We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Visalam
Nearby Hotels
Chettinadu Mansion(Kanadukathan)
$66
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SRM Hotel Tiruchirapalli(Tiruchirappalli)
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Gardenia(Tiruchirappalli)
$46
$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Surag Residency(Tiruchirappalli)(Great Value!)
$15
$12
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JK Residency(Tiruchirappalli)
$11
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chettinadu Court(Karaikudi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sathyam(Pudukkottai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Maharaja Residency(Manapparai)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
220
39
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
39
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscgh earthtamil nadufirst floorswimming poolart decobike ridebeautiful hotelchettinad mansioncooking demonstrationexcellent staffearly morningsouthern indiabeautifully restored mansioncooking classrooms are hugesmall hotelbygone era
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 270 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed three nights at this restored Chettinad mansion in April 2009. The staff were wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. We opted for the Chettinad cooking demonstration with the chef, Siva - highly recommended! Ramu, one of the other staffers, also took us on a walking tour of the village - something that should not be missed. He was able to point out quite a few details of the village that would have gone unnoticed otherwise. The gigantic rooms were very well appointed and were air conditioned. There were no TV's in the rooms (which was fine by me) but (wired) high speed internet is available for no charge. The food was excellent and all freshly prepared. All in all, a fantastic hotel! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheHappyTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This is Heritage. Beautiful, enormous room, fabulous bedlinen, comfortable bed, plenty of space, modern bathroom with shower, plenty of hot water, marvellous soap, nice towels, "welcome home" written in flowers on the ground. Fabulous lap pool surrounded by bougainvillas. Incredible hospitality, nothing is too much. I liked so much the "paniyarams" of my breakfast that I was taken to the kitchen where the cook made just for me a second helping, explained how to make them and gave me the receipt to take home. Kitchen is impressive and the smells coming out of it were mouth watering. I really loved this place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasonedtraveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

On our arrival from Thanjavur we were met with the traditional welcome of Jasmine garland and juice. This is a late Art Deco design Hertiage Hotel with Chettinad Mansion features, beautifully restored, though still owned by the original family, it is now part of the CG earth hotels group.

Quick and efficient check in, taken to room, large and spacious, a four poster bed, good sized bathroom, walk in dressing room and a/c. No eco friendly fridge, so no cool complementary water, with temp outside in the low 40's. No tea and coffee facilities.

The whole property including the pool, seating area, old kitchen, and gardens are relaxing and well maintained,

Meal times, we felt the staff to be to intrusive, with little variety, however this may have been down the fact that we were the only guests in this 15 room property.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews