We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rice & curry”
Review of Shehan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shehan Guest House
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Most lovely family!! They are very helpful and sweet and obviously enjoying their business. The rooms are clean, and the guesthouse is nice and close to the beach. The food is outstandingly good. There is a lot of good food in this country, but this has been the best so far.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

When we booked this guest house we had high expectations from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor but I have to say we were disappointed. We visited at a time when the airconditioned rooms were out of action and there was a lot of building work going on. The room we had was basic to say the least and did not appear partcularly clean,. Add to that the fact that it rained quite a lot the two days we were there and it could have been a recipe for disaster. However the family that own the Shehan are delighful . Mama is friendly and does cook great rice and curry (there are a lot of flies in the restauarnt area though) and they serve cold beer which is always a good thing. We took the cooking course which was really good and we chatted to the daughter , the son and the husband . they were apologietic about the building work and I guess we just hit it at the wrong time . If you want anything other than basic then I would not suggest you stay here .

Room Tip: Maybe the air con rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAWMatara_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Comming here you'll find a marvellous familly, allways smilly.
Cook is excelent, and rooms are find, fews steps from the beatch and fare enougth from the road to not be disturb by the traffic... definitly recommand this place if you come around !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I came to Mirissa for 2 nights and stayed for 9.......... After stumbling across this place by chance I immediately had a connection with the family who took me under their wing. I played endless hours of cricket with Shehan, listened to Gemba's really really really (not) funny jokes and corrupted Piyumal into drinking beers with me.

Mamma taught me how to cook and fed me till i couldn't eat every day. I usually like eating in varieties of places when i travel but mammas cooking was seriously good - so i ate through the menu.

Awesome helpful family, comfortable room, helpful service and fairly priced. Although not right on the beach, literally a 2 minute walk. get involved.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this place and this family, they are the true spirit of Sri Lanka and go out of their way to be hospitable and friendly. We had a great time here meeting other travellers and talking to the family. The food was amazing and we couldn't tear ourselves away from mama's cooking...we also did the cooking course and have tried to recreate mama's dishes back here in London!! I would definitely recommend a stay here if you're in Mirissa. Would love to go back one day....

Room Tip: Try one of mama's curries and you will be hooked!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clayweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found this place when we arrived in Mirissa and were so lucky they had a room! The family are so friendly and made us feel right at home! We loved our few days here- the rooms are comfortable, there's a great outside space to sit and chill with other travellers, the beach is less than a minutes walk away and the food is delicious- you must absolutely try Mamma's cooking- we ate here every day and even did a cooking class!
We would definitely recommend Shehan's Guest House and hope to come back here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimbob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We found this little haven after being disappointed by the cramped beach front hotels. Family guesthouses have offered us excellent accommodation throughout our trip so we were very happy to find another.
Shehan is 1 minute from the beach along a track next to a bridge, look for the sign on the lamp post. Away from the beach and the crashing of waves, the family welcomed us in with great value rooms.

The food is fantastic. The home cooking is catered to individual tastes and there is always plenty of it. Also they are happy to go through the recipes with you so you can do the same at home.

Overall we are very glad we stayed here. Mirissa is a bustling tourist hot spot and it is good to know there are places like Shehan here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 11 in Mirissa
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triple O Six
Triple O Six
#2 of 11 in Mirissa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madunandani Ayurveda Health Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#5 of 11 in Mirissa
400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giragala Village
Giragala Village
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shehan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shehan Guest House

Address: 368B Merenchigoda | Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Mirissa
Price Range: $21 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shehan Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 rooms including 2 air conditioned rooms. All rooms are comfortably equipped and have en-suite (shower and toilet) facilities. Wi-Fi connection is available in the bedrooms as it is in the ground floor dining room.We have a separate restaurant area with Wi-Fi facility. It’s just less than 100m to the beach from the guest house. And a garden area with hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Shehan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing