We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Our World
Nearby Hotels
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$187
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$41
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shehan Guest House(Mirissa)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Triple O Six(Mirissa)
$175
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirissa Hills(Mirissa)
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
141
62
9
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
62
9
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa wonderful experience stayingthe ownersri lankasweet familybanana pancakesshower and toiletbudget pricelocal foodrottibasic roomlocation was perfectbeach restaurantmirissa beachthe main roadquiet at nightbed was comfortablespent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 218 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were happy to find Our world guest house in Mirissa. First of all the owners were very nice, smily and honest. The location is great (we didn't stay at the beach, but a little bit further the main road, but it was very close to the beach). The rooms are clean. Price is reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susami2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Perfect location, excellent price and really nice and friendly manager. It is the only cheap place located on the beach, the store who is managed by the same owners has also really good products at excellent prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank sebastian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm so happy I stumbled across Our World when trying to find cheaper accomodation in Mirissa. I stayed in one of the rooms basically on the beach. The rooms are basic, showers outdoors but all very clean and lovingly maintained by Jagath and his wonderful family.
I also ate a few times at Our Worlds other place across the main road. The home cooked food by the sister and mum is amazing and such good value for money. I asked if I could watch them cook one day and they let me come early and watch all the preparation which was great!
Our World is a really special place- perfect for budget backpackers but more importantly a place you feel really at home.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiseflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We two just pumped into "Our World" food Stall when we walked across the Galle Rd of Mirrisa. I was attracted by the extremely traditional and tasty "Honey & curd with friut" prepared by the old Stall owner and his sincere son!! Then they recommended us to try the traditional dinner prepared at his mama's home which is just opposite to the Stall.
We then visited the "Our World Room & Food" and ordered some of the typical food for the next night dinner since Mama said they needed about 2 hrs to cook and buy some fresh food in the market. We even showed our interest to observe and participate a bit during their cooking & of course they welcomed a lot.
Next day at around 5:30pm we arrived the Kitchen and observe the whole process of making the curry , cocunut milk, milk rice cake, fish and even spring hopper!! Though it was only a local and simple kitchen, all the family members were eager to cook together and every one was so good at cooking!! We definitely had a joyful and memorable experience on that night, and all the food are so delicious. Very reasonable price with large portion, we two could almost finish all^^
Despite we did not sleep at "Our World" (coz we perviosuly had booked another), this place is highly recommended both for stay and FOOD !!! You must have be impressed by the generous and kind welcoming from this family!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the nice and the traditional food prepared from this kitchen, you better order the food a day in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candacee341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our World is a place of your dreams. Little, family-run place situated very close to the beach, however hidden from the main road and itś noise.
The place offers great value rooms, all very cosy and clean with attached bathrooms.
Each rooms has got own terrace outside to chill during the evenings.
The land lady is a professional chef and all food she cooks is just a miracle that would melt in your mouth...If you are interested, try to ask for cooking lessen..you can help to cook:)
The price both for the rooms and the food is great and you don need to be a low-budget traveller to appreciate that...
I can HIGHLY recommend this place ..the BEST place along the coast...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews