We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool - laid back - and the food is GREAT!!”
Review of Wadiya restaurant

Wadiya restaurant
Ranked #56 of 170 Restaurants in Mirissa
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

A must - very low key seating - get lion beer - the drinks are not that good - but the food!!!! The jumbo prawns thrown in the grill after you selected which you want - are heavenly! Just the food makes 5 stars for me - and watching the ocean in the same time having your dinner - basically if you want - in the water.. Go!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank NannaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 424 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2016

altough we didnt actuaqll stayy here we made friends with the host Desmond and returned for the fantastic welcome and breakfast every moning of our stay he allowed us to use his sum loungers after we ate and was ias i stated before the perfect host.
So we took great p[laesure in booking through the Wadiya for the wale watching trip and were not let down. We received the great same genuinle friendly service from the crew on board and were lucky enough to spot 3 blue wales and more dolphins than we had ever seen before in one place.
Tha Wadiya has first class service and the Boat crew compliment this very well

Thank you guys for memories that will stay with us for ever

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Mcspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

We went for drinks here before settling for a restaurant to eat dinner.

Ordered a couple of passion mojitos (300 LKR a piece) and just enjoyed the sunset and the ocean view.

Service was s little off and slow and in the end we decided to go to eat elsewhere for this reason.

The drinks were good and happy hour prices were great!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Kristo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

I came here at around 6 pm for some food and drinks. Food was poor and over priced and service was awful. I'd avoid it for anything more then a quick drink

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank ciar_no378
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

great evening meal with friends. good atmosphere

happy hour till 9pm most cocktails only 300 rupees (£1.50)

prawns very good and red mullet good - Tuna over cooked and bony

would recommend buying the fish off the front that you can see as probably fresher. could not guarantee but if you have off the tray it is new fish if off the menu possibly yesterdays?

care out the front though as waves were come right up to the restaurant - not good for the dinners on the beach!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Wadiya restaurant also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Wadiya restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.