We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Villas - Fabulous !!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Talaramba Reef

Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool
All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Mosquito nets are there if you choose to sleep with the doors open and the sea breeze cooling you
Work by local Sri Lankan artists is featured throughout Talaramba Reef
En-suite bathrooms feature open showers, dual basins, and baths for a long soak.
Living rooms are open and airy, with enough comfortable seating for everyone
Exquisite woodwork adorns the villas throughout
The extensive gardens are a particular feature of Talaramba Reef
Spend your days doing nothing but relaxing
Work up an appetite with a stroll along the beach at sunset
Dusk is a particularly tranquil and special time
Dinner is taken on the terrace
Sri Lankan curries are a specialty of the house
Breakfast is fruit, eggs, toast, juice, tea or coffee
Our friendly, attentive team, will take care of every need
Take afternoon tea enjoying the view over the Indian Ocean
Or just relax on the balcony, lulled by the rythm of the waves
Pool towels, bathroom towels, and crisp bed linen are all provided
You'll see the iconic stilt fishermen plying their trade right at the end of our garden
Stunning Mirissa beach is only 2 minutes by tuk tuk
Mirissa is one of Sri Lanka's best surfing spots
Getting here is half the fun. Come by road, train or seaplane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
joanne201...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic Villas - Fabulous !!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We hired both Villas for my husbands 50th Birthday party !!!
The villas and the grounds are gorgeous'
The staff are delightful and met our every need. They ensured that everything ran smoothly and was of the highest standard. They prepared the most delicious meals, did all the shopping for us. We were a large group to co-ordinate but, it was no problem for the staff, they were flexible and accommodating. Deepani Thank you for looking after us so well - we had the most fantastic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spuns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Talaramba Reef Heaven”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a large group go to Talaramba Reef for a birthday celebration and we couldn't have chosen a better. The two houses are a mirror of each other and all the rooms are exactly the same making it a wonderful stay for everyone. The staff that work at the house are exceptional and the extra kilos I have come home with speaks to the amazing food! You are spoilt with two swimming pools, a beach at your doorstep and the surrounding area offers some of the best beaches, bars, restaurants etc in Sri Lanka

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: service on every level, the homes, pools, beach, location, food - it was perfect
Liked least: wi fi went on and off
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W
1 review
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Talaramba Reef for just over two weeks and loved every minute of it. Our children are young and there 4 of them between 10 months and 3 years and these Villas suited us perfectly. But they still managed to keep the grown ups happy too - a very important and surprisingly difficult balance to find! We'll back without a doubt. Thank you TReef!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The size, space and child friendliness
Liked least: No swimming beach
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Family Vacation ever !!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had one of our best holidays in our Family Life at the Villas !!!!!
It is so perfect for families . First of all it is auch a beautiful spot and the houses are gorgeous , also the Art and the furniture . The Service and Cooking is outstanding ,we were so pampered by these loving people . We even had a beautiful Wedding ceremony on the property for my parents golden anniversary . Well I sure hope we get to come back very soon , we love this place thank you for sharing this Paradies .
I highly recommend this place, we fell in love !!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahma M
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really special place”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Staying at Talamba Reef is def one of the best holidays of my life. 9 of us rented one of the villas in March 2014 for about a week.
Everything was amazing; considerate, polite, friendly service, excellent food, beautiful decor and maintenance, super clean. They have thought of everything (everything! board games, bluetooth enabled speakers to connect your devices to, movies etc.). We don't have a single complaint. It was truly magic.
As the name suggests, TR is on a reef and not a beach, but you can still hang walk along the reef and watch beautiful sunsets or stay in and frolic in the pool. The beach is a short tuktuk ride away, which Deepani and her crew can order for you.
You can also have a masseuse come over if you are too lazy to go to a spa.
The staff, especially Deepani is super awesome. They really are lovely people who make the experience special and frankly, really spoil you. Bakery baked Sri Lankan bread every morning, single estate tea delivered directly from a plantation served with cake in the evening, catch of the day grilled to perfection for lunch, fresh coconut water whenever you please - it truly is amazing.
We booked through FleeWinter (thanks, Kate!) and also spoke to the owner before we confirmed, who was also very gracious and friendly.
Can not recommend this place enough and can not wait to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and decor
Liked least: The reef
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckers1
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our stay at Villa Sulanga was unforgettable. Very clean, comfortable and spacious villa. Lovely big pool at the back of the villa. The service provided by the villa staff was second to none. The home made Sri Lankan curries cooked by the villa Chef, were absolutely delicious and the best we tasted in Sri Lanka!

i would highly recommend staying here. A great place to kick back and relax.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huckers12...
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven on the Sri Lankan coast...”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The villa is magnificent. The surrounds stunning, and the hospitality is second to none.

My sister and I stayed at Villa Sulanga for two nights in April. We did not want to leave.

There has obviously been a great deal of thought put into the finer touches of the villa layout and interior. Whilst rustic and very much in keeping with its situation, its creative and there is real imagination behind the chosen decor. Its chic, extremely comfortable, and family friendly to the last.

There is a massive swiming pool at the back of the property set in some spectacular grounds. We enjoyed many a G&T in the comfortable loungers next to the pool listening to the waves crashes on the beach behind also.

The Villa staff were excellent, and the authentic Sri Lankan food we ate at the Villa both nights was some of the best I had in my two weeks in the country. Mirissa beach is a walk away too.

I am going back to this place as soon as I possibly can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The situation and staff
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing