We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Amazing”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Villa & Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa & Swimming pool
Colonial Style Villa Colonial style villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
20 reviews
Villa & Swimming pool
Colonial Style Villa
Colonial style villa
Dining veranda
Fully equipped kitchen
The master bedroom
The master bathroom
Twin beds
Shower and dressing room
Twin bedroom
Modern bathrooms
Upstairs landing
View on top of the hill towards Weligama Bay
Front of the house
Side view of the house
Swimming pool
Garden & Ponds
Swimming pool
Swimming pool
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
minnieinr...
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

If you are looking for pure relaxation, somewhere hot, sunny & different come to Sri Wedamedura. It is pure bliss, situated in a lovely little village, 2 minutes from the beach and reached by taxi from Columbo airport ( journey time around 2.5 hours though soon to be cut when the motorway is finished). The house itself has been fully restored retaining nearly all it's old colonial features and is set in 5 beautiful but homely landscaped gardens. There is a pool with all the amenities one would expect and if you want, one of the staff members will bring you cocktails whilst you enjoy the afternoon sun.

The house is fully staffed with a cook, house keeper, gardeners and night watchman and your every whim will be catered for. Breakfast will be waiting for you when you get up and your washing will be laundered and ironed. It's the only holiday we've ever been on when we didn't bring back any dirty washing!

The house is. 2 minutes walk to the beach which is long, wide and sandy and a surfers' paradise if you are into that sort of thing. The beach is lined with restaurants where you can feast on lobster or prawns or even spaghetti bolognaise, Sri Lankan style! There is also a turtle reserve and hotel where you can rent a bed and use the pool for £2 a day.

Nearby, around 40 minutes away you can visit Galle and we also headed out further to Yala for a safari.

All in all a fabulous trip, where you really can forget your troubles and enjoy total relaxation.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig P
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing holiday. One of the best that we've had to date.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing holiday. One of the best that we've had to date. We arrived to find a beautiful and stately house set in stunning gardens with peacocks coming and going and monkeys in the trees and one of our party even spotted a giant lizard. The interior of the house was also striking with large airy rooms tastefully furnished with very individual pieces of furniture. There was always fresh crisp linen in the bedrooms and the en-suites. The comfortable beds draped in mosquito nets felt very grand and fortunately the dawn chorus of birds and other wildlife just outside the windows woke us in the mornings otherwise we would easily have overslept most days. The large outdoor swimming pool had clearly only recently been installed and so it was spotless. All the kids spent hours in the pool.

The house staff led by the delightful housekeeper Ironika couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Ironika wouldn't have us lift a finger if she had her way and my 9 year old son became so attached to her that he kept asking her to come back to the UK with us. The chef was something else and we enjoyed the most amazing food. Every morning he would ask us what we would like for dinner that evening, on some days we would make requests and on others we let him surprise us. On one morning I set my alarm for 5am and walked with the chef to the nearby fishing harbour to chose the fish for that night's dinner. It was an amazing experience, locals seemed to appear from nowhere and were bartering with the fishermen from the many boats of all shapes sizes and colours. Well worth getting up for but don't forget your camera! We generally opted for Sri Lankan food but the chef was versatile and could cater for some of the fussier less adventurous children in our group. He also knocked up some great packed lunches when we went on day trips.

Outside the walled grounds is the charming and friendly village and locals acknowledge you as you take a very short walk (less than 5 mins) to the beach. I have been to many beautiful beaches all over the world but this was up there with the best of them. Palm trees, golden sand, crystal clear sea water and waves that made having a bash at surfing a must. The long beach was dotted with charming bars where we would grab lunch or just hang out with a beer while we watched the kids enjoy the surfboarding. On one evening my wife and I opted not to eat at the house with the rest of our party but have dinner at one of the beach bars where we stayed until late in the evening watching the sun go down.

The village is small but there are a couple of handy little shops and to our delight a handful of places where you can get a really good massage that were so reasonably priced that I think I had one on most days.

We loved the house, beach and immediate area so much that we didn't venture very far very often but we did have plenty of options. We did however go to the lakes one day in a couple of tuk tuks which was an experience and we also took a day trip to the nearby colonial town of Galle where we had drinks in a very grand hotel and did a spot of shopping. If we'd had more time we probably would have done an overnight trip to the elephant park, a trip which a friend recommended but we couldn't fit in.

Anyway I could go on but in a nutshell this was a fabulous holiday at an amazing house in a great country and we all hope to go back again in the not too distant future. Hopefully Ironika will still be there.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The House and Garden
Liked least: The mosquitos (but it wasn't too bad )
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ereshan W
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““Best place I have ever been, a true paradise””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic house with 4 bedrooms ( three of them with two single beds, one with a double bed) in colonial style with mosquito nets. Each bedroom with a separate bathroom made of polished concrete, which looks just great. Bathroom installation top modern.
We stayed with friends and their children, there was enough space for 8 people. More people could have been accomodated by using additional foldable beds, but 8 people or less is my recommendation.
The ground floor has a huge lobby, again all in polished concrete, looks very nice.
One of my favourite places is the back patio which has a (again) polished concrete table for at least 12 people. Ceiling fans are everywhere, also on the patio, which helps against the mosquitoes at dusk (repellent nevertheless required, as everywhere in Sri Lanka).
The property's garden is rather a park, just huge, with a hilltop, many palm trees and a very nice swimming pool, which just had been finished before we arrived.
The cook, the maid and the three gardeners as well as the night guard were extremely nice to all of us and they were just great with my seven year old daughter. She actually was crying when we left because she really made friends with the gardeners who always took the time to play with her, climbed the palm trees to pick coconuts for all of us and generally spoiled us all the time.
There are peacocks in the park, and every other day a whole pack of monkeys was visiting us. We decided not to go on a tour to the national park as we had all the animals in our own park and could watch them while having breakfast.
The beach with fantastic sand is just a 5 minutes walk away, there are nice restaurants at the beach where you can have lunch or dinner while watching the waves break. The water is very warm.
Mosquitoes are buggers, but when you apply repellent in the mornings and in late afternoons/evenings they leave you alone.
This is by far the best house in the area. Tourists staying in other houses actually were stopping at the gate and shooting photos when passing by. They probably regretted not having rented this one :-)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Staff
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizhiy
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing