We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five star luxury in an absolutely "homely and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Talaramba Reef

Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool
All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Mosquito nets are there if you choose to sleep with the doors open and the sea breeze cooling you
Work by local Sri Lankan artists is featured throughout Talaramba Reef
En-suite bathrooms feature open showers, dual basins, and baths for a long soak.
Living rooms are open and airy, with enough comfortable seating for everyone
Exquisite woodwork adorns the villas throughout
The extensive gardens are a particular feature of Talaramba Reef
Spend your days doing nothing but relaxing
Work up an appetite with a stroll along the beach at sunset
Dusk is a particularly tranquil and special time
Dinner is taken on the terrace
Sri Lankan curries are a specialty of the house
Breakfast is fruit, eggs, toast, juice, tea or coffee
Our friendly, attentive team, will take care of every need
Take afternoon tea enjoying the view over the Indian Ocean
Or just relax on the balcony, lulled by the rythm of the waves
Pool towels, bathroom towels, and crisp bed linen are all provided
You'll see the iconic stilt fishermen plying their trade right at the end of our garden
Stunning Mirissa beach is only 2 minutes by tuk tuk
Mirissa is one of Sri Lanka's best surfing spots
Getting here is half the fun. Come by road, train or seaplane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nish D
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star luxury in an absolutely "homely and warm" atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our third time back and there was absolutely no disappointment at all. It is and has always been a wonderful holiday "home" meeting every expectation and ... more. Unbelievably friendly staff who serve you with their hearts in true Srilankan style. Deepani's (the lady in charge) scrumptious cooking was enjoyed by the entire family including the children. We have stayed in quite a few villas in Colombo but have always found Talaramba Villa to be the bench mark for perfection. The experience will be something that we will always come back to.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tayyibaal...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Magical family holiday thanks for Talamramba!”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Talaramba reef was just perfect! Large family holiday (8 adults 6 kids under 11)- garden sooo spacious, villas configuration perfect, food amazing, the staff were so friendly and took care of our everyneed! Kids spent hours in the two pools, fishing off the rocks and catching frogs in the beautiful
Lilly ponds. Exciting Wildlife was abundant- chipmunks, monkeys, monitor lizards but hardly any mosquitoes! We cant wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesluca...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food. Best staff. Best time.”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is beautiful, the villas are spacious and well decorated with all facilities working well. The three absolute highlights from the week I spent there though were as follows:

Staff - Exemplary! The boys were all incredibly kind, incredibly friendly, and as helpful as we could expect whilst also giving us the space we wanted.

Food - The best Sri Lankan food I had whilst away, and thankfully plenty of it! Home cooked dishes every night, what more could you ask for.

Turtle! - Whilst searching on the beach out the back of the villa one night we came across the mother of all turtles. Unbelievable experience.

Thank you for all the guys who looked after us and hopefully see you all again!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food and staff
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a fab time at Talaramba Reef and found the staff to be very helpful. Also enjoyed the Sri Lankan food cooked by Deepani and team a lot. Will hopefully find some time to visit again in the future.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJtravels...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay on the south coast of Sri Lanka”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Talaramba Reef several times...for a reason! We absolutely love the property and the staff. The villas are equipped to handle large groups...in our case, 8 families at a time with upwards of 16-20 children included. The property is safe for the kids to just take over...playing and exploring, while the parents relax. There are two pools and plenty of quiet places for everyone to spread out. The rooms are huge with large comfortable beds and enough room for the entire family (we are a family of 4) to stay together. The reef in front of the villa is fun to explore with daily sea turtle sightings and fun rock/coral formations to wade it. Not to mention the hundreds of resident hermit crabs.

We love the staff! They understand our needs and go out of their way to accommodate us in regards to the menu, meal times, and room set up. This past trip we spent Valentines day at the villa and one of our guests had a birthday. The staff helped us decorate the villa and even surprised us with fresh flowers and a beautiful table. I cannot say enough about Talaramba Reef!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragy_R_R
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing stay with amazing service”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent 4 amazing nights in this nice boutique hotel. The hotel consists of 2 buildings or 2 villas, each has 4 bedrooms, 1 in the ground floor and 3 in the first floor. Each building has a nice comfy indoor seating area, and a nice outdoor dinning area. The staff was beyond amazing, they were very helpful, and used to stay awake with us till late at night to make sure that are satisfied and that we have everything available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff attitude and service
Liked least: We had to walk in between few poor house were few dogs are there, kids were afraid of them
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Talaramba Reef for 6 nights and had a fantastic time. The house is amazing, Deepani and the staff attended to our every need and the kids had a blast. We ate very well thanks to Deepani's great cooking and she really was a pleasure to deal with. The rooms are big, the bathrooms were kept clean and the pool was huge. Thanks also to the recommendations in your information booklet. We swam at Mirissa Beach, bought gems from Ibrahims in Galle, did the whale watching with Mirissa Water Sports and also visited the tea plantation nearby, all were well worth it and fantastic experiences. We will be recommending Sri Lanka and also Talaramba Reef to all our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing