We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap place on the beach, great staff”
Review of Our World

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Our World
Ranked #14 of 186 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“cheap place on the beach, great staff”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Conditions are very basic, but place has a great atmosphere and is extremaly cheap. Its directly on the beach, as directly as its possible in fact, minute after waking up we were swimming in the the ocean. And owner is a nicest person we met in Sri Lanka, where generally everybody is nice. So if you don't care about super comfort its a place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Wojtasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    60
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
15
82
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We would walk past this little place on the beach each day selling there King Coconuts but only stumbled across the fact they can do a Cooking Class for you online....

Ask them about their cooking class where you go into their house and see first hadn how they make the yummy food! It was cheap, fun and a great way to learn how to cook like a local!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

its not easy to find cheap accommodation ON the beach...this is IT. the only place like this on mirissa beach and owned by a very sweet family. they own two properties. i stayed in the more basic rooms on the beach because i think nothing is better than hearing the ocean waves while i lay in bed. the rooms by the beach have the toilet and shower just outside. honestly, though, its very cool to shower under the palm trees at sunset. :) its a private shower, just no roof, so you have full view of the huge coconut trees outside. very nice. and the room is very basic but its all i needed. (though a suggestion to the our world family - an small table in the corner of the room would be helpful). the room is pretty big and the bed was firm and comfy. mosquito net and fan provided. laundry lines outside as well, and brooms to sweep out the sand which you will sure get all over the place. one of the rooms has a dirt floor, the others have cement floors.

the other rooms just across the road have their own bathroom and they are also very clean and nice.

the beach rooms are attached to the family owned store where you can buy water, snacks, sunblock...whatever you need. and they always have a pile of coconuts - pay just a small amount and a sweet man will hack open a coconut for you to enjoy. i took advantage of this most mornings.

if you want you can order food from the family's house across the road (but order ahead of time...order breakfast the night before, for example)...and you get great food at a much lower price than any other place along the beach.

i was very happy with my stay here and if i ever return to mirissa, this is the only place i would stay! thank you so much! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearscape82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very cheap and cheerful.
I have to say I didn't stay here, but when I saw it I wished I had. It is very cheap, and very rustic (there is a shared shower/toilet).
It's not 3 star, or anything like it, but it has oodles of character and the place is eco friendly in its outlook.
It's actually on the beach, and the rooms are very basic but the ones I saw when I wandered in and took a look were perfectly good for what they were.
If you want cheap, basic accommodation in Mirissa, this is the place. You won't get pandered to but you will have a comfortable stay and you'll have a warm feeling inside.
You'll also save enough dosh to have some of the wonderful fish on sale in the beach restaurants.

Room Tip: I didn't actually stay here so I can't comment on the rooms - only the location and the uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank curryfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in Our World twice in 2013. We enjoyed the very friendly family. They serve you breakfast and dinner, which is cheap and very tasteful. The rooms, which are about 3 minutes walk from the beach do all have an ensuite bathroom!
We loves our stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We would like to strongly recommend the Our World guesthouse to stay in. It is located in an undisturbed area of the jungle/forests within a very short distance (3 minutes to the beach) of the main road (full of pleasant shops/places to eat) & the gorgeous beach. The guesthouse lady & her family provide the best service you can only imagine for very good/reasonable prices. You cannot miss an opportunity to have a very delicious/all carefully prepared lunch/dinner or breakfast served by the lady. The lady & her family also own a nearby shop where you can buy the best pineapples & king-coconuts on the island (for very good prices).
Full package service for very good prices.
Great ==> LOCATION/FOOD/SERVICEs/PRICEs.
Tel.: 041 4906342
E-mail: ourworld_mirissa@yahoo.com; h_jagath2005@yahoo.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We came here on a recommendation from a friend. The owner and his family are very friendly and want to make you feel at home. The rooms on the beach are pretty simple from what I saw. We stayed in the rooms across the road, a short walk back into the forest. It wasn’t bad, but the room was a little musty and small. They were cheap though, so we didn’t expect much. Be careful leaving your things out if you stay in those rooms, the owner’s two puppies destroyed my sarong and chewed on my swimsuit. The owners were really nice about it though and replaced my sarong. We only had one meal with them, green grams, sweet potato, and a vegetable salad. It wasn’t great but I had heard good reviews about the food, so maybe we just ordered the wrong items. Regardless, if you’re looking for something cheap, friendly and relatively close to the beach, it’s not a bad spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.6 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mirissa
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shehan Guest House
Shehan Guest House
#6 of 10 in Mirissa
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest House Flora & Fauna
Guest House Flora & Fauna
#22 of 186 in Mirissa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 186 in Mirissa
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#13 of 186 in Mirissa
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#16 of 186 in Mirissa
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our World

Property: Our World
Address: Galle Road | Merinchigoda, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Our World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Im sorry to say recently we change our email address due to some one hacked. The Our World Guest houses are a friendly, family owned, secure environment in Mirissa, our aim is to delight our visitors. We have 8 rooms in all, 4 inland and 4 beach front. Inland, we have four double rooms with shower, fan and of course mosquito nets, also Internet WiFi is available. The Our World Guesthouse is two minutes away from the beach in the jungle, beside a small river. There is also a little shop which belongs to our family on the way to the beach. You can get all your daily needs there, but even in our house we run our own restaurant as well.! By request we can arrange whale watching trips, order you a `Tuk-Tuk` or rent push bikes. To get to Our World Guest house land side, first, you come to Mirissa and find the Udupila bridge. Turn towards the land near the little rotte shop and come along the little canal. After 20 metres at the fork you will see on the left hand side our sign board or you can inquire about us from the our family shop. It is situated at the sea side of the A2 road from Colombo, you will see 150km post and our little sigh boards hanging. The beach front hostel is called, [Our World Backpackers Eco Friendly Home and is situated beside the shop. " As we are not giving a commision to any one. Youmust tell the driver clearly that you want to come to us. No commission means cheaper room for you. We are giving very reasonable rates to backpackers who are visiting us. We are running a little library in both places, thanks to the visiters giving their additional books, so any one can exchange their finished books. But they are not for sale. Refill-relief- repeat we maintain a "" filtered water bottle refilling station"' at the beach side place to minimise a usage of plastic. Use filterd 20 liter big bottle and re - fill it to small bottles which brings by customers for very reasonable price. Ourworld wi-fi cafe recently we open a little cafe, at the place of on the beach eco friendly place where our back packes home situated. Promoting a sri lanka favourite rotte and fresh juices, lassy , milk shakes and salads (veg/fruit), curd and trical break first. Normally we open from 7. Am early in the morning to facilitate the people who get up early from their hotels and run thru 7 pm.Very fresh fruits from our fathers shop and very reasonable price with the assistanec of exprience chief we served natures most refreshing drinks called "'king coconut'' for very reasonable pirce to facilitate to have a memorable enjoyment last month we added another two family villas to our room collection one is occupied for three people each in side bath room and shower we are planing to open varity of rice dishes with next season biging with comming december 2014. We are happy to welcome you and look forward to hearing from u ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Our World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing