We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family feel”
Review of Shehan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shehan Guest House
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mirissa
Gold coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family feel”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We found shehan on trip advisor and definitely recommend . Amazing home cooked food which is top priced. Great location close to beach and always ready to help with anything at all. Extended our stay as it was too good to leave, will be back next year without a doubt!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jhoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
34
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had a great stay at the Shehan Guesthouse! Making a reservation by email was no problem. I took the train down from Kandy, and the Tuk Tuk I got knew exactly where to drop me. Even though its not on the beach it's right across the street. A much closer walk than I anticipated. The family is super friendly and the food was the best I had in Sri Lanka! The cost of breakfast is not included but dinner is super affordable and not to be missed!!! Pineapple curry was my favorite.. so was the fish! My room was simple, but clean. There was a bit of a strong smell always in my bathroom, and some construction going on while we were there. But it was a chill place to spend 9 days!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Space4Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Most lovely family!! They are very helpful and sweet and obviously enjoying their business. The rooms are clean, and the guesthouse is nice and close to the beach. The food is outstandingly good. There is a lot of good food in this country, but this has been the best so far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

When we booked this guest house we had high expectations from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor but I have to say we were disappointed. We visited at a time when the airconditioned rooms were out of action and there was a lot of building work going on. The room we had was basic to say the least and did not appear partcularly clean,. Add to that the fact that it rained quite a lot the two days we were there and it could have been a recipe for disaster. However the family that own the Shehan are delighful . Mama is friendly and does cook great rice and curry (there are a lot of flies in the restauarnt area though) and they serve cold beer which is always a good thing. We took the cooking course which was really good and we chatted to the daughter , the son and the husband . they were apologietic about the building work and I guess we just hit it at the wrong time . If you want anything other than basic then I would not suggest you stay here .

Room Tip: Maybe the air con rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAWMatara_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Comming here you'll find a marvellous familly, allways smilly.
Cook is excelent, and rooms are find, fews steps from the beatch and fare enougth from the road to not be disturb by the traffic... definitly recommand this place if you come around !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I came to Mirissa for 2 nights and stayed for 9.......... After stumbling across this place by chance I immediately had a connection with the family who took me under their wing. I played endless hours of cricket with Shehan, listened to Gemba's really really really (not) funny jokes and corrupted Piyumal into drinking beers with me.

Mamma taught me how to cook and fed me till i couldn't eat every day. I usually like eating in varieties of places when i travel but mammas cooking was seriously good - so i ate through the menu.

Awesome helpful family, comfortable room, helpful service and fairly priced. Although not right on the beach, literally a 2 minute walk. get involved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this place and this family, they are the true spirit of Sri Lanka and go out of their way to be hospitable and friendly. We had a great time here meeting other travellers and talking to the family. The food was amazing and we couldn't tear ourselves away from mama's cooking...we also did the cooking course and have tried to recreate mama's dishes back here in London!! I would definitely recommend a stay here if you're in Mirissa. Would love to go back one day....

Room Tip: Try one of mama's curries and you will be hooked!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clayweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madunandani Ayurveda Health Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 186 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#12 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shehan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shehan Guest House

Property: Shehan Guest House
Address: 368B Merenchigoda | Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shehan Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 rooms including 2 air conditioned rooms. All rooms are comfortably equipped and have en-suite (shower and toilet) facilities. Wi-Fi connection is available in the bedrooms as it is in the ground floor dining room.We have a separate restaurant area with Wi-Fi facility. It’s just less than 100m to the beach from the guest house. And a garden area with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Shehan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing