We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Daisy Lanka

34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa Daisy Lanka at Twilight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
34ft Private Swimming Pool in the garden with a 12 seater outdoor lounging area
Daisy Lanka Villa
Daisy Lanka at Twilight
The Sala/Lounge
The indoor Sala/Lounging area
The dining area indoors
Kitchen with breakfast bar
Kitchen
Master Bedrooms
Master Bedroom - Super king size
The Private Dressing Room off the Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
The Green Room - King Size Bedroom
The Green Ensuite
The Twin Bedroom
The Orange Room - Twin beds... 6ft 6in long
The Twin Bathroom
The garden and swimming pool
The grounds at Daisy Lanka
The Ambalama
The dining area under the Ambalama
The outside lounging and dining area in the Ambalama
Rear Ambalama with additional seating
Rear Ambalama
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
millerfam...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bliss!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, but could have stayed much longer. The house is lovely, it is stylish yet comfortable and has everything that you need. We were greeted by the lovely staff of the house - all so friendly and welcoming. The chef is great and cooks superb food - always too much though! The 'house boy' has a real talent for drinks - anticipating when you might want a drink and surprising us with delicious iced coffees.
We spent our time relaxing by the pool, which is great, and going to the amazingly beautiful beach near by. it is an easy walk to the beach - even with two small kids - but even better fun to take a 3min tuk tuk ride.
The beach has big waves which were great for playing in but I'm not sure if it would be safe for kids to swim. There is also a good surfing area to the right of the beach. as we were there for only three days we did not do any sightseeing, but the villa staff have lots of local knowledge and would have been happy to arrange anything for us. Driving along this coast back to Galle is beautiful - seeing the local fishermen etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff and the pool
Liked least: mosquitoes
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
family_fa...
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dreaming of Daisy Lanka”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Daisy Lanka is a delightful three bedroom villa located up a quiet lane, an easy 5 minutes walk from Marissa beach.
We stayed at the property for three weeks from New Year onwards with a party of four. Upon arrival we were greeted with cold towels, a drink and a warm welcome. While the drink went quickly the welcome remained throughout our stay.
The quality of the house is excellent with all rooms having their own ensuites – the master bedroom/ensuite is pretty much straight out of Vogue Living. Beds are all nice and firm and the property is clearly well maintained. A noisy ceiling fan was serviced within 24 hours and likewise the broken Seaco Espresso machine replaced.
The grounds are lush and tranquil with a well maintained in ground pool (2 metres at the deep end) and a very gorgeous out door lounge and dining space immediately adjoining the pool. When not at the beach we spent a lot of time here lazing and being pampered by the staff.
While the property is very nice, it is the quality of the hospitality that really made this a very special stay for us.
Proboda is a genuinely talented chef who worked hard to deliver great food as and when required. Sitting down with him to plan out the next few days of eating was a delight and you can either go from the menus or ask for a favourite or “something different”. We tried a number of the local restaurants but after a while came to realise that we had the best food and service at Daisy Lanka. (Only exception would be an occasional lunchtime roti or kottu at Dewmini Roti Shop). Given we only paid for the ingredients, the cost was also extremely reasonable and greatly added to the value proposition of the property. Highlights included the curry nights, seafood feasts, beetroot chicken, hoppers for breakfast, the crêpes/pancakes, the watalapan (sort of Sri Lankan crème brule) and carrot, chocolate, and coconut cakes (yum).
Mahesh is the ever cheerful, helpful and attentive housekeeper who also makes great coffee and drinks (the minty lime drink and ice tea are awesome especially with a piece of Proboda’s coconut tea cake).
Mahesh and Proboda where with us day and night, throughout our visit and beautifully balanced great service with respect for our personal space: no mean feat.
Garmini and his son Hashan alternate as nightwatchmen giving a nice sense of security and most mornings Chathu drops in to make sure everything is as it should be and can organise tours, drivers and the like.
All in all we had a delightful stay at Daisy Lanka. The property is great and the staff even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to relax completely, swim and surf as much as we liked, eat fabulous food and not have to do the washing up
Liked least: The mossies
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard25...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If I tell you how good it was, we may never get to go again...”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in the Daisy Lanka villa. It is a luxury residence within a lush and tropical surrounding and in keeping with the local environment. Bliss behind doors.

The beach a short walk away is a gem, clean and well provided with bars and places to eat. We went in the off season and it was nicely quiet. In the peak, I'm guesing it gets packed - select the time according to your preference. The weather was great, sunshine mixed with tropical standard storms, all cleared up quickly.

Do go to the Mirissa Eye and make a point of friending the owner, Roshan. He is a gem.

The advice and pre-information given by the owners was extremely helpful and definitely added to the overall enjoyment. The villa crew were very helpful and attentive and their driver the single best driver on the island, engaging, calm, very helpful and all with a small cheeky grin.

Will we go back? Definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 star hotel like home from home, pool and natural surroundings
Liked least: The mozzies
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to say here
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndreaDoh...
Doha,Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing villa with amazing staff!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed at this beautiful villa in March with friends,as soon as we arrived we were welcomed by the villas warm and friendly staff.Greeting us with a cold towel and a drink after a long night traveling.

The villa is very well equipped and extremely comfortable.Everything is new and its been renovated to a high standard,much better than staying at a hotel;) clean and definitely luxurious.Fabulous little touches throughout!

The staff are just amazing!Our best meals where eaten at the villa,we didn't bother really eating at the beach restaurants and the villas chef made the best curry and other meals going!!Try his prawn and green banana curry and his pumpkin soup with wontons was divine!!

Chathu the guest relations manager was so sweet and helped us with all our questions,nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff they were so accommodating!

We enjoyed lounging by pool having coconuts and iced coffees served to us,nights sitting listening to music and just chilling.It was so relaxing!

Tracy and Andy have such amazing oasis I would fully recommend it,we didn't want to leave!!!Thanks so much for such a memorable holiday!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennoxLei...
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had such a great time at Daisy Lanka!! We could have stayed there MUCH longer.

The house has a lot of character. It's comfortable and well equipped but Daisy Lanka's staff stood out to us as the most special part of the whole experience...they were so welcoming and such good company. We have fond memories of nights spent whipping up cocktails and having a laugh while Proboda cooked something amazing for dinner (wontons in pumpkin soup was probably our favourite).

Chathu is a great little organiser, Proboda is an awesome chef and when I think of Mahesh I remember his big smile and his delicious iced coffees by the pool. It was very handy having Gamini and Hashan to zip us around in their tuk tuk. As a bonus, we also found the best surf of our Sri Lankan holiday around Mirissa.

Our thanks to Andy & Tracy...and the staff at Daisy Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience =D
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slewtasau...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience at Daisy Lanka”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at Daisy Lanka for 1 week in April. From the initial booking, Tracey and Andy were great at keeping in contact and answering any queries we had. The handbook they provided before we travelled was also very helpful. They arranged transport from the airport which was waiting for us as soon as we had arrived. The travel time was about 3 hours, and the new motorway was great.

We arrived quite early in the morning, and had a very warm welcome from all the staff at Daisy Lanka. They all went out of their way to help us feel at home.
Chathu went through some possible excursions the first day we arrived. She was very knowledgeable about the local area. Probhoda helped us plan our food for the first few days, then went and bought everything we would need. My husband and friend accompanied him so they could see the markets first hand, which was great. All the food cooked by Probhoda was of an excellent standard. He was able to cook basic food for my non-spice loving children (though I would recommend taking some pesto and pasta / other basics along as they are hard to get hold of in Sri Lanka. Breakfasts were great, we usually had local sri lankan food alongside waffles and toast.

Some of the excursions and events organised by Chathu included:
- whale watching (an amazing experience!)
- turtle hatchery / sanctuary
- temple visit, then walk to see wild monkeys
- day trip to Galle
- Bentota river safari
- fab performance / storytelling using masks, performed by local villagers and led by Gamini.

Mahesh was very helpful, making sure we always had drinks, snacks and that the children were happy. Gamini and Hashan were on hand to take us out in the tuk tuk when needed. They also pointed out local features of interest and were very friendly.

The accommodation is superb - the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. We had no problem with mosquitos due to the mosquito nets in each bedroom. The gardens are very well kept and the pool is fabulous. The ambalama is a fantastic place to cool down on a hot day, it suited our needs very well as our two young children wanted to be outside all day, and this meant they were out of direct sunlight. During the evenings it was a great place to have a drink and a chat with friends.

There is quite a lot to do in the local area. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and the village is a really interesting place to wander around. The locals are very friendly and Mirissa itself is laid back and relaxing. The children loved spending time on the beach, though watch out as there is a strong pull in even shallow water. Food on the beach is basic and of very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so relaxing - we hardly lifted a finger all week!
Liked least: The humidity and insects - I can't fault any part of Daisy Lanka itself.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing