We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ExtremeHost Guest House
Ranked #29 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here the family are very nice hosts and made us very welcome. If you come here don't expect 5 star accommodation, the rooms are basic but clean with hot water and fan. The walk to the beach is only a few minutes and there are plenty of eating option close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
54
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spend there a week, and that was the best stay in Sri Lanka :) Our Hosts couldn't be more helpful. You should also try the meal prepared by them - excellent (although much too much to eat for me as a girl :) The fishes I ate there - spectacular and crud - best in Sri Lanka :).
The rooms were quite big and clean. Even the bathroom doesn't smell at all (which is very common in Sri Lanka, as we found out later).
You have to cross the street to get to the sea but - you have no humidity in the room.
Thank you Guys for the great stay there and hope to see you soon. :)

Room Tip: Only two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KasiaOsinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed some days in Mirissa and enjoyed this place very vey much. the rooms a really clean, big and comfortable, also included an internet WIFI router in each room! fantastic wifi signal. The family who organized this lovely place is very friendly. We recomend this place and hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank urtaroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were immediately greeted and welcomed by the family at ExtremeHost Guest House with open arms. During our stay I became very ill and needed to see a doctor. The family called their close friend/tuk tuk driver and sent me to Matara to get the medical care I needed. The driver stayed with me and my fiance during my time at the clinic and drove us back home at a very reasonable price. They fed us well and cared for us as though we were one of their own. They are wonderful people and we feel very fortunate to have stayed here while touring Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlchestney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Guesthouse ok, nice room, (although I have seen better ones in Mirissa). Short walking distance to the beach, food is very good.

It is very secluded from the street, not a nice place to sit outside at night.

One comment to the owners : Please don't turn of the water at night..especially not when it is more than 30 degrees at night.. people may want to take a shower, or just flush the toilet...

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KaVa187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GihanLasita, Owner at ExtremeHost Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. about the water, we do not intentionally turn off water at night, it might happen due to some problem in the water line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here in April 2013 and were extremely pleased with the choice. The family are great hosts, we had lots of privacy and personal space and the food is actually exceptional. The breakfast was excellent value for money and the dinner is an absolute must!
While its about a 3 min walk to the beach and not ON the beach, for us this was a pro and not a con. Our room was our oasis. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GihanLasita, Owner at ExtremeHost Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this guesthouse for 3 nights in April. We had both rooms; travelling as a family of 4. The rooms are spacious and spotless and there is the big bonus of having a computer in one room which was very fast. It was really lovely to sit outside in the smart little courtyard with comfy chairs. Particularly enjoyed looking at the birds. Because of its location off the busy main road up a quiet street you don't have the noise in the evening or when relaxing during the day, but still have the benefit of the beach being only a couple of minutes' walk away. Mirissa beach is very beautiful and the cleanest we saw on the island. Our hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to make you enjoy your stay; every morning the breakfast was slightly different, which was really nice. We ate dinner here for all 3 nights and this is the aspect we would whole heartedly recommend! Each evening there was a wide variety of dishes, all beautifully presented, and the star attraction was definitely the fish curry.. See the photos!
All in all a really fantastic guest house.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelandLizKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GihanLasita, Owner at ExtremeHost Guest House, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.2 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#11 of 183 in Mirissa
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White House
The White House
#26 of 183 in Mirissa
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
I and I Rest
I and I Rest
#28 of 183 in Mirissa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Awon Mirissa
Awon Mirissa
#30 of 183 in Mirissa
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Cabanas
Riverside Cabanas
#11 of 140 in Mirissa
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Garden Guesthouse
Banana Garden Guesthouse
#20 of 183 in Mirissa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ExtremeHost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ExtremeHost Guest House

Property: ExtremeHost Guest House
Address: 373 / A / 1 Udupila | Udupila, Mirissa 91000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ExtremeHost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extreme Host Guesthouse ideally situated a short distance away from the Beautiful Mirissa Beach. Pubs, restaurants, and Shops are stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your ExtremeHost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing