We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Sri Lankas Gems”
Review of Handagedara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Handagedara Resort
Ranked #9 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived in Mirissa after sharing a Taxi from Tangalle and came across the Handagedara, luckily for us they had a spare room. The owner was so welcoming and greeted us with a fresh coconut from their garden. The Handagedara was the owners family home which they had converted into a small 5 room guest house ,it had only been open around 6 months. The house had a lovely cool feel about it , the room was large , clean and very comfortable with a great fresh breakfast. Ideally located on a quiet road between the beach \restaurants (10 minutes walk) and the harbor. We would have loved to have stayed longer than 2 nights but had much more of Sri Lanka to see.
We would recommend the Handagedara to anyone staying in Mirissa but dont rely on luck book it in advance this place will become popular.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrybSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Handagedars for 2 nights and it was great value for money. Tidy clean rooms with aircon and mosquito nets - the first night I hadn't been bitten! The breakfast was great, and perfect location to the beach. A small hotel with only a couple of rooms,you are made to feel very welcome, would definitely recommend to stay here in Mirissa. The beach is better than Unawatuna, less crowded and no-one hassling you to buy shirts and dresses!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Handagedara resort for so many reasons....
- beautiful spacious clean rooms
- lovely welcoming and fun owners
- who have 3 great kids (only in mirissa in the weekend, but luckily for our kids we stayed over the weekend. So a lot of time was spend on ' hide and seek', ' gaming' and ' beauty salon':)
- perfect quiet location only 5 minutes walk from the beach
- lovely Rice and curry meals (takes some time to prepare so ordering in advance might be a good idea)
- great service
- and did I already mention how Nice the owners are?
Our stay here always have a special place in our hearts!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Handegedara in Mirissa for 3 nights in early Feb, 2013. It was recommended to us by an Australian couple we met in Ella and it was definitely a good recommendation. Large clean rooms, comfy beds, tasty fresh breakfast, and only 200 metres to the beach. Best of all, the friendly owners and proprietors, Sudath and Priyanga, will bend over backwards to make your experience a good one. They are both young professionals (engineers), relatively new to the hotel business, but with a superb customer service attitude. As an example, Priyanga was asked by a nearby guest house to help arbitrate a minor dispute between the guests and the guest house. She ended up agreeing with the guests' position and offered to pay them the financial difference HERSELF if the guest house hadn't finally agreed to! Priyanga also has a very happy demeanour and her perpetual smile lights up the house. The house is more than 100 years old, originally owned by Priyanga's grandfather, but was vacant for 5 years after it was flooded by the tsunami. It has been tastefully restored by an architect so that you feel like you're staying in a classy boutique hotel. About the only additional thing we can think of that would really add to this classy place is a swimming pool! But after all, the beach is only a 5 minute stroll away. We spent a lot of time there sitting in shaded beach bars, lounging, drinking, eating, swimming, and watching young guys and girls surfing and practicing their yoga positions. We paid $55 US/night, booked directly via e-mail with Sudath (rs_wimalendra@yahoo.com) but it can also be booked through Agoda. BTW, after later seeing busy Unawantuna, we felt we made a smart choice in staying at relaxed Mirissa instead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear peter,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a great review about Handagedara. we rearly appreciate them and It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. If you do ever come back to Mirissa we would love to see you again as well. Kind regards,
Priyanga & Sudath, Owners of Handagedara Resort, Mirissa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for one night on whale watching trip and choose this resort because it was very close to the harbor.

Food : Excellent. Srilankan rice and curry was delicious, Sweet Curd for dessert, They even arranged icecream for my friend on his request.
Hospitality : Excellent with the owners personally making sure of everything
Rooms : Good. Huge lawn in front of resort
Location : Away from beach. But close to harbor for whale watching
Price : I felt room and food was slightly overpriced given it was like a homestay. But then most places in SL are overpriced in peak season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was my familly trip to SL; after one week tour (Sighiriya to Mirissa) we "settled" at Mirissa for 5 days to enjoy Sount Coast advantages.On the trip a week earlier we experienced various accomodation standards (some very good, other just acceptable) but Handagedara GH considerably exceeds SL standards in terms of clinliness and rooms comfort. On top of that the GH owners are always very concerned about clients and do every effort to satisfy their expectations ( very nice familly:)!)
I can confidently recommend this GH even for picky :) travelers.
PS. BTW we had excellent, reliable and responsive guide/driver on our tour, his name is Yaga - please let me know if you need contact details.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Handagedara, Owner at Handagedara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. it was a pleasure having you with us and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope we will see you again and wish you all the best.
Priyanga & Sudath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent one night at the Handagedara Resort but I could have happily spent more. The room was vey comfortable. It's not right on the beach but it's a short walk (about 5mins), it is very dark at night though. The owners were friendly and also organised transport for us to get to our next location. Highly recommended place to stay and Mirissa beach is truly gorgeous.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mySEAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.1 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#2 of 11 in Mirissa
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 199 in Mirissa
663 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Morning Star
Morning Star
#5 of 199 in Mirissa
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#5 of 11 in Mirissa
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 200 in Mirissa
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handagedara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handagedara Resort

Address: Harbour Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $50 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Handagedara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful example of a period house from the colonial era. Newly renovated, more than a hundred years old, home of a school head master. This house features early wood work of windows doors and columns. Has 5 double bed rooms and a single bed rooms, all with ensuite shower rooms. There are three d/b rooms in the upper floor and two d/b rooms and the single bed room in the ground floor. All rooms have hot water and free wifi access and all d/b rooms have AC. All the household equipments like refrigerator, washing machine, irons, hair dryers, coffee makers, microwave oven, etc. are available in the villa. In addition to this old colonial type house, there is a new building with 8 modern rooms. They all have AC, hot water, balconies facing swimming pool, mini fridge, etc. There is a swimming pool and a spacious garden to relax in with cup of tea. Walking distance (100 m) to attractive beach of Mirrissa. Five minute walk to Mirrissa fishing harbour where you can find many kinds of fresh seafoods.You can also have a taste of fresh vegetables, a variety of tropical fruits ranging from mangoes, pineapples, bananas, etc found in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Handagedara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing