We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scott, do you want to trade places?”
Review of Number ONE Mirissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number ONE Mirissa
Ranked #15 of 191 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Walking along the protected cove of Mirissa Beach, we spotted the stone steps leading up to Number One Mirissa, partially obscured by the palm trees. Within an hour we had packed-up our bags and relocated there. We planned to stay one or two nights at Number One, but ended up returning for a couple more because we simply loved it there. The spacious rooms, beautiful dark timber floors, four poster beds with fresh white linen, and huge double doors bringing in the sea breezes are a winning combination. Our top-level balcony was also the perfect spot to sink a few beers and watch the surfers each afternoon. The staff were friendly, helpful and relaxed. Although the pool was still under construction when we were there (about a month ago) it doesn't really matter because the beach is lovely and the water clean. As is the case in most places, the Sri Lankan food is far better than the local take on Western foods, but on the whole the meals were great. Its very hard to fault the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 and the one next to it have the best views in the house.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_P_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Number ONE Mirissa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 318 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Absolutely perfect..... a little piece of paradise hanging over a beach, the rooms are spacious, beautiful and are cleaned 2 times a day... the sound of the waves and the sea breeze coming thought the huge windows in the balconies, amazing view.... It was quiet and private, maybe because the hotel has only 8 rooms, you almost feel privileged to be there.... The bartenders and waiters are very attentive and efficient, we enjoy some excellent cocktails, made with fresh fruit, also the coffee is excellent, with all kinds of Nexpresso capsules to choose, the food is extremely fresh and healthy, try the Lobster Curry, is beyond this world! Everything in the hotel has been taken care to the minimum detail: egyptian cotton sheets, good quality Ayurvedic products on the shower, we also loved the salt water swimming pool, made of pink quartz... Definitely, we will be coming back, is a 5* service for a very affordable price, is not easy to find a place like this in Sri Lanka....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a fantastic boutique hotel for many reasons:
- Perfect beach location: next to the water and at the beginning of the beach (so less traffic from other tourists. Plus Mirissa is a beautiful small beach.
- Beautiful views from the rooms
- Small (only 8 rooms) and intimate, so you don't like just one more guest
- Excellent rooms, with high quality mattress, bed sheets, towels, furniture, etc
- Beautiful salt water pool ovelooking the sea
- Excellent food, which in my experience was a rare quality in Sri Lanka hotels
- Very kind and efficient staff
- This is a luxury boutique hotel and yet it has a lot of character and is laid back and relaxed, as one would like at a beach location.
- Very reasonable rates, so great value for money
All of this happens because the owner (Scott) spends all of his time at the hotel, really wants to make this a great place (not just turn a profit), and knows first hand what makes a great hotel experience.
I recommend this hotel to any couples, families or solo travellers visiting this region and I will definetely stay again (and for longer) if I return to Sri Lanka.
I felt that this hotel was what I would try to make if I had a hotel. This is a

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trilobiteParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful new boutique hotel.
Thank you to Scott and Susantha and all the team.
This hotel is perfect in every way - tastefully designed and decorated. Fabulous big 4 poster bed, clean white cotton linen, snugly pillows - huge terrace with big comfy chairs - great bathroom, fantastic food served by happy, proud staff.
Special place - nothing to touch it in Mirrissa which has lots going for it as a great beach holiday. Saw a blue whale too!
Can't think of enough superlatives to rave about the hotel!
Just hope it does not get so popular that they can't fit us in when we want to come back...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stumbled across this little gem by chance and had an absolute amazing stay. Scott and his team have done a stunning job in turning an amazing location into a small paradise.

The bar staff was fantastic
The food was amazing (Great Chef)
The guys doing the room were always trying to please and would do lovely set up in the room.

and Scott was just a fantastic host always trying to see what more could be done for you. I strongly recommend Number One Mirissa and we will be coming back hopefully shortly.
Fred & Dom

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Would love to keep this little place our secret but i fear it's going to get very popular, very fast.

We left after 3 nights and ended up returning for the remaining two nights of our holiday. Great staff, entertaining owner, unbeatable location. The rooms are decorated with impeccable taste and the hotel is full of small touches that make it feel special.

Word of advice. If you're planning to surf, bring your own board. The rental quality in Mirissa sucks. Slightly better in Weligama down the road. I know when we were there Scott (the owner) was trying to get hold of some decent boards for guests.

Quite simply, our favourite hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra for the rooms with the balconies it's worth every penny.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in numberone for two nights. But it was not enough. Very peaceful place. Gorgeous view, skilled and friendly staff. Just the way we want and exquisite food. Great value for money. Makes us want to come back as soon as possible. Wooden floor, metres and the pillows are so comfortable. Thank you very much for helping us to have memorable holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and clean
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
1.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
254 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#7 of 33 in Unawatuna
278 reviews
15.0 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 33 in Unawatuna
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#13 of 191 in Mirissa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number ONE Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number ONE Mirissa

Address: Number 1 Kopparamulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: $116 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Number ONE Mirissa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new luxuriously appointed boutique hotel with direct beach access and infinity swimming pool. All the rooms have terraces which feature spectacular sea and beach views and all rooms have four poster beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, a/c, wi-fi, and flat screen televisions. Internationally trained chefs prepare fresh locally sourced food and our bar staff offer a range of delicious cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Number ONE Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing