We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Villa Sea View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sea View
Ranked #110 of 192 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Not a good place for a family. Very dated, was promised interconnecting rooms for 6000 rps, no interconnection and owner tried to charge 8000, showers from upstairs emptied onto roof out the back and dripped down to ground level, holey sheets, no toilet paper, no soap, no hot water, wireless not working. Rooms are not sealed and the banging music from beach below went till 2:30am. Booked 3 nights, stayed one and left. Owner and staff were friendly enough and breakfast was great ( view from Restaurant is superb). Not a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Moved to Silan Mo. Twice the price but much better for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I used to work in Colombo, and Mirissa became my favourite beach break destination. I stayed at the Villa Sea View every time, and I simply wouldn't consider going anywhere else. Though the place has a few things going for it, the view from the top two front facing rooms is unbeatable. There is also another top floor room around to the side that gets some of the beach view, with a pleasant bit of greenery directly in front.

The rooms themselves are fairly basic, but have nice dark wood furniture, and I believe the two top floor rooms I stayed in both had 4-posters with net lining. But you don't come to this place to stay in your room if you've got that view out front. I made sure to call and request a top floor room with a view on all occasions, and I'd really recommend you do likewise, as my whole experience there is based on these. I couldn't believe how much more some people pay to stay at the bland places set back from the beach front.

The owner and his family were great on all occasions that I visited, and I have fond memories of good food in their pleasant open air eating area, which is itself is set in nice gardens with views into the forest. Wildlife abounds on and around the premises, and all this combines well for a memorable experience. I even remember finding a hand-sized huntsman spider sitting on my toilet roll the first time I strolled into my bathroom! (it's the tropics, you're never far from one of these fellows even if you stay in a 5-star, so don't let it put you off please)

If I had to list downsides, which is tough, then the only one that springs to mind may be that music from the one party-type bar on the beach echoes across the water fairly clearly. When it was full on off-season this isn't an issue, but when tourist numbers start to pick up the bar keeps going into the small hours. Good if you want somewhere for a laugh, not so good if you want a quiet one and feel like listening to the sound of the sea from your bed.

Now, it's actually been quite some time since my last visit, and I'm aware that the completion of the STDP highway from Colombo down to Galle is completely changing the nature of south coast resorts as far as development is concerned, so things may be a little less idyllic nowadays, but I can't imagine it's anything like the endless featureless resorts that line the entire south west coast. On all occasions I was there, which was from June to October I believe, there were never more than about 15-20 people in sight along the entire beach. When I used to get up for sunrise and walk the beach I'd generally be the only one. Fantastic memories facilitated by this great little good value b&b. I still feel guilty that I realised on the bus back from my last trip that he'd forgotten to charge me for the pot of coffee at breakfast!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are an absolute must. There is nowhere in Mirissa that gets as good a view. 2 face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SebT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a most wonderfull place in Mirissa actuelly you must go There. This is a Lovely Family geust haus. Lot of peoples would love to stay in there long time. This is a calm and beautyfull place near the beach.once you there you will see the best view of Mirissa Beach. The Rooms are Clean and They Really take care this place .The best Rooms are 1st ,2nd, 3rd,floor with Beautyfull view of Mirissa beach and the Surfing point You can watch the Surf.The owner Jayantha is verry hepfull men and He tray to dose best for his geust.They speack little english but enytime when ever you need somethings or information,Tour,Picking up from the Airport and they will do that.if you have any question please talk with Jayantha(owner)or with Son.once when you are there you will enjoy really,If you really want taste Sri lankan food please Ask from jayantha wife to coock food And you will enjoy with excellence taste. Dont Miss that .And at the moment There building New Restaurant by the Surfing point. This place taking your Breath away !!!WeThanks for they are wonderfull service and For giving to us wonderfull time in Sri lanka. If you want book Rooms please call to this Number 0094776046653.

Room Tip: Best Rooms are on the 1st,2nd,3rd Floor,With view of Surfing point and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place in walking distance from the beach. And we found the perfect location in the villa sea view. Room and bathroom were clean and the view over the whole bay is breathtaking. The srilankian food they served was really tasty and the staff is very nice. As mentioned: just perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saintgermais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Villa Sea View in Mirissa is an absolutely lovely place run by a very nice family. The rooms are basic, but if you are a budget traveller like me you don't expect anything else for that price. The view from the sea view rooms is amazing and in my opinion it's the best place where you can stay in Mirissa (I've checked out some other accommodations as well). I felt very welcome and regard it as my home in Mirissa. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anjathe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights to see Whales at Christmas. The hotel is located on a hill with great veiws down the beach. The harbour for Whale watching is just around the corner. Prices for this range from r3,000 - 7,000. Food here is excellent and the rooms are clean with great balconies. Full marks, but and it is a big one and not the hotels fault, the noise from the beach partys means that no one including locals could sleep Christmas eve. Police kept the noise down on our second night but still bad. This may be a one off for Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I consider this is a best place in Mirissa. from the beach seid.This is a Small Guest hause and have about 8 rooms.the best rooms is 3 floor.beautyfull view of the beach and the Surfing point.you will sea the Sunrise early morning.The place Situeted littlebit up the Hill.this is whay you will see the view of beach.The owner is verry friendly men.The rooms is good compare to the other places.If anythings needed for example for bathrooms you have to ask from owner,wife or Children.You will see the verry good family and friendly atmosphere if you stay long there.after sometime you will feel this is your home.its happened to the lot of peoples.lot of them would love to stay in villa sea view. becouse its verry quiet place.Bed and bathrooms are clean this place and you can sleep window open with fresh air From the Sea.you never have to worry about your valuble things.The Jayantha is verry helpfull men and also wife and children.they have not so much expirience with the Tourism but they are trayng to do best for the Guest.You can oder Sri lankan food and They cook verry good food. And the preise is fair compare to he other places.You will see the Monkey is jumping backseid the jungle in the evening.If you come with the car then you can park in the there.More than one car is impossible to park.If you need Rooms then you have to call to this Nummber 0094776046653.The owner Speak littlebit english but his son Speak good english.if you ever go to Mirissa Go to Villa Sea View and check out the Rooms and How is the food.kann man gar nix sagen darüber.probiert einfach essen.das ist meine empfehlung.Gute esse.Frundliche Stimmung und familie atmostphäre was brauchen wir Noch.Meine Gepäck war bei der Villa Sea view und hab ich Rund reise gemacht in Sri lanka.das ist meine persönliche Meinung.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.1 mi away
The Point Mirissa
The Point Mirissa
#64 of 192 in Mirissa
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Sea Breeze
Surf Sea Breeze
#36 of 164 in Mirissa
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Hotel
#74 of 164 in Mirissa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#17 of 192 in Mirissa
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Garden Guest House
Green Garden Guest House
#54 of 192 in Mirissa
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Villa
Palm Villa
#3 of 164 in Mirissa
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sea View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sea View

Property: Villa Sea View
Address: Modarawella Rd, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel your vacation different. Comfortable AC / non AC rooms with nice view of Mirissa Beach available for your relax. There is our restaurant at the surfing point. You can feel a tasteful experience and enjoy our special Sri Lankan recipe. We are ready for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sea View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing