We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great place!”
Review of Amanda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanda Resort
Ranked #28 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a long trip over Sri Lanka, and Amanda resort - is definitely one of the very best places we stayed.
The guest house itself is quite new, spacious and modern. At the daytime a lot of sun coming to the rooms, but don't worry - hotel is quite well constructed, so natural air flow makes you feel very comfortable. Even during a very hot days - it's not hot at rooms, so, you don't need AC at all.
Hosts are friendly, helpful and relaxed. It's a family business, so they really try to do their best, so you may feel like at home. By the way, guest house named for the owner's daughter - Amanda.
So, stayed there for a week and would definitely come back.
The only complain we had - there're no tables at rooms to put your staff at, and no hot water at all. But most of times we didn't need that.
Otherwise, place is great. Paid 2700 lkr for room with breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Evgeni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Amanda Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just come to stay at Amanda Resort for 2 nights.But we stay more than a week. The owner is a very nice person and he will help you any time you need.his name is Nishantha.We didn't want to leave it.It is very good for the price.it is 3 minuet walk to beach.But the Lights in the room is not enough. Foods are excellent and very very good hospitality.The room is also very excellent. we will definitely come back to Amanda when we return to SriLanka .

Room Tip: Top floor south corner room is excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent 4 nights at Amanda Resort and are really gutted that we didnt have more time, we could have easily spent a couple of weeks both here and in Mirissa.
The room cost us around $20USD and we got a double bed with a great mosquito net, a fan and an ensuite bathroom. There were also double doors that led out onto a large balcony area which had great views looking out at the sea. There was also free breakfast included with the price which would be brought up to the balcony for you and it was great place to enjoy the meal.
The room itself was very clean and had a comfortable bed, the only slight negative i would say is that the room has pretty poor lighting so you cant really read at night and the switch was also in a pretty awkward location.
The hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the Mirissa 'town' which has a few great and cheap places to eat. There are plenty of places to eat along the beach but you will easily be paying at least double there but you do get more variety and great views.
The beach in Mirissa is fantastic and the water is great for swimming. There is a small beach that you can access across the road from the hotel but the best area is definitely just a couple of minutes further along the main stretch.
We absolutely loved this place and would come back to Sri Lanka in the future just to return to Mirissa, if we did we will definitely be returning to Amanda Resort.

A tuk tuk from Mirissa train station is around 400r (you may be able to get cheaper)
A tuk tuk to Matara is around 500r although there are also buses every few minutes going along the road where it is only 24r to travel.

There are no ATM's in Mirissa so it is best to bring money with you, if you need money then the best place to go is probably Matara as it has more ATM's. Weligama is nearer but with less ATM's, some of which may not take your card.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay in Mirissa at Amandas Resort for 3 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks! Nishante, Manoja and their family were so incredibly hospitable and friendly, we didn't want to ever leave.

By far the cheapest place in town with beautiful sea views and just opposite the beach. We had Nishante and Manoja cook dinner for us most nights. They served beautiful feasts with our choice of 4 curries. Much cheaper than eating by the beach and much more delicious. Furthermore, they gave us a cooking lesson one night for free! Nishante runs a tight kitchen, it's good to see him at work.

If you stay here we recommend that you take the time to get to know the family. They are incredibly genuine, caring, lovely people. We highly recommend this place. We will definitely be back to Sri Lanka one day, just to see them and spend more time in Mirissa.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Amanda's is an amazing guesthouse, it's a family guesthouse and the owner is super kind and welcoming, the house super clean btw the house was built two years ago. Simple clean rooms with nice balcony views on the ocean. Great place to have breakfast. There breakfast includes omelettes, toast, butter and jam, coffee or tea, and super nice fruit salad awesome.

Location wise it's a 7 min walk to the bar scene on the beach, very quiet area 150 m from the beautiful beach.
For price wise and quality you won't get any better.

Room have fans, no hot water but don't really need it, wifi, and some rooms have AC. Don't hesitate it's bargain. I have been travelling 4 weeks all over Sri Lanka and I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Giannakosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Clean place, slightly mouldy smell, balcony for everyone. Beach is down the street (little hill) across the main road. Quiet place despite the sea :-) and the tooting bus.
Very nice owners with nice ideas for restaurant, trips and ayurvedic treatment.
Offers also whale watching and is honest enough to let you know if it is not the right time of the year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vroni210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we stayed at Amanda guest for 5nights.it's like a home stay.The staff was very kind and quick.Foods are very excellent.rooms are excellent with mosquito net and fan.attached bathroom was clean and tide.two minutes walk to the beach. Owner is very kind and always think about our safe.
we took our breakfast on the top floor and it was very very beautiful.we will recommend this guest house for all any one who visit the Mirissa.

Room Tip: Right corner room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antoncawley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.3 mi away
Guest House Flora & Fauna
Guest House Flora & Fauna
#24 of 191 in Mirissa
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana Garden Guesthouse
Banana Garden Guesthouse
#17 of 191 in Mirissa
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 165 in Mirissa
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aroma Guest House
Aroma Guest House
#73 of 191 in Mirissa
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Handagedara Resort
Handagedara Resort
#7 of 165 in Mirissa
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea World Mirissa
Sea World Mirissa
#48 of 191 in Mirissa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda Resort

Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 165 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $23 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amanda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing