We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again”
Review of Our World

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Our World
Ranked #13 of 186 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I would stay there again”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed in one of the rooms the other side from the beach. They were really spacious and clean. The owners are super nice. It was pretty (actually very) dead in early June but if you come back at a busier time then this is the place the stay. Unbelievable value. It felt like robbery.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmark123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
82
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We originally intended to stay only overnight and move to other beaches on west. In the end we stayed the remaining 8 nights of our trip in Sri Lanka at this place and I tell you why:

We chose the basic room almost on the beach so that you can hear waves and go swimming whenever you want. This is awesome! As I said, the rooms are very basic and have shared shower and toilet. It was cleaned every day so we felt very comfortable all the time. There is a small and gorgeous backyard where you meet other guests and the owners, of course. You can relax here and have a fresh King coconut on demand.

The owners (brother and sister) are unbelievably kind people with a big and open hurts willing satisfy all your wishes. We rent a bike to travel around and we visited all famous beaches and we hadn't found better place than this. We also strongly recommend trying their cuisine (breakfast, dinner). It is absolutely delicious for a fair price. They serve one of the best meals in Mirissa without hesitation.

It was really my pleasure to meet these people and every time I come back to Sri Lanka, I’ll definitely visit “our world”.

P.S. If you prefer higher comfort, they also offer nice rooms nearby this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are two possibilities to stay at ourwold. Your will get welcome with a big and lovely smile at both places.
Jagat has 4 simple but wonderful rooms direct at the beach. Absolut cheapest and most cordial accomodation we've stayed in! Shared facilities.
His sister runs beautiful appartements which are located around a 3 min walk from the beach. They have private bathrooms and terrace.
Breakfast and lunch are served at his sisters place. Cheap and delicious!!!
Thank you Jagat for a wonderful time we will never forget! We wish you all the best and for sure we will come back as soon as possible. It was a pleasure to meet people with such a big heart and open mind. Greg & Joanna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Conditions are very basic, but place has a great atmosphere and is extremaly cheap. Its directly on the beach, as directly as its possible in fact, minute after waking up we were swimming in the the ocean. And owner is a nicest person we met in Sri Lanka, where generally everybody is nice. So if you don't care about super comfort its a place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Wojtasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We would walk past this little place on the beach each day selling there King Coconuts but only stumbled across the fact they can do a Cooking Class for you online....

Ask them about their cooking class where you go into their house and see first hadn how they make the yummy food! It was cheap, fun and a great way to learn how to cook like a local!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

its not easy to find cheap accommodation ON the beach...this is IT. the only place like this on mirissa beach and owned by a very sweet family. they own two properties. i stayed in the more basic rooms on the beach because i think nothing is better than hearing the ocean waves while i lay in bed. the rooms by the beach have the toilet and shower just outside. honestly, though, its very cool to shower under the palm trees at sunset. :) its a private shower, just no roof, so you have full view of the huge coconut trees outside. very nice. and the room is very basic but its all i needed. (though a suggestion to the our world family - an small table in the corner of the room would be helpful). the room is pretty big and the bed was firm and comfy. mosquito net and fan provided. laundry lines outside as well, and brooms to sweep out the sand which you will sure get all over the place. one of the rooms has a dirt floor, the others have cement floors.

the other rooms just across the road have their own bathroom and they are also very clean and nice.

the beach rooms are attached to the family owned store where you can buy water, snacks, sunblock...whatever you need. and they always have a pile of coconuts - pay just a small amount and a sweet man will hack open a coconut for you to enjoy. i took advantage of this most mornings.

if you want you can order food from the family's house across the road (but order ahead of time...order breakfast the night before, for example)...and you get great food at a much lower price than any other place along the beach.

i was very happy with my stay here and if i ever return to mirissa, this is the only place i would stay! thank you so much! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearscape82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very cheap and cheerful.
I have to say I didn't stay here, but when I saw it I wished I had. It is very cheap, and very rustic (there is a shared shower/toilet).
It's not 3 star, or anything like it, but it has oodles of character and the place is eco friendly in its outlook.
It's actually on the beach, and the rooms are very basic but the ones I saw when I wandered in and took a look were perfectly good for what they were.
If you want cheap, basic accommodation in Mirissa, this is the place. You won't get pandered to but you will have a comfortable stay and you'll have a warm feeling inside.
You'll also save enough dosh to have some of the wonderful fish on sale in the beach restaurants.

Room Tip: I didn't actually stay here so I can't comment on the rooms - only the location and the uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank curryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.6 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shehan Guest House
Shehan Guest House
#6 of 9 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#12 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 186 in Mirissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream Palace Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our World

Property: Our World
Address: Galle Road | Merinchigoda, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Our World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Im sorry to say recently we change our email address due to some one hacked. The Our World Guest houses are a friendly, family owned, secure environment in Mirissa, our aim is to delight our visitors. We have 8 rooms in all, 4 inland and 4 beach front. Inland, we have four double rooms with shower, fan and of course mosquito nets, also Internet WiFi is available. The Our World Guesthouse is two minutes away from the beach in the jungle, beside a small river. There is also a little shop which belongs to our family on the way to the beach. You can get all your daily needs there, but even in our house we run our own restaurant as well.! By request we can arrange whale watching trips, order you a `Tuk-Tuk` or rent push bikes. To get to Our World Guest house land side, first, you come to Mirissa and find the Udupila bridge. Turn towards the land near the little rotte shop and come along the little canal. After 20 metres at the fork you will see on the left hand side our sign board or you can inquire about us from the our family shop. It is situated at the sea side of the A2 road from Colombo, you will see 150km post and our little sigh boards hanging. The beach front hostel is called, [Our World Backpackers Eco Friendly Home and is situated beside the shop. " As we are not giving a commision to any one. Youmust tell the driver clearly that you want to come to us. No commission means cheaper room for you. We are giving very reasonable rates to backpackers who are visiting us. We are running a little library in both places, thanks to the visiters giving their additional books, so any one can exchange their finished books. But they are not for sale. Refill-relief- repeat we maintain a "" filtered water bottle refilling station"' at the beach side place to minimise a usage of plastic. Use filterd 20 liter big bottle and re - fill it to small bottles which brings by customers for very reasonable price. Ourworld wi-fi cafe recently we open a little cafe, at the place of on the beach eco friendly place where our back packes home situated. Promoting a sri lanka favourite rotte and fresh juices, lassy , milk shakes and salads (veg/fruit), curd and trical break first. Normally we open from 7. Am early in the morning to facilitate the people who get up early from their hotels and run thru 7 pm.Very fresh fruits from our fathers shop and very reasonable price with the assistanec of exprience chief we served natures most refreshing drinks called "'king coconut'' for very reasonable pirce to facilitate to have a memorable enjoyment last month we added another two family villas to our room collection one is occupied for three people each in side bath room and shower we are planing to open varity of rice dishes with next season biging with comming december 2014. We are happy to welcome you and look forward to hearing from u ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Our World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing