We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”
Review of Handagedara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Handagedara Resort
Ranked #7 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The room was fairly cheap, and the staff seemed friendly enough, however their English wasn't great and we had a few difficult conversations. Unfortunately the owner was away during our stay, but we did have contact with her via phone when the staff working couldn't understand us properly which was nice. I would say if we could have had face to face contact with the owner we probably would have had a better experience and rated 4 stars.
The room was good, and the shower was great, however it had an opening on one side that was kind of weird, it meant we heard a lot of conversations from the room below us!
We found the food was probably better on the beach, tht being said it wasn't bad and it's an easy option.
We would probably still recommend this place because it is a beautiful building and it's only 5 minutes from the beach.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_92_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    58
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
112
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel give you the warm feeling, the room use my favorite color blue,design is lovely.
Welcome drink was offered upon arrival. It is several minutes by walking to the mirrisa beach.
There is small garden of this hotel, general value of stay the price is resonable.
The breakfast is very nice too.

Room Tip: No swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wan Yin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights (via Agoda) - nicely set away from the beach (which was good as there were a few places playing dance music till late on the beach). Agree with previous reviews that the owner was really helpful and made our stay very welcoming. She arranged our travel to Uda Walawe National Park afterwards and recommended Raja and the Whales for a responsible whale watching trip.

We were in a nice, clean double ensuite (with AC and mossie nets) on the 1st floor (bathroom is open to the elements above the shower area which we quite liked as birds would flutter overhead and perch).

Breakfast was yum and you could have it out in the pretty garden area if so desired. Service was attentive and not intrusive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked and paid for a double room through Agoda. Upon arrival the owner told us she was double booked, very disappointing since we were tired after a long travel and had looked forward to staying there.

However, she had already made arrangements for us to stay at another hotel. Sounded good but after staying there (serenity guest house) we where very disappointed. The rooms are not at all of the same standards. Moldy smell, horrible bathroom, thin walls and just next to the road. 

Because we already paid online the manager at Handagedara wanted to pay the other hotel for us... We agreed to that but now I am sure that she tricked us and made some money. The other hotel was most probably around 3-4000 rupies.


Rooms at Handagedara looked nice, would have loved to stay there but please double confirm your bookings. 

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. As you correctly mentioned, by our mistake we got an overbooking and that made you to be transferred to another hotel. Now we are very concern about our bookings and have taken all the measures to avoid over booking in future.

It is really a pity that you have mentioned that we have put you to a cheaper hotel and earn some profit on it. If you independently check the price of the hotel to which we have sent you, you will find it is more expensive than ours. I am honest to say that we bore the additional cost of sending you to that hotel. We actually wanted to transfer you to a better hotel as it was our mistake. That is why we have sent you to a hotel in the beach front with an additional cost.

When we took you there you have made no complaint and were satisfied with the arrangement. So we thought that you are OK with new location. However, we are very sorry if you have faced any difficulty in the new location.

Thank you and Best regards,
Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful garden, super professional and incredibly friendly staff. The owner Priyanga is just the lovliest person we met in all travels. She helped us out any way she could and eben lent us money to pay for our driver since there are no ATMs in town. It's been a long time since I felt so welcome in a guesthouse/hotel like this one!

Rooms: make sure you get one with A/C since it is very hot at night. The non-A/C rooms however get a lot of air, have beautiful mosquito-nets and are a great bargain!

Location: its a 3-4mins walk to the beach along a narrow road which is fine during the day. At night time its a bit dark. But then again, the whole area is super safe (really! People are lovely here) and the dogs just bark but dont bite. And its also just a couple of minutes. Tuc-tucs will love to take you there for couple of rupies if in doubt.

We loved the breakfast with continental dishes as well as Sri Lankan.

We can highly recommend this place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tigerraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very helpful owners and personel, good food quality, room got cleaned every day. Overall, one of the or maybe even the best guesthouse we stayed during our 3 weeks trip. Special thanks to the owners and guys that work in the resort for organizing few tours in mirissa and helping to plan our further travel to Hikkaduwa and Central province.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked this hotel by chance as I was meeting friends in the area for a private function. We were pleasantly surprised. We loved the place. Our room was beautiful and well decorated. Staff was very friendly and place was clean and well managed.
Its a local place run buy locals and the staff are local people which made all the difference. They were eager to service and if it lacked in any other way it certain made it up with their service.
Its a short walk to the Mirissa beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room and was very happy with that. We had a tiny private court yard which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruvinika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.1 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 192 in Mirissa
316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#17 of 192 in Mirissa
315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#53 of 192 in Mirissa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handagedara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handagedara Resort

Property: Handagedara Resort
Address: Harbour Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 162 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Handagedara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful example of a period house from the colonial era. Newly renovated, more than a hundred years old, home of a school head master. This house features early wood work of windows doors and columns. Has 5 double bed rooms and a single bed rooms, all with ensuite shower rooms. There are three d/b rooms in the upper floor and two d/b rooms and the single bed room in the ground floor. All rooms have hot water and free wifi access and all d/b rooms have AC. All the household equipments like refrigerator, washing machine, irons, hair dryers, coffee makers, microwave oven, etc. are available in the villa. In addition to this old colonial type house, there is a new building with 8 modern rooms. They all have AC, hot water, balconies facing swimming pool, mini fridge, etc. There is a swimming pool and a spacious garden to relax in with cup of tea. Walking distance (100 m) to attractive beach of Mirrissa. Five minute walk to Mirrissa fishing harbour where you can find many kinds of fresh seafoods.You can also have a taste of fresh vegetables, a variety of tropical fruits ranging from mangoes, pineapples, bananas, etc found in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Handagedara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing