We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“your dream holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bandhusena House & Apartment
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
1 review
“your dream holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay longer time , as we had long holidays in Sri Lanka..We were lucky to meet a family member from Bandhusena house just on arrival and it was the first place we went to and at once decided to stay there for a month. This place really feels like home. The owners are friendly , highly educated young couple,not money oriented and care about there guests a lot. Just on arrival we had a nice party with the whole family and other 2 guets. If you are looking for a quiet place , with high quality comfortable and clean rooms, centrally located at a good price, this is the right place to stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlanamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
23
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

According to the other reviews, this place is a fantastic place to stay. While I never stayed here, I did meet the owners and they showed me the guesthouse rooms and the apartment. The owners were very nice and accommodating. The guesthouses are beautiful, clean and not far from the beach. It is nice to escape the beach buzz sometimes. If you are looking for a place to stay for a couple nights, weeks, or months on the beach for vacation this would be a great place to do it. Mirissa has a wonderful beach and the immediate area caters to tourists needs which is nice. Overall the family is very nice and would provide anything you desired from transportation to food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattarana, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

if you looking for a mixture of high ranking hospitality,privacy,a little bit of wild life experience, than this is one of the most recommandable places in Srilanka at all. Young,well educated family gave you feeling,that you belong to them for a eternity.their house is based a nice walk from the beach (around 5 min) and also had everything what you need for your pleasant stay in Mirissa.they also had a nice garden, in which they can organize a private BBQ party whit their own chef.the next important thing is they have a car and also a motorcycle, so the transport problem in this house is no issue (anywhere,anytime) All this and much,much more for very reasonable price!!!
love it
Tedy from Slovenia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am cycling with my friend on Sria Lanka for more than two weeks, I was sleeping in many different accomodations, but the one in Mirissa was special.
Damit the owner of the house meet us while we were cycling few km outside of Mirrisa on road to Matara. He offered a room and we went to check. We emediately saw that this will be a chance to see how locals are living, also the rooms were really clean and well furnished. After we decided to stay, we found out, that Damit and Dulcy are very kind persons and also very well educated. Both of them speak English, a surprise is, that also a 7 year doughter speaks it well too. They have 7 year old doughter and now 2 months old son.
Almost everything can be arranged and they dont know a word #no# if you ask for something. We could store our beverages in their fridge, make an barbecue party in their garden. We had also a chance to try many local dishes, since both Damit and Dulcy are great cooks.
We never stay in one guest house more than a day or two, but here we could manage to stay for 8 nights which is record for us. We also learned a lot of their culture and foods, which is barely possible if you go to one of the hotels or other tourist destination where they just serve overprized western food...
Damit and Dulcy just started with touristic activity, but they are making really well. We are now the 9th customers in second week of opening...There was also a french girl staying there with us in other room and she also prolonged her stay because of such kidness from this family.
Otherwise, they dont disturb guests and it is as they were not there.
There is also a motorbike at house which can be rent for resonable price from Damit and they also have a family car if someone would like Damit to drive them somewhere.
I had one of the best stays here on Sri Lanka, but I am here for the second tima and have meet plenty of local people. I warmly recomend to everybody.

Mitja from Slovenia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MITJA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you don't mind walking to the beach for 5 minuites, this is a real alternative to the pricy beach area. Here you would stay with an educated family. You will enjoy the private atmosphere with a young teacher family. In the morning time you will wake up with the sounds of whistling birds. I really want to encourage families to spend holidays in this private and hospitality environment. This nice family delivers all transfer from the bus and train station without any charge.
Have a good stay at Bandhusena apartment in Mirissa.
Tim from Berlin

Room Tip: * You may have a chance to choose between a smaller room close to the family life or a bigger separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsenaratna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Shehan Guest House
Shehan Guest House
#6 of 9 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel First Mirissa
Hostel First Mirissa
#9 of 140 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#11 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Our World
Our World
#13 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damith Tourist Inn
Damith Tourist Inn
#18 of 183 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandhusena House & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandhusena House & Apartment

Property: Bandhusena House & Apartment
Address: Bopitiya Road, Udupila, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calm and quiet oxygen enriched micro-climate in front of a Bo-tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Bandhusena House & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing