We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and lovely family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calidan Guest House
Ranked #28 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Calidan is very small with only a few rooms, but rooms are perfectly clean if basic.

We stayed in low season but this was so much cheaper than all other stays in the area. The included breakfast was large and varied, and very tasty! The brother of the owner also gave us discounted surf lessons. The owner drove us around looking for working ATMs for half an hour without expecting a thing!

Has wifi, but you have to ask for it to be put on as they generally keep it turned off.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller4667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice family run place. I stayed there twice, first time in January 2011 and second time in July 2012. Good breakfast, close enough to the beach, but without disturbing music or any kind of hassle. Recommend it!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kreestalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Calidan for about 12 days in jan/feb this year. The location is great....50 yards from the beach and surf break in Mirissa. Kasun the owner and his wife are great. Really helpful but not intrusive - he can help you organize anything you like - tuk tuk, surf boards etc. Rooms (we stayed upstairs) are basic but clean and has good fan and breezes so very comfortable despite no a/c.

As I said yes it's basic but for the price I don't think you will find better! We stayed for 3 nights at Mirissa Palace afterwards and if I was going back I'd stay at Calidan. Expect prices to rise soon - at 1700 rupees it's a steal!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onishenkoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jungspieler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Marguerite A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Alwi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Shehan Guest House
Shehan Guest House
#7 of 11 in Mirissa
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poppies
Poppies
#15 of 168 in Mirissa
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amarasinghe Guest House
Amarasinghe Guest House
#18 of 168 in Mirissa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 168 in Mirissa
639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
259 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calidan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calidan Guest House

Address: Sunanda Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 168 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range: $15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calidan Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calidan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing