We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Number ONE Mirissa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number ONE Mirissa
Ranked #14 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful new boutique hotel.
Thank you to Scott and Susantha and all the team.
This hotel is perfect in every way - tastefully designed and decorated. Fabulous big 4 poster bed, clean white cotton linen, snugly pillows - huge terrace with big comfy chairs - great bathroom, fantastic food served by happy, proud staff.
Special place - nothing to touch it in Mirrissa which has lots going for it as a great beach holiday. Saw a blue whale too!
Can't think of enough superlatives to rave about the hotel!
Just hope it does not get so popular that they can't fit us in when we want to come back...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    61
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
62
194
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stumbled across this little gem by chance and had an absolute amazing stay. Scott and his team have done a stunning job in turning an amazing location into a small paradise.

The bar staff was fantastic
The food was amazing (Great Chef)
The guys doing the room were always trying to please and would do lovely set up in the room.

and Scott was just a fantastic host always trying to see what more could be done for you. I strongly recommend Number One Mirissa and we will be coming back hopefully shortly.
Fred & Dom

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Would love to keep this little place our secret but i fear it's going to get very popular, very fast.

We left after 3 nights and ended up returning for the remaining two nights of our holiday. Great staff, entertaining owner, unbeatable location. The rooms are decorated with impeccable taste and the hotel is full of small touches that make it feel special.

Word of advice. If you're planning to surf, bring your own board. The rental quality in Mirissa sucks. Slightly better in Weligama down the road. I know when we were there Scott (the owner) was trying to get hold of some decent boards for guests.

Quite simply, our favourite hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra for the rooms with the balconies it's worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in numberone for two nights. But it was not enough. Very peaceful place. Gorgeous view, skilled and friendly staff. Just the way we want and exquisite food. Great value for money. Makes us want to come back as soon as possible. Wooden floor, metres and the pillows are so comfortable. Thank you very much for helping us to have memorable holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had the most amazing stay in this place. Found the place by accident. We will definitely come back. Very happy with their food and excellent service. View from the hotel is fantastic. We had a great time. Thanks a lot to their staff. Wish you good luck with your swimming pool.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time. The staff is very friendly, the view is amazing, the rooms are beautiful and the owner is a great guy as well. If you are looking for something extra, this is definitely the place to go! Other hotels in Mirissa don't offer the same experience as the Number One.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I saw the place while surfing the lovely righthander on the point... Went for dinner the same evening with my wife. Really enjoyed their food, wine and hospitality...

After that evening we decided to stay here for the rest of our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. Rooms are super comfortable, with the best view over the bay... Super nice beds, slept like a rose!

The hotel is placed on the 'cliff', you can see the surf break from your terrace.
You sleep at 50mtrs from the line-up !!!

I'll defenitly recommend this place to everyone and is worth your money !

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Any room is excellent, the view from the upper rooms is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
230 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#15 of 183 in Mirissa
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#2 of 9 in Mirissa
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 140 in Mirissa
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number ONE Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number ONE Mirissa

Property: Number ONE Mirissa
Address: Number 1 Kopparamulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Number ONE Mirissa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new luxuriously appointed boutique hotel with direct beach access and infinity swimming pool. All the rooms have terraces which feature spectacular sea and beach views and all rooms have four poster beds, Egyptian cotton sheets, a/c, wi-fi, and flat screen televisions. Internationally trained chefs prepare fresh locally sourced food and our bar staff offer a range of delicious cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number ONE Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing