We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mirissa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sunset Guest House
Ranked #138 of 199 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel service was not even close nice Sri Lankan culture. The Hotel owner and employees were arrogant and the service was poor. Be aware that the Hotel restaurant employees are using old trick for cheating more money from their customers. After you have paid your food they will claim that your payment is 500 short. Calculate the payments always in front of waiter if for some reason you are choosing this hotel / it's restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massiivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a great hotel right in the center of it all. I don't understand what people are complaining about. The hotel was very clean, the staff were almost always around cleaning things up as it's on the beach and gets sandy. The manager/owner was SUPER AWESOME. Friendly, helpful, smiling, and just super knowledgable about the area. Never pushy, always there to help more if he could. The breakfast in the morning was great with western and sri lankan food as well as tons of fresh delicious fruit. Rooms were comfortable and the sound of the ocean right outside pushed me to sleep every night. People will always find a reason to complain about things, but don't have faith in the negative, rather the positive here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stock210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The positives first. This hotel is right on the beach and has a small pool. That is it! We paid for a deluxe room which turned out to be dark and shabby with old rickety furniture. The sockets did not work and our view was over a concrete roof. So disappointed.

Room Tip: Be very careful if you book this hotel. I think there are better rooms than the one we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayn0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was another shabby overpriced ripoff hotel. Over £100 per night, worth £30 max.
The staff were a friendly shambles - 25 minutes for a beer anyone?
The rooms are shabby, blood on the mosquito nets, plug sockets useless, bed had plastic undersheet making it sweaty, the balcony overlooked a rooftop and the road, mediocre shower.
The pool is small but nice, and it is right on the beach which is why we chose it.

Room Tip: Avoid unless dirt cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaindsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We came across Sunset Guesthouse via Agoda but we booked it direct since we are locals. This was perfect since it has the pool as we went on off-season and sea was far too rough to go in.
each of these rooms got balcony and sea view which was the most amazing fact.
I loved the stay there so did my friends.
My friends said there room floors weren't clean well also they had a tiny water leak on their roof so a corner of the room was getting little damp. Besides that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The friendly extremely helpful staff was the best thing in this hotel.
Food is definitely yummy however the breakfast (which was included for the room rate) wasnt that great. But great Thai, Sri Lankan & continental food to order.
The owner & staff was superb, they even said ok for me bring my puppy :D
We wanted to go to the rave which was happening near by (It was only girls) and i didnt wanna drive there considering of alcohol consuming so the staff offered not only to drive us but also picked us up once we are done. Superb humanity

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelinasenevirathne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Francesca191061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammarlundcatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.5 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
272 reviews
0 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#135 of 199 in Mirissa
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#6 of 11 in Mirissa
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Damith Tourist Inn
Damith Tourist Inn
#23 of 199 in Mirissa
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#11 of 199 in Mirissa
330 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Guest House

Address: Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing