I was quite surprised to learn thet the smooth walls were made of a mixturre which included eggshells!
The rooms are well equipped with modern comforts without taking away any of the old-time aura.
Food was great, and the traditional hospitality of the chettiar community was eveident in every part of the place.
Enjoyed our stay, would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u_krishnan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for highlighting what Chettinadu is known for.

We are spreading the message of Chettinadu hospitality across the globe as such an experience is only available at Chettinad.

Thank you once again.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    75
    26
    14
    12
See reviews for
47
83
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Myself and wife and 2 kids visited this place for 2 days. We had an enjoyable stay at the mansion and also got a first hand view of the chettinad lifestyle as we stayed in one of the rooms in the mansion itself. The room was comfortable and the food was good. My elder son felt sick during the stay and the family (Mr Chandramouli and family) at the mansion and the staff were very helpful and made us "at home" and it was very re-assuring.

Thanks a lot for making our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Please accept our whole hearted wishes; as we make sure that our valued guest has felt " home away home" feel.

Looking forward to serve more guest as recommended by you.

Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

It was a stay like no other. A small town with hug mansions. The rooms were small, but very cosy. Loved that there was no television anywhere. In lobby, we chatted with the owner of the mansion and he eventually joined us for supper. The service was amazing and very accomodating. A very simplistic way of life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for commenting your views.

We feel really great to read your view which explains it all.

Requesting you to spread your experiences and to showcase the world the experience "you can cherish."

Regards



Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

i think one should go there and see the place, its amazing.
good for history lovers and peace lovers.

while travelling to Madurai, you should definately visit chettinad,
enjoy stay at chettinad mansion, roam around the chettinad streets, see royal houses, palaces, enjoy chettinad food, buy beautiful handmade chettinad sarees,

chettinad is 2.5 hrs from Madurai.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Nuty_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments.

Chettinadu is a hidden treasure in Tamil Nadu Itinerary.

To enjoy the culture, food and the over all royal touch come and stay with Chettinadu Mansion.

Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This was a great escape from our city life with an easy drive from Madurai. The mansion is all it is billed. Incredible architecture, both heritage building and the entire village setting. You can book a bullock ride to explore the other Chettinadu buildings in the vicinity or to go to their spa. The multicourse genuine Chettinadu dinner was delicious and sumptuous. It was pleasant to just sit on our own little balcony and read a book and watch the village life go by on the perfectly clean streets. We didn't miss the TV or internet which we didn't even ask if they had. No wonder a French film company was there to make a movie.

Room Tip: Book a room on the first floor which has a private bath and balcony and overlooks one of the inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmezedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

It is definitely a great comment to read through which clearly states the entire experience one can feel and enjoy while staying in Chettinadu Mansion.

Such an experience can be felt after staying in the property.

We would like to thank you again and requesting you to share your experiences with your friends and relatives.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

It's interesting to read reviews for Chettinadu Mansion, clearly it appeals to some people more than others and even those who like it do so for varying reasons. It's a wonderful heritage building that has been beautifully restored. The owner gave us a warm welcome and we found it an overall relaxing place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms are charming with enough mod cons to make our stay comfortable. The village is quiet and lovely in its own way. We walked through the village to the handloom weaving co-op where they make lovely cotton chettinad check cloth and bought several scarves as gifts. Our only criticism of Chettinadu Mansion is the food was not particularly inspiring, if they sorted that out it could be fabulous. It offers a different kind of experience to The Bangala.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmwmwmwmwmwmwmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for promptly listing the features of Chettinadu Mansion and its location. This charming location is very unique in Tamil Nadu Itinerary which must be seen and felt.

The area of your concern was food which we have discussed with our chef and appropriate remedies has been taken.

We would also request you to share your Chettinadu experiences with your friends.

Regards

Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The mansion is to be experienced. The area itself is quiet, however the people are as warm here as in the rest of the south, and I met and spoke to several of them. Mr. A. Chandramouli and his charming wife joined me after dinner for coffee and a chat. He is an interesting man who obviously is very proud of his heritage and is working hard to preserve this home which belonged to his grandfather. Although the mansion itself is huge, only 12 rooms have been restored - eight in the main building and another four nearby (perhaps near the pool, which I didn't have time to visit). The food was superb!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrasserunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anup1, Manager at Chettinadu Mansion, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views with us.

Your comments has made us proud which proves that chettiand hospitality is best.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards



Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.3 mi away
Visalam
Visalam
#1 of 2 in Kanadukathan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Sathyam
#1 of 1 in Pudukkottai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chettinaadu Narayana Vilas
Chettinaadu Narayana Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kanadukathan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chettinadu Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chettinadu Mansion

Property: Chettinadu Mansion
Address: 11 S A R M House Ar Street | behind Raja's Palace, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Kanadukathan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kanadukathan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chettinadu Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chettinadu Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chettinadu Mansion Hotel Kanadukathan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing