We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot”
Review of Number ONE Mirissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number ONE Mirissa
Ranked #16 of 187 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just had one night in Mirissa but we should have stayed longer. Number One Mirissa has a perfect location - tucked away at the end of Mirissa beach with a great view. The room was spotless, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We had to get up really early to go whale watching so we didn't get chance to sample the food but the owner stopped our car as we were leaving to give us bottles of water.

We absolutely loved Mirissa - the beach is amazing, very relaxed and there are just the right amount of little restaurants and bars along the beach to add to the chilled atmosphere. If you are planning a trip to Mirissa, make sure you stay at Number One and go whale watching with Raja and the Whales.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rctaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    62
    27
    21
    12
See reviews for
63
198
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great little place at the western end of the beach overlooking the surf. The rooms are beautiful and spotless with absurdly comfortable beds and lovely soft cotton sheets. There are sun loungers outside on two levels if you can't be bothered to walk the 50 meters to the beach.

Considering the price, it has a few issues, but they are pretty minor. The quality and service in the restaurant is really mixed and the menu is limited. Floors, bedding and towels were all very clean, but nobody seems to be looking at the walls. The cleaner was also annoyingly enthusiastic, knocking on the door every five minutes despite a sign that we could hang on the door to say we did want the room cleaned. My husband also cut his hand on the rough cut quartz that lines the pool.

These might just be teething problems as it's only been open for a few months. However, when you charge $185 plus per night, people will tend to hold you to a higher standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingsamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is an interesting mix of b&b, boutique hotel wanna be and an upscale hostel in the best way possible. The location of the property is to die for....surfers right outside your place and a view that rivals some type of robinson Crusoe image. The rooms are super clean and extremely well equipped. Wifi is pretty stable (free). The dinners are almost right out of some type of seafood extravagance, whatever pleases your heart they will cook up, lobster, calamari, shrimp and fish, fish and more fish, two nights we had the tuna sashimi and honestly it puts Nobu to shame like by a mile...ridiculous. Now, does the place have issues? Yip it does but its more little things that generally speaking would bug a Westerner like language issues and some cultural things, but overall its the type of place that basically if you ever had the balls to start and run a place away from the rat race, would be a slice of paradise. Scott the owner is there all the time and without him this wouldn't run the way it does....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentino333888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The place to stay in Merissa if you do not like big hotels and you are finally looking for a place where you can relax in a quiet and secluded environment with direct access to the beach. Great views on the Merissa Beach area. A great seawater infinity pool ( the water is pumped into the pool directly from the ocean). We really enjoyed even though the price is above average but after 13 days of traveling around Sri Lanka staying in average or budget place you will be really glad to check in a place like this. Ask for the option without breakfast and half board. This allows you to have breakfast or dinner with fresh fish in on of the beach restaurants. However they have their restaurant / bar which serves high quality food. For sure you get good Nespresso.

Room Tip: It has eight rooms. The ones on the first floor are much more expensive. We have chosen lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lythoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Walking along the protected cove of Mirissa Beach, we spotted the stone steps leading up to Number One Mirissa, partially obscured by the palm trees. Within an hour we had packed-up our bags and relocated there. We planned to stay one or two nights at Number One, but ended up returning for a couple more because we simply loved it there. The spacious rooms, beautiful dark timber floors, four poster beds with fresh white linen, and huge double doors bringing in the sea breezes are a winning combination. Our top-level balcony was also the perfect spot to sink a few beers and watch the surfers each afternoon. The staff were friendly, helpful and relaxed. Although the pool was still under construction when we were there (about a month ago) it doesn't really matter because the beach is lovely and the water clean. As is the case in most places, the Sri Lankan food is far better than the local take on Western foods, but on the whole the meals were great. Its very hard to fault the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 and the one next to it have the best views in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_P_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Absolutely perfect..... a little piece of paradise hanging over a beach, the rooms are spacious, beautiful and are cleaned 2 times a day... the sound of the waves and the sea breeze coming thought the huge windows in the balconies, amazing view.... It was quiet and private, maybe because the hotel has only 8 rooms, you almost feel privileged to be there.... The bartenders and waiters are very attentive and efficient, we enjoy some excellent cocktails, made with fresh fruit, also the coffee is excellent, with all kinds of Nexpresso capsules to choose, the food is extremely fresh and healthy, try the Lobster Curry, is beyond this world! Everything in the hotel has been taken care to the minimum detail: egyptian cotton sheets, good quality Ayurvedic products on the shower, we also loved the salt water swimming pool, made of pink quartz... Definitely, we will be coming back, is a 5* service for a very affordable price, is not easy to find a place like this in Sri Lanka....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a fantastic boutique hotel for many reasons:
- Perfect beach location: next to the water and at the beginning of the beach (so less traffic from other tourists. Plus Mirissa is a beautiful small beach.
- Beautiful views from the rooms
- Small (only 8 rooms) and intimate, so you don't like just one more guest
- Excellent rooms, with high quality mattress, bed sheets, towels, furniture, etc
- Beautiful salt water pool ovelooking the sea
- Excellent food, which in my experience was a rare quality in Sri Lanka hotels
- Very kind and efficient staff
- This is a luxury boutique hotel and yet it has a lot of character and is laid back and relaxed, as one would like at a beach location.
- Very reasonable rates, so great value for money
All of this happens because the owner (Scott) spends all of his time at the hotel, really wants to make this a great place (not just turn a profit), and knows first hand what makes a great hotel experience.
I recommend this hotel to any couples, families or solo travellers visiting this region and I will definetely stay again (and for longer) if I return to Sri Lanka.
I felt that this hotel was what I would try to make if I had a hotel. This is a

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trilobiteParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
1.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 32 in Unawatuna
257 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#12 of 187 in Mirissa
766 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 10 in Mirissa
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#4 of 187 in Mirissa
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number ONE Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number ONE Mirissa

Property: Number ONE Mirissa
Address: Number 1 Kopparamulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Number ONE Mirissa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new luxuriously appointed boutique hotel with direct beach access and infinity swimming pool. All the rooms have terraces which feature spectacular sea and beach views and all rooms have four poster beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, a/c, wi-fi, and flat screen televisions. Internationally trained chefs prepare fresh locally sourced food and our bar staff offer a range of delicious cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number ONE Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing