We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marnix - thank You!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imagine Villa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Podebrady, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marnix - thank You!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dear Marnix,

due to you, we found a piece of heaven at Earth, due to your care taking, hospitaliy and a sence for pampering we felt as at home. Our X-mass dinner was more than what we could make at ourself. Trully wish you all the best, good luck and hope there will be a next time. I highly recommend Imagine Villa Hotel!
Veronika

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veru-Ladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks to you both; The managment and the staff were very glad to serve you and to celebrate Xmas with you here in Kamburugamuwa; It was a pleasure to have you here as guest;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    19
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
157
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights recently on our two week holiday to Sri Lanka. We were a little unsure what to expect from this hotel as it had only opened recently, but we were blown away by how good it was. The hotel is situated by the most fantastic beach you will ever see, and in my mind its in the perfect location as the beach is quiet but still only 3km away from Marissa which is a little more lively. The rooms are immaculate and beautiful, with extremely high ceilings. All of the staff were extremely attentive and could not do enougn for us. The quality of the food at dinner was also fantastic, and akin to Michelin star quality at a fraction of the price. All in all this was the best place we stayed at in Sri Lanka by a country mile and i really hope we can make it back one day very soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We thank you very much for your nice review; It was a pleasure to have you here as guest and to serve you; A room will always be available for your next holidays in Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We only stayed here one night but wished we could have stayed here much longer.
This was the nicest experience through Sri Lanka. Great location very close to Mirissa beach but still private, it almost has it's own beach since we were alone on the beach all day. Stylish rooms with high standard. The whole hotel is very luxurious with a great swimming pool and comfortable sunbeds. The owner and his crew made us feel very welcome and they also served us delicious food. We would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaLinnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
The management and the staff thank you for your review. It was great to heve you here in Kamburugamuwa and to give you that amazing feeling. We hope to see you soon when you visit Sri Lanka again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We, a German couple stayed at this nice, little hotel for 8 nights during X-Mas. It is really a wonderful place with many space to relax in the garden and new rooms that are designed tastefully.
The staff is very friendly and courteous, the two owners are very kind and nice. The food is really excellent: we got each day fresh fish. We got our tasty food either at the pool, at the sea or in the nice garden. Phantastic.
The two dogs of the hotel are really cute.
Overall, it was the nicest hotel we stayed in Asia.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CTa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. The staff and we were very glad to have you here as guest and as friends, and we hope next time to serve you even better. Laky and Moka are waiting ...
Marnix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I can only say one thing... best hotel in Sri Lanka! Everything is so thought through and you can understand that it is an Construction Engineer from Belgium that is running the place. Manix from Belgium have built this place by his own drawing and made something really spectacular. Everything is built with really high quality and you feel that you are in a modern villa in Europe.

The food by the chef is also top quality. Everyday the chef Vijay (Former chef from Belgium Hilton Hotel) delivers every night a 4 course dinner with a taste that is excellent and for a price that you would never even get a starter for in Europe.

I can only say, try it and enjoy it!

Room Tip: I would say that any room will do... the lover ground floors are bigger but the second floor rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
The management and the staff of Imagine are glad to read your review. It was delightfull to have you here as guests and we hope to see you soon back again around the pool...
And Laky and Moka are waiting...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

If you're after total relaxation, in the most beautiful, minimalist, boutique, attentive and well-positioned surroundings, them save time and stop searching further. We are on our last full day at Imagine, where we've been for almost two weeks, as a family of four.

Being an Engineer, the owner Marnix has taken huge pride in personally designing and overseeing the building of this stylish hotel, which is in a stunning beachside location. It's only ��2-3/$���4-5 away from Mirissa or Matara if you've ever got a strange urge to leave this oasis of calm.

Imagine was like a (tropical) home-from-home. It's got only 9 rooms - and Marnix and his staff give you such a warm and personal welcome. Our children (1 & 3) spent the entire time either in the (mini) pool or being attentively entertained by the staff.

An unexpected bonus was the amazing food. Imagine the nicest, slap-up meal you'd pay for once a year for a special occasion. This is what Wije, the Head Chef, delivered each night, with exquisite four-course meals each evening. For this reason, I'd recommend strongly going half-board rather than just breakfast.

We will be sorry to leave tomorrow but would like to come back. If, like me, you'd normally pay slightly less for a hotel in a developing country, all I can say is that it's entirely worth it for this unique place. We've had our best ever family holiday here - and it's set a standard that will be hard to follow!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank julianskyrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
The management and the staff had a pleasure to serve you and your children.
You became like friends for us and we thank you for your review.
We will remind your stay here in Kamburugamuwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Out experience at imagine was great. The hotel is brand spanking new. The rooms are spacious and spotless. The staff is attentive, and the pool is great. The beach is perfect for a long walk. Last, but certainly not least, the breakfast is excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnix G, Owner at Imagine Villa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
The management and the staff of Imagine Villa Hotel thank you for your review and hope to see you next time among us to serve you even better.
It was a pleasure to have you as guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
1.9 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
20.3 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
0.6 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#2 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imagine Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imagine Villa Hotel

Property: Imagine Villa Hotel
Address: 234 Ekanaykawatta, Mirissa MH81750, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imagine Villa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly modern hotel, artfully built in a pleasant colonial style, 10 spacious beachfront and elegantly decorated rooms and suites, with terrace and private bathroom. Situated on an exotic bay in the south of the island. Big swimming pool in a big garden, situated on 90 m beach. Satelite TV, free WIFI, AC , minibar, safe, coffee and tea facilities in every room. The Belgian-Sri Lankan chef prepares you daily a four course menu, that is served at your table. We speak English, French, Dutch, Spanish , and Singhalees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imagine Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing