We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giragala Village
Nearby Hotels
$41
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shehan Guest House(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mirissa Hills(Mirissa)
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Triple O Six(Mirissa)
$175
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
75
130
59
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
130
59
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm treesgreat locationlarge gardensri lankabig rockhotel beachdirect access to the beachother hotelsrooms are basicocean viewfantastic beachrelaxing placebeach frontgarden areahot showerenjoyable stayfresh fish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 293 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Basic rooms and bathrooms. But clean and had all you need. Basic restaurants and food too, but prices are low.

The location is as most write here very beautiful. From the outside the Hotel looks very nice. If they did a upgrade of the rooms and restaurant, added a pool in ten garden and some nice course cabanas, it could be easily be the best hotel in Mirissa.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bjorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location, as the other reviewers said, it was excellent - especially for family since it was where the calm water is. The palm garden also make the character of the place. There are plenty of hammock and sun-bathing chairs in the garden under the palm trees. We hung out there everyday on our 3 night stay.

Our room was at the older looking building have huge balcony up front with chair, so it's quite comfortable. The room itself is huge with 2 big beds (they must have made it for family). Bathroom does not flush well, air-con was really loud. I told the reception staff and they had the maintenance guy to come in and fixed it until 9pm. The installation of the AC was wrong so nothing much they can do to fix the the problem. So they removed the front cover of the aircon. It helped for 1,5 day, and the noise came back.

That room also was very close the road so the noise from the trucks bothered me at late night and early morning.

Breakfast was ok. But with US$ 65/ night, I would expect the room should be flawless and wish they have room make-up since we stayed there for 4 days.

Room Tip: I would assume the room at newer building is better.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent only one night here but loved the location and the laid back ambience. Sure, the rooms are basic but they are clean. Might be a good idea to check the AC (ours was too loud to turn on during the night) before taking the room. They have a huge garden with a great view of the beach and Giragala rock. The staff is very friendly. If you are travelling with kids, it's a great place to stay because the entire guest house seems to be designed keeping kids in mind. The staff just adores kids!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mokshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at Giragala Village. The highlight of the property is its prime location at the confluence of two beaches. The grounds are nice, loaded with coconut trees, and adjoining a gorgeous, wide beach. A large rocky point makes for a nice vantage point over the beach and snorkeling that is like an aquarium. The room was spacious, basically clean, and equipped with hot water and AC. There is nothing fancy about the place, which is understandable for the price given the prime location. The only room complaint is they did not service it despite being asked and the sheets seemed to dislike staying on the bed. We found the staff to be a friendly bunch that offered good advice on things to do. Local vendors came in and offered nice items for a few hours each day which was convenient. The Giragala Village is a decent place to stay if you keep your expectations in check. Sure it could be better, but the price wasn't bad for a beachfront location.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are bigger than the upstairs rooms. Upstairs has a bit of a better view but we opted for space when given the choice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSaudi2Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty basic with simple clean rooms and a really fantastic location. The staff are very helpful and extremely obliging. It is probably a little expensive for what they offer but all in all we had a pleasant two night stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelyn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews