We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient Tree guesthouse (Mirissa)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 199 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This very very friendly guesthouse comes with great food, great service, good rooms, peaceful surroundings, close to the beach, FREE Internet and not to mention Pushpa's and Lal's lovely child :)
I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone, who wants to stay in Mirissa!!

Jan

Room Tip: They have two rooms, which are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeJohnnyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 143 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Having travelled extensively throughout Asia, I have to say that this is by far one of the best guest houses I have stayed in in thoughout Asia. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. It was super peaceful. The breakfasts were superb and the dinners some of the best meals we had in all of Sri Lanka. Although you may think it ideal to stay right on the beach, I certainly thought it would be. However, we stayed at 3 differnt beaches in Sri Lanka, twice on the beach and once here at Ancient Tree (less than 5 minutes walk to the beach)....and this was by far the best! A very good nights sleep was had each night (we stayed a week and could have stayed longer!) with only the sound of nature around. NO LOUD MUSIC! But by far the best thing about Ancient Tree Guest House was the family who run it! The service was outstanding. The owners go out of their way to do everything for you. Such a pleasure! Fantastic value for money. Would definitly reccommend and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great place to stay if you want a low-key, cheap, clean and friendly option. Pushpa and Lal are extremely accommodating and friendly and will cook food for you if you want. They also did a load of washing for us. Beach is a matter of minutes away, and we were actually pleased to be away from the beach restaurants and hotels and tucked away up a quiet sunny alley.

We intended to stay one night, and ended up staying four. We used it as a base to do surf school at Weligama (less than ten minutes on a three-wheeler - 300 rupees each way).

There are occasionally monkeys in the trees and swinging on the power lines!

We decided not to have breakfast there most days (500 rupees each, so not the cheapest option in town), as we preferred the Sri Lankan rice and curry option, but you should have breakfast there at least once to try the famous Sri Lankan curd and honey.

Room Tip: There's only two rooms - we had the one on the right as you come into the house and it was clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonNZtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

In February we stayed 5 nights in Mirissa beach and used that
accommodation. We recommend it for all those that appreciate a nice, clean,
natural and friendly environment for a good price.
It is located on a green quiet street and beach is only a few minutes walk
away.
Family is really nice and does do everything to make your vacation
comfortable.
Hostess prepares a wide range of dinners according to your taste. If any
interest she also teaches how to make different kind of currys.
I reccommend it, it was a really lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HennoKelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Izzy and myself stayed for 5 nights and loved it.
A lovely semi-detached en suite double. Superb breakfasts, drinks and dinners served on the veranda by our hosts - we could not get enough of the prawns. Would have stayed longer but had to fly. Plan to take the in-laws there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dik-bardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. Most details have been mentioned by other reviewers re: rooms, food, location etc and all are true. The owners are very sweet people who are operating this very humble business and can help you in any way you need. Eating Pushpa's lovely cuisine just outside your room at night is very peaceful. This is not the place to come and party and meet other travellers and such....it is nice a relaxing escape from most tourists.
They have a nice garden behind the guesthouse where they grow some of the food that you eat and Lal (the husband) actually made the bricks the house was built from.
You can watch Pushpa prepare your food if you prefer as well.

If there is no contact info on this website, you can google the name Ancient Tree (Mirissa) and another travel site has the contact info...might even be in the forum on this site (I think I out it there).

Enjoy!!!


PS...check out Raja & The Whales!!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally good. Large, clean, comfy with nets and ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Having seen the reviews on Tip Adviosr we were originally planning to stay at the Rose Blossom. Luckily, the owner wasn’t in at the time and we stumbled next door into the Ancient Tree Guesthouse instead.

The guesthouse is managed by a lovely couple, located about 200m inland from the main road (so about 5 mins walk to the beach) and set within a lovely garden of tropical flowers and an abundance of different chilli plants, that they use in their cooking. The family are very accomodating and extremely, extremely friendly. They happily let us use their internet and phone (free of charge) even though we were using them to research our next destination.

The guesthouse has two simple, but large and clean double rooms, together with a fan, mosquito nettting and en-suite bathroom, which is about half the size of the bedroom (it’s big!). The showers only have cool water, but to re-echo the previous review you won’t need or want hot water.

Being away from the main beachfront meant that it was so peaceful day and night. Unfortunately, as we were only staying for 2 nights, we only tried the dinners on our last night. Dinner consisted of home cooked "rice and curry"; a Sri Lankan dish that has about 7 different dishes so doesn’t reflect it’s simple name. Having stayed in a number of guesthouses along the coast already, this was by far the tastiest we had come across.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this little gem to anyone looking for a welcoming, but “cheap and cheerful” hideaway.

Stayed for 2 nights in March 2012, travelled as a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.5 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
271 reviews
0 mi away
Shehan Guest House
Shehan Guest House
#5 of 11 in Mirissa
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#11 of 199 in Mirissa
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#2 of 189 in Mirissa
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Palace Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 199 in Mirissa
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Tree Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Tree Guesthouse

Address: Yaddehigoda | Bandaramulla, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: $14 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 3-room family run guesthouse 150 meter off the main coast road, set in a shady garden. Western comfort and cleanliness - eastern warm hospitality. The local owner live on site and cater for all your needs. They offer to make local food for your lunch or dinner as well - cheap and authentic option to restaurants. Reliable local info is given for your onward travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ancient Tree Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing