We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad, really”

Water Creatures Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 70 Restaurants in Mirissa
Cuisines: Seafood, Sri Lankan, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Too bad, really”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place has a great location on the beach and looked very inviting to us when we first arrived in Mirissa. And unlike the other reviewers, we found the staff to be charming and attentive. However, the food varied from quite acceptable to absolute rubbish. We had the feeling they switched the cook every other day. Our advice is to have a cold drink and move on to another place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HH_MrsBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    23
    9
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirissa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff With Attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The restaurant has poor food and worse service - the staff try really hard to be cool and just come off acting rude.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Komiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“If you want bad service come here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff think they are too cool for school, think they are either coming down from being high or actually high, not sure. Food isn't too great either. Avoid, unless you are also a cool high surfer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NKelly186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have just returned home from a fantastic 7 days in Sri Lanka. In Mirissa we stayed at a great Hotel two doors down from this dump. It's a great location. Sadly it's staffed by a bunch of stoned Sri Lankan surfies who think they are so cool they are frozen. The manager does not care either.
Service is rubbish. Food was the worst we have experienced. How can you ruin a grilled fish? We asked for some seafood Sri Lankan style, and the waiter said "sure with chilli and spices?".
It came out uncooked covered in garlic. Just DO NOT GO TO THIS place. It is only busy because of the loud music. There are many other better places. WORST EXPERIENCE IN SRI LANKA. I did not have any wifi so could not refer to TA before going out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank golfy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location can't be beat and really good food too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hard to go wrong with seafood in Mirissa...abundant and delicious. They also made my favorite Mojito...service is slow but it doesn't really matter because the view and location are so stunning with tables right in the sand all lit by lanterns and candlelight.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielleinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Creatures Restaurant also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Water Creatures Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing