We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like at home”
Review of Angel Rest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angel Rest House
Ranked #18 of 192 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
HK
1 review
“just like at home”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A very beautiful house, very kindly and good educated host , they have two smart and nice children, their daughter’s dancing is so professional.
We have really nice stay at Mirissa.

1st—3rd August
Parker Yeung
From Shenzhen China

Room Tip: nothing really need to improve, excellent^^
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Angel Rest. Our room was large and airy - with access to a lovely breezy balcony overlooking the garden. The whole place was spotless. We really enjoyed our Sri Lankan breakfasts, and the whole family was very hospitable. About a 150m walk to a beach access way. Lovely spot for a lazy few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moosey97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The family were wonderful and we felt right at home. The room was comfortable and they offered a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast which was lovely. Not far from the beach and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elyse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very lovely family, bright room, not the dark caves like some of the rooms on the beach, easy 5-10 minute walk to main beach area. Super clean and very bright and cheery. Anyone can sit anywhere on Mirissa Beach, so you don't need to stay at a hotel right on the beach in order to have good swimming access.

Room Tip: You will love the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

You could not wish for a nicer family to stay with we were greeted with smiles so knew we were in the right place. It's right next to the beach and harbour and lovely and clean. Ramya is really lovely a great cook and naturally curious and caring, Upal is also very nice and will also transform into a taxi driver if you want him to ferry you about. I miss them already now I am home !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mintymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The family that owns this large guesthouse could not be any friendlier! You can see that they honestly love their guests and try very hard to give them a taste of Sri lankan life. We stayed in the downstairs room that had a shared bathroom. While the room was spacious, I found the bathroom a bit too grim as sink would not work whenever washing machine was on, no hot water or separator for shower from room therefore floor always damp. Not ideal whenever sharing with others. I'd recommend this place for backpackers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

While wandering between the fishing harbor and the beach of Mirissa, we discovered this place by chance. The house and its lovely garden is well situated, arranged with taste and perfectly maintained by the owners who inhabit it. Three rooms with all comfort, one with private bathroom, the 2 others share a large bathroom. Breakfast and diner are available upon demand, from authentic Sri-Lankan cooking. Warm welcome, our hosts were ready to help at any time.
Découverte par hasard, cette maison d'hôtes nous a séduite sur tous les plans. Très bien située entre plage et port, et agencée avec goût par les propriétaires qui y habitent, elle offre trois chambres confortables, une avec salle de bains privative, les deux autres se partageant une grande salle de bain. Un joli jardin l'entoure. On peut y prendre petit-déjeuner et dîner sur demande, cuisine Sri-lankaise authentique. L'accueil est chaleureux, et la famille se met en quatre pour vous rendre service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have nice balconies, while the one at the rear gets the private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.2 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 192 in Mirissa
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#17 of 192 in Mirissa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 162 in Mirissa
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Palace Family Guest House
0.8 mi away
Banana Garden Guesthouse
Banana Garden Guesthouse
#19 of 192 in Mirissa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Rest House

Property: Angel Rest House
Address: Harbor Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Angel Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing