We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silan Mo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silan Mo
Ranked #63 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Silan Mo for 6 days and had a very special stay. Firstly, the hotel has exceptional views of mirissa and is just beautiful to watch the sunset from your own big balcony or the rooftop pool. All staff, were absolutely wonderful, from the general manager to the restaurant and maintenance staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We selected the full board option as we thought it was great value to have three meals plus a beautiful clean room included in their price. The food exceeded our expectations as we were served fresh whole fish for most lunches / dinners and were able to try some authentic Sri Lankan food.

Thank you Silan Mo! We all always remember your hotel as that special place my fiancé and I got engaged :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Beatiful view to the ocean. Friendly staff. Restaurant serves delicious food- you must try local seafood. Hotel can manage trips for you. They have very helpful driver (tuk-tuk & van for your choice). All the best to hotel staff, we miss you

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annely M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile



We stayed two nights, the room was
spacious and clean with a nice terrace. The pool on the roof was awesome- however everything seemed somewhat worn down, especially the old and broken sun beds. We don't understand why they don't fix these things.

They have a private beach which is nice. The best place for a swim and calm waters is also only a couple of hundred meters to the left (right next to the large rock in the water).

Breakfast is VERY (actually too) basic for the charge per night. We disliked the "only half board" policy. We never had dinner :), though. There are too good alternatives around.

Overall: would do it again but not for an extended stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Asus1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Beautiful, clean Mirissa beach. This hotel is jus across the road from the beach. The staff very friendly and helpful. Did not eat at the restaurant, just ate out as there are numerous seafood restaurants on the beach itself. had the top floor room which had beautiful views of the beach and large balcony
It was very clean and peaceful

Room Tip: The roof top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank unidentified12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great hotel in a lovely spot on the South Coast. Although not directly on the beach it is right over the road from the sand, a one minute walk from the entrance.
Rooms are large, well appointed and all have supearb balconies that look out to sea. Large king sized beds with big bathrooms and AC as well as a fan.

Staff were super friendly and the rooms kept very clean.

Some negatives, the road outside is busy and it can feel a bit like a game of Frogger crossing it, in general though it was super quiet at night though so not too much noise.
There isn't a lift and some of the higher rooms are a serious slog if you aren't fit, the higher rooms do have the views though so probably worth it.

The fantastic pool on the roof is a unexpected bonus and was a lovely spot for a sundowners.

In all it's a good option and much better run than some expensive places we have stayed in Sri Lanka

Room Tip: Not so much a room tip but if possible arrange a fast comfortable minibus for the transfer, the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Silan Mo for 3 nights, though quite expensive it felt like good value for money. The room was clean and had a great balcony with amazing ocean view. The rooftop pool was really nice. The restaurant was ok. The staff was really nice and had a great helpful smile for every request. The hotel beach is pretty small and we usually went a bit to the right to other restaurants and beaches. Overall- great stay in Mirissa!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My honey and I stayed here for our last three days in Sri Lanka! Now, mind you, our whole goal was to relax as we had been road tripping for almost two weeks in the country! Mirissa beach is a great place for peace and quiet and Silan Mo had the best views, really kind staff, and average food. The design of the hotel was really unique and the roof top pool was fun! Each room has a balcony. We stayed in room 110 and it was fantastic! Everyday, the rooms were cleaned and refreshed with a fabulous smell and creative designs with the local flowers! Venture outside for food and in fact, across the street at Nisshan Bar is fantastic for drinks :) loved this place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.5 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Mirissa
Palace Mirissa
#84 of 183 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Resort
Serenity Resort
#59 of 183 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holaa Mirissa
Holaa Mirissa
#36 of 183 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silan Mo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silan Mo

Property: Hotel Silan Mo
Address: Bandaramulla, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silan Mo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silan Mo is one of the best hotels in Mirissa. It is a unique hotel, the only hetel in the area with a roof top swimming pool with a beautiful sea view. All the rooms have a panoramic view of Mirissa bay. It is right by the beautiful Mirissa beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Silan Mo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing