We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,friendly and with all amenities.”
Review of Morning Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morning Star
Ranked #5 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean,friendly and with all amenities.”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Morning Star for 10 nights in March 2014. I am so happy we found this wonderful,family-run guesthouse. It is across the road from the beach, has ocean views and beautiful, clean rooms with great bathrooms.Our first stay in Mirissa at the start of our holiday was at a lovely, but very basic guesthouse, so it was nice to finish off with some luxury. The family are incredibly friendly and very professional. They also have the most amazing breakfasts included in the room rate. We had an aircon and fridge which was really convenient on those nights you wanted to stay in with a beer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The back, garden facing rooms are quieter than the street-facing ones, but it wasn't really an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    46
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
101
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a small new family run hotel in Mirissa. The host and his family are extremely welcoming and nice. The hosts's sons are very friendly and ready to help, always with a smile. The Wifi is the best we had in all Sri Lanka. The breakfast is rich and delicious. We had a nice spacious balcony, though facing the main road which is really noisy during the day. The rooms are well equipped and cozy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing bakyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a cozy family run hotel. We stayed here for just a few nights and we really liked it. The owners are very welcoming, nice and helpful. Their young sons are also always there with a smile to help whenever you need them. They were really quite flexible with requests for late check-out etc. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds comfortable. It is a few minutes walk from the beach so you cross a small road, walk over the grassy area and there you are. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side that opened up to a huge terrace. Nice place to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights in Mirissa at the Morning Star and it was a great choice. Maybe a bit more expansive than other guest house, but the comfort and the facilities are up to European standards. The furniture is brand new, wifi works really well. This guesthouse is family runned, and they all very welcoming and smiling. Just inform them, if you want to come back to your room after 11pm, because you could find the outside door closed and you have to knock on their house door to let you in. Breakfast was absolutely delicoius!! the best in Sri Lanka!! Mosquito net present, toilet brand new and clean at all time. The beach is 50m away, they organise whale.watching tours but prices on the beach are cheaper.
We definately recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Ask for the dolphin room, quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste_FraLyon_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is amazing. The best breakfasts we had in Sri Lanka. The hotel is situated on the Galle-Matara noisy main road that cross Mirissa, so if possible, ask for a room that has view to the backyard.

Room Tip: Rooms that have view to the backyard are more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r000bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Morning Star at the start of December and found the guest house to be an excellent choice of accommodation. It is located on the edge of the village close to a quite beach and a short walk to the central area.
The room was clean, with a very comfortable bed fitted with mosquito nets. The bed occupies the majority of the available space in the room so storage is limited. We had a balcony with a view to the rear of the house overlooking palm trees, peacocks and monkeys.
The family are very welcoming and the food is exceptional. A fresh fruit start to breakfast followed by pancakes or an omelette. Sometimes a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast was welcome treat. An evening meal could be laid on if requested and without exception these were as good as we've eaten anywhere.
The manager, Anura can arrange excursions and will suggest various itineraries.
There is a busy road running outside the accommodation which can be noisy, as can the occasional all night party held at some of the beach bars. The location just outside the centre of Mirissa meant the noise from the bars reduced.
Missa itself has nice clean beaches with a strong surf. The main eating/drinking areas are on the beach where a light wind helped to keep the humidity in check.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the rear of the guest house have private balconies and do not get the worst of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night only. Greeted with a big smile, the family were very kind and the service was excellent. Located a short walk from the quieter end of the beach which is nice, the only downside is the noise from the road which impacted on our sleep quality. The family encouraged us to visit their temple across the road for the 1st January celebrations which was quite spectacular. Breakfast was tasty +++. Had some minor difficulties communicating prices etc with the father but the sons were able to clear this up very quickly. Bed comfortable, Bathrooms have recently been redone and were clean, wifi good also.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are closer to the main road which may be loud at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBaustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 157 in Mirissa
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#56 of 186 in Mirissa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 186 in Mirissa
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 157 in Mirissa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star

Property: Morning Star
Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Star 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 1 km from whale watching at Mirissa and 5 minute walk to to the mirissa beach area, Morning Star Guest House offers a spacious common living area with plush sofas, a flat-screen TV, and a seaview balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided. Rooms are air-conditioned,hot water, and feature carved 4-poster beds and furniture. The en suite bathroom comes with hot shower facilities and WiFi in all area. The restaurant serves traditional Sri Lankan delights alongside Western and Chinese specialities and special seafood menus. Guest can head to the 24-hour front desk for assistance with luggage storage, laundry and use of safety deposit boxes and mini bar in the room. Activities such as whale watching, fishing and city tours can also be arranged. The guesthouse is 8 km from the Weligama Railway Station and 11 km from Dondra Head Lighthouse. The Snake Farm is 20 km away, while the Mattala International Airport is 82 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Morning Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing