We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room is nice, people here”
Review of Morning Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morning Star
Ranked #6 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

离镇上5分钟,沙滩在马路对面。房主在美国,客房设计还是比较讲究的。这里人蛮好,酒店环境也不错,包早餐,有个小院子用餐不错。It takes 5 minutes from here to the town,the beach is across the road,very nearby.the room is very nice and.comfortable!you can have dinner here ,that maybe also a good choice,different taste from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soajarchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at morning star guest house. It was the best stay we had during our 3 weeks trip in sri lanka. This wonderful family does its best for you.
We were welcomed with a super avocado juice and the breakfast is the best we had in sri lanka!
The place is brand new, everything is super clean. The rooms are gorgeous (a four-poster bed and balcony).
The food is excellent and you just have to cross the road to be on a quiet beach.
Everything is perfect at morning star guest house, and this nice family makes you feel like coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our four night stay with our warm & friendly hosts was delightful, convenient location, across from the beach with ocean view from the balcony & tasty food daily. Very clean and modern. Worth a stay if you're visiting Sri lanka.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njharto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A great, cheap and very clean place to stay.
The very reasonable rates of this family run guest house get you a room with a beautiful four-poster bed complete with ornate lace mosquito nets, small private balcony over looking palms and banana plants, and contemporary ensuite bathroom with constant hot water.
The room also comes with A/C and fan.
Along with a large communal balcony looking towards the sea there is also a large shared guests living room with plenty of comfy sofas and a hardwired computer available offering 24/7 fast internet access.
The breakfasts will set you up for the day nicely whilst the evening meals can only be described as amazing & significantly cheaper than the local restaurants.
The stunning beach is minutes away and home to the local fleet of surf fishing canoes and is good for swimming and general holiday mooching about.
The owner also provides car and driver for tailored excursions. We asked for a basic safari followed by transportation to Ella. This was provided at a reasonable price and included accommodation at a safari hotel (basic) and at Ella (amazing).
We can recommend this guest house without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Charming place and family!breakfasts are great and we had a dinner of jumbo prawns which was delicious-the mother is an excellent cook! The beach in front of the house was surprisingly isolated and perfect for swimming!we really enjoyed our stay!thanks again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridget110484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anura s, Owner at Morning Star, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014

Dear Guest ,
We are very happy to see your wonderful feedback.
see you again our place.

Thanks
Best regards
Morning star
Anura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great place to stay; well run, very clean, conveniently located (beach across the road) and really nice owner. Everyone is very helpful with lots of information on possibilities for your trip onwards. We arrived during the Sri Lankan new year, when e dry thing shuts down, and the owner made sure we had meals everynight. The breakfast is particularly good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

During our 11 night travels around Sri Lanka, we found ourselves looking for accommodation in Mirrisa, some of the lonely Plants 'recommended' options were full, and we happened to walk past 'Morning Star' to be enticed in by the friendly owner, and we were very glad we were!

We stayed for two nights, the guest house has fairly recently been fitted so everything is new and very clean. Bed was comfortable, shower hot, room cool and breakfast was fantastic. All in all a great value guest house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Lockstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 178 in Mirissa
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#11 of 194 in Mirissa
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 178 in Mirissa
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#46 of 194 in Mirissa
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star

Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $53 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Star 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 1 km from whale watching at Mirissa and 5 minute walk to to the mirissa beach area, Morning Star Guest House offers a spacious common living area with plush sofas, a flat-screen TV, and a seaview balcony. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is provided. Rooms are air-conditioned,hot water, and feature carved 4-poster beds and furniture. The en suite bathroom comes with hot shower facilities and WiFi in all area. The restaurant serves traditional Sri Lankan delights alongside Western and Chinese specialities and special seafood menus. Guest can head to the 24-hour front desk for assistance with luggage storage, laundry and use of safety deposit boxes and mini bar in the room. Activities such as whale watching, fishing and city tours can also be arranged. The guesthouse is 8 km from the Weligama Railway Station and 11 km from Dondra Head Lighthouse. The Snake Farm is 20 km away, while the Mattala International Airport is 82 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Morning Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing