We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poppies was a welcome Haven”
Review of Poppies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppies
Ranked #15 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poppies was a welcome Haven”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Poppies for three days. The guys who run things are exceedingly friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotlessly clean and of adequate size. Without a/c costs Rs 2500. If you want to contribute to global warming you deserve to have to pay the extra Rs 1000. The location is on the other side of the main road from the beach. No traffic noise to speak of. Only the call of garden birds. Nice comfy bed, mozzie net, hammock on little outside veranda. All you could want for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopard-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent four weeks in Sri Lanka on a surf trip with the girlfriend so wanted something a bit nicer than the usual surfer ghetto, decided to stay in Marissa as its quite central to many of the breaks, the misleading comment from the lonely planet originally steered us away from poppies but one night we got talking to one of the three brothers that help run the place (Mahearsh i think his name is) about going on a trip, and decided to take a look at the rooms. we spent the rest of our time at poppies as it was perfect, no noise at night, hammocks everywhere, beautiful courtyard, amazingly clean and comfortable rooms and the owners couldn't be more helpful! recommended it to a friend who arrived as we were leaving and they stayed there for the whole month! cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammycUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamina, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly service, spacious rooms. Just off from Galle Rd, noise doesn't bother you. Sri Lankan breakfast is worth to try, if you haven't had it anywhere else. Stayed there with my cousin for 4 nights and we were sad to leave. Bed is amazing!! Very good sleep! If you want to arrange drivers/trips to national parks, ask from the owner!

Room Tip: Room next to the office (on left hand side), if you want to wake up early, sunrise wakes you up nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well, it is true that the property itself is quite charming and the rooms are airy and the bathroom quite spacious, it just wasn't exactly what I had thought it would be. Mostly just the price point. It was listed in Lonely Planet's most recent 7/2012 edition at 2500 LKR per night and when we arrived, we were quoted 4500. The bed was prettty heavenly compared to most of the mattresses that I've slept on recently, so we decided to stay a night.
Didn't hear the honking of the horns that Lonely Planet commented on, but perhaps that is because I couldn't hear it over the sound of the snoring coming from the next room or over the drone of the mosquitos that somehow invaded our net.
Other than the price, the other small things I would comment on is, no towels, mouldy shower curtain, remnents of soap bars left in the shower (not sure if this was intentional recycling or not, but kinda dodgy in my opinion) a/c not inclued in the "cheap price" (4500 LKR) For this price I would expect all of these things to be included/rectified.
So basically, if you are looking for budget, this might not be for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhiannoncwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Despite what the Lonely Planet said, this nice place with a lovely garden and owner allows you to relax (and sleep well) in Mirissa.

After visiting at least 8 other hotels we stopped by at Poppies and knew that we could enjoy ourselves here for a couple of days.

Yes, it's not on the beach, but we found it to be off great value and still within 3 minute walk from the beach. It's clean, a spacious room and bathroom, hot water, really fast wifi, a nice place in front of your own room including a hammock.

The owner is still finalising it's place as it is relatively new. The main thing missing is an attractive path towards this peace of paradise. One of the best accomodations we had in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Basic with all the things you need - fast free wifi, hot showers and air conditioning. Quite comfortable, clean and reasonably priced compared to other guesthouses in the area (which are often simply a spare room in someone's house). The owner was very friendly and helpful in arranging a driver and a whale watching tour. We liked the hostel-like vibe - there is a small library and lounge area. The location is on the other side of the main road but beach access was convenient and we did not have any problems with noise.

Would recommend eating at one of the nearby local street-side restaurants for a cheap lunch and heading to the beach side restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The poppies guest house is a wonderful choice for your next visit to mirissa. Located just a short stroll across the busy highway to the beach, poppies is close enough for a quick morning dip, but far enough to be away from the throngs of tourists staying in the beach side lodgings. The management of the guest house are fantastic! Very welcoming and will make sure you have a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 192 in Mirissa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Calidan Guest House
Calidan Guest House
#28 of 164 in Mirissa
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Club
#13 of 192 in Mirissa
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 164 in Mirissa
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies

Property: Poppies
Address: Just off Galle Road, Idipolawatha, Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poppies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing