We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loosing Time and Money”

Whale Watching Mirissa with Geeth
Ranked #3 of 56 Tours in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are the whale and dolphin watching operator in Mirissa, Sri Lanka. We use comfortable and whales-friendly passengers boat for whale watching. Enjoy the unforgettable trip with us. Best months are November - April.
Greifensee, Switzerland
Level Contributor
698 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Loosing Time and Money”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you have never seen a whale, you may pay the 50$ per pax, otherwise Save the money and the 5 hours boat-trip. Not too much to see and if there arenwhales, the rushing loud boats effects, that they dive before your boat reached the place. Just a money making machine!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    66
    37
    10
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loooong way to see some three whale's fountains”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We returned rather disappointed from today's trip. There were at least 10 boats outside, all hunting for whales. From far we saw two and their fountains, one we saw a little closer but soon it disappeared. It took us two hours to get out on the sea and two hours back again, so it was a long ride for such little to see. At least they give water and there's a toilet on board.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank anni1981ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geeth S, Owner at Whale Watching Mirissa with Geeth, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Every day is different - it is nature. Some days we see lot of whales close to Mirissa, some days we have to go further. Whales migrate (for food, for reproduction) that´s why they are not every day on the same place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirissa, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable day with whales and dolphins!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I´m glad that we chose Geeth amongst the others. Very helpful and competent staff. Proper breakfast.
They had also life jackets for children, that was nice. I suggest to take the seasickness tablet, that the crew provides, in the beginning of the voyage.
We saw blue and sperm whales, also dolphins, some of them really closely.
Really amazing experience, thank you Geeth!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had a awesome trip today
with Geeth and whales – I sailed away!
Amazing day was at the sea
and all this creatures I could see:
playful dolphins beside the boat
swimming there and jumping out.
Sharks were also very close
and whales who almost nudged us:)
SoiIf You want to see the world
just look for Geeth and jump on board!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked directly from Geeth and prevented this way to pay commissions.
He came to our hotel to get us.

He is nice, smiling and has a great eye to see and recognize whales and dolphins.

Lovely day at sea.

Helpful?
Thank Orzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watching Mirissa with Geeth also viewed

Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 
Mirissa, Southern Province
Mirissa, Southern Province
 

Been to Whale Watching Mirissa with Geeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing