We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
38
11
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
11
2
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 55 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

If you aren't going to Sri Lanka to sit in hotel rooms, this place (we stayed one night as the Spice House next door was full) does the job as a bed and a place for breakfast. Convenient location a short walk or tuk-tuk ride from the beaches, adequate facilities and friendly.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank spuddybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Best place to stay if you want to have a good quite time with lovely food and friendly hosts. You can swim to a more touristy beach or stay in the private area 50 meters from your bedroom. The walk down to the road is easy in case you are looking for a surfboard hire or drinks. 100% recommended especially for buddhis.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabassw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Sunray Rest in Mirissa is the place that inspired our second and third visit back to Sri Lanka.
In 2014 our first impression of Sri Lanka and Sri Lankan people was strongly influenced by this lovely family who runs the place.
We arrived at Colombo Airport late evening - they organised airport pickup for us and even though we got to their house late at night they prepared dinner. We felt as if we'd been at home and they made us feel part of their family.
In the morning when we looked out the window and saw the ocean - that was a breathtaking moment. ...delicious, home-made, Sri Lankan breakfast with fresh fruits and black tea.
They helped us find a reliable team who took us to a whale watching tour (really did their best to make our tour memorable).
Simple place, but truly nice and welcoming people. Would love to go back any time.
Worth the money.
I would definitely recommend it (if you're not strictly looking for a 5-star, fancy hotel experience).

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnnamariaBekesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

Welcomed by the cool breeze in the palm-shaded garden, look out onto the private beach, rest in the simple rooms and enjoy traditional food.

This was the perfect retreat. The family made us so welcome, and our every need was catered for with a smile.

Simply: stay here, and experience for yourself. A real gem.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

These kind and welcoming hosts took such good care of us in their sweet little home with their delightful backyard where tropical breakfasts are served with views of the ocean. A track from the back yard takes you down to the lovely serene end of Mirissa Beach and it's only a 10 minute walk by road to the lively part of town. I loved my stay here.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews