We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming host, good location”
Review of Peacock Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peacock Villa
Ranked #1 of 187 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming host, good location”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good value. The room had aircon and the shower worked well. They also added mossie nets which were needed. It's only 5 minutes to the beautiful beach. The manager organised our great whale watching trip and Tuktuk to the station. He was very helpful. Food at the adjacent hotel could be improved, we would rather have delicious Sri Lankan that attempts at western dishes that were quite bland. But we were very pleased that all water was included, this was a good bonus.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJLvsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review!! It really means a lot to us. Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
154
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Peacock Villa for two nights when we came to Mirissa. Overall, it was a pleasant experience -- the bed was comfortable, the air-con worked well and the property was quiet in the evenings. The owner arranged a whale-watching excursion for us and was also able to drive us to Negombo for the final leg of our trip. The sister hotel (located right next-door) has a restaurant on site, where we ate dinner one of our nights. The food was good, but not exceptional. (Our favorite food in Mirissa was found at the Dewmini No. 1 Roti Shop, located just down the lane. It was so good that we went there for lunch AND dinner on our second day!) However, we very much enjoyed the hoppers with dhal that we ate in their restaurant for breakfast. We were impressed by the fact that when we got caught at the sister hotel's restaurant in a downpour, one of the owners went to fetch two large golf umbrellas from an adjacent building so that we could return to our room without getting soaked. If you're looking for a hotel that's relatively inexpensive and clean (but basic), away from the hustle and bustle of the beach, this is a solid choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review!! It really means a lot to us. Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Really nice place. Best rooms are on the first floor, spacious and with great views and a lovely air flow.
Downstairs are identical and have a/c but don’t have the views. Good food, had a great massage across the road, nice people. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Air con isn't necessary, top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review and the 5 star rating!! It really means a lot to us. Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I couldn't recommend this place more. It's so beautiful and serene and the host, Gomida, is extremely warm and helpful. I'll absolutely be back. The short walk to the beach is beautiful, and not at all a burden. It was also free of the noise pollution from the main road. I would, however, recommend bringing a small torch or headlamp. If you don't have it, no problem, you can take the road rather than the footpath to walk back to the villa late at night. It's not much further of a walk. But I'm not sure I would recommend it for solo female travelers unless you're planning to be in fairly early every night. It seems like a very safe area, but most places on that side of the main road shut down fairly early so there aren't many people out and about past 8 or 9 pm. We didn't have any problems with insects as some reviewers did. It actually seemed like there were fewer here than at places on the beach. As for food, we got addicted to the No. 1 Roti shop nearby, so we didn't try it here, but that's next on our list when we come back. It definitely seemed like one of the nicest places around, and for the price I doubt you could beat it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review and the 5 star rating!! It really means a lot to us. Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Peacock Villa for 2 night at the begining of our 6 week holiday touring Sri Lanka. This lovely villa is located a short distance 'landside' of Mirissa Beach (5-10 minute walk along riverside track) and provided a peaceful stay amidst beautiful vegetable and fruit gardens absolutely teeming with amazing birds. Fabulous food served daily in the annexed restaurant, which also provided cookery lessons and ayuverdic treatments. Lovely staff, superb experience. Hope to visit again one day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobyooz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review and the 5 star rating!! It really means a lot to us. Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

this is definitely a nice place to stay. The hosts are very nice and willing to help. Just the location is a bit inconvenient abd there are some insects around but still acceptable. We enjoyed the stay.
There is a period of time that the electricity went out, the whole city is in dark. At that time I just realized there are so many stars in the sky at night!! I guess there are more than a hundreds!! I am so happy about it! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review! Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again! Well, yes it is a common scenario in Sri Lanka and also since our guest house have blended into the nature it is practically hard to avoid a few insects. Anyway sorry about that! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay here and couldn't believe we landed in such a beautiful peaceful setting through an internet booking. Our room overlooked the lush organic veg garden and every day we spotted amazing wildlife. The food was so good, just like home cooking that we barely ate anywhere else, the portions were huge and well priced. The bed was super comfy and the room spacious and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly we felt very safe there. We were going to travel around a bit but it was so nice there we decided to stay and when we had to leave for a few days as there were already bookings we went to kandy and they very kindly looked after our surfboards and two big bags. It's a five min walk from the beach and we were actually grateful to have a different setting to come back to as the beach is a bit touristy although still beautiful. In that sense peacock villa as a base made our stay on mirissa. We also spent valentines day on our terrace and they cooked us the most beautiful fish and decorated the table with beautiful frangipani's from their garden.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs as those are the rooms that have AC but the view of the garden is still very be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GomidaJ, Managing Director at Peacock Villa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for this lovely review and the 5 star rating!! It really means a lot to us. Really appreciate it! Hope we will meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.5 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#4 of 187 in Mirissa
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 158 in Mirissa
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 187 in Mirissa
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Villa

Property: Peacock Villa
Address: Udupila Road | (off Galle Road at Udupila Junction), Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a pleasant, stress-free, honest, genuine, flexible, friendly, unobtrusive and authentic Sri Lankan stay with highest level of comfort and amenities for the price, do not hesitate to read the reviews and contact us :) Away from the noisy town, 5 minutes to the beach, Peacock Villa is situated in the area surrounding peacocks, and a large vegetable garden preserving the nature and green surroundings. Rooms are large and spotlessly clean, include a large and spotlessly clean attached bathrooms with hot water, a large private balcony with great scenery and a large window which you can open to get a good breeze. There are non air conditioned and air conditioned rooms and upstairs and downstairs rooms which you can choose according to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peacock Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing