We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury by the sea .......”

Review of Stella Beach Villa

View of the pool from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the pool from the terrace
Your own private beach Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
View of the pool from the terrace
Your own private beach
Master Bedroom
The twin room (with en-suite)
Master bedroom
Second master bedroom
En suite for second master bedroom
En suite for second master bedroom
En suite for first master bedroom
Double bedroom
En suite for twin bedroom (partially outdoors)
En suite for double bedroom (partially outdoors)
En suite for twin bedroom (partially outdoors)
Outdoor living area (outside second master bedroom)
View from the master bedroom
20-metre pool
Spacious garden views
Robby's bar on the beach
A place to relax..
View of pool with sun loungers
View of the swimming pool.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Miranda R
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury by the sea .......”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

A real mixed bunch of seven of us, including my husband's Sri Lankan parents, his elderly aunt and our two children, aged 3 and 6 arrived to be greeted by the smiling staff, flowers on the beds, beautifully clean rooms and a wonderful pool to jump in and wash away the 11 hour flight!
From start to finish, we could not have asked for any more. Gayan, the Manager was there and always on hand to provide us with anything we needed, however strange - nothing was ever a problem for him.
The rooms were extremely clean, the beds so comfortable, the showers fast and the turn-down service every evening superb. We have Shamika to thank for this - he worked extremely hard throughout our stay and was absolutely brilliant with the kids.
Just a note about the bathrooms - it didn't bother us but in two of the rooms, they have no doors so privacy is not possible (!) and in the other two, they are open-air so possibly subject to getting a little wet if the rain is heavy.
Food! What can we say?! Suran the chef was an absolute genious! Considering that in our party were 2 young children (one fairly fussy) and needed early dinners, one who wanted to just eat Sri Lankan cuisine, one who loved spicy food, one with a small appetite, one vegetarian and one lactose intolerant diabetic who needed to eat at a definate time ......he managed without fuss or question to provide us with the most amazing dishes throughout our stay. His attention to detail, his flavouring, his perfect veg, his presentation, his ability to cook Sri Lankan banquets to fish and chips to garlic prawns to devilled fish to spaghetti bolognaise was second to none and he deserves a medal for catering to all our needs and tastes.
The pool was lovely and perfect for the kids as they could wallow on the shallow shelf and we could relax knowing they were not out of their depth. This was kept clean daily and pool towels provided.
The only problem with our 10 day stay was the weather! We arrived in gorgeous sunshine and left in gorgeous sunshine but were sadly affected by Cyclone Nilam which had pushed itself down a bit from India. We had a few nights of the most tremendous wind and rain as well as a power cut but again, the staff put our safety and comfort first and did everything they could to ensure we were alright (I woke at 3am one night to wade out of my room in the pitch black, ankle deep in water to see the staff battling with the large shutters surrounding the living area to keep them down and grabbing all the outdoor chairs which were whizzing around in the wind!). By morning, the villa was clean, swept and tidy and Gayan was making provision to get our power and water back, which he did.
Putting the weather aside which could not be helped by anyone, Stella Beach was certainly a little bit of paradise for us all. We could not fault the service, the staff, the food, the cleanliness and the beautiful location.
Thank you so much to everyone at Stella Beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff, location and food!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nix36
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Dream Holiday”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

If you are looking to visit Sri Lanka and deciding where to stay, look no further than Stella Beach Villa. The location, Villa, setting, and the Staff are simply stunning. The team were simply the best. They really made all the difference in the whole experience. The Villa was really clean and well-kept and the set-up worked. The Villa was stunningly beautiful and extremely relaxed. The food was absolutely amazing. We ate out a few times but nothing could beat the food at the villa. They accommodated our requests and providing suggestions. There was nothing that was not possible. They helped give suggestions on where to go and what to do and was always able to assist with the TukTuks. It was nice to use the same TukTuk as we felt safer with the same people driving. I would highly recommend Stella Beach Villa to anyone. If you are a family with children or on honeymoon or anything in between. Stella Beach Villa is the perfect place to relax, unwind, visit nearby towns and be spoilt by a wonderful team and amazing local Sri Lankan food. All 3 of our children had a wonderful time and my 13 year old son even learnt how to fish like the locals fish. He took all his fishing gear with him but spent most of the time fishing local style. We had fun in the swimming pool which was often a welcome experience after a hot day and simply relaxed by the beach and watching amazing sunsets each night.

We really could not have asked for me. It was more than we ever could imagine. We cant wait to stay there again.
Family of 6 with teenagers aged 17, 13 and 12.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, food and everything else
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyB198...
Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible villa, incredible staff, incredible food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Stella Beach in September 2012. It is a beautiful villa, furnished to a very high standard. The staff are excellent and the food that they prepared was incredible, particularly the Sri Lankan curries. Blaster the dog is very well behaved!

It is the perfect place to go for a relaxing holiday in an amazing country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbury
Reviewed February 5, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Reviewed January 24, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great swimming pool
Liked least: Hard to say
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dnlclarke
Greater Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the right ingredients for the perfect honeymoon !!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My wife & I stayed there 4 nights on the last leg of our 2 week Sri Lankan honeymoon. We now wish we had've stayed at Stella Beach Villa for the whole two weeks, it was very hard to leave.
Gayan the manager & Suki our chef, along with the rest of the grounds staff, really did everything they could to make our stay a comfortable & memorable one. My wife particularly loved the turn down service with flower petals on our bed, spelling a different message every night.
Suki's meals were outstanding, with nothing to hard to make and each meal presented impeccably & with that trademark smile & head wobble.
We spent alot of time relaxing by the pool, which is a very good size.
The rooms were super comfy, with air con in all rooms & each with a huge bathroom, with good pressure.
Only issue I had was with the toilet needing more of a screen, given that it's not entirely private.

All in all we both loved the place &
we'll definitely be back some day, maybe with some friends....or not.

P.s.s... Special thanks to George who redeveloped the land after the tsunami & made Stella Beach Villa what it is.....a little slice of paradise.
Stellar job mate, (no pun intended) your staff speak very highly of you, especially Gayan who was a pleasure to deal with.

Darren & Linnae Clarke
Sydney, Australia

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR1969-07
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent beach front villa - make you feel like James Bond for a few days”
Reviewed June 23, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

The setting of the villa, on a quiet stretch of beach, is simply gorgeous and every bit as beautiful as the pictures on the website suggest. The rooms are simple, but nicely done, good linens, and a really attractive open plan concrete bathroom - it probably helps if you prefer modern and minimalist, olde and colonial this isn't. Breakfast is again simple but good, (fresh fruit, eggs etc) and the service is incredibly warm and friendly. Lunch and dinner was available on request, either curry or bbq, and all the meals we had were good and excellent value. We made our first trip in February and went back again in June. If you're looking for a place to kick back for a few days, read a book or just listen to the waves, then I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Villa Stella. I also believe it's really good value for such a beautiful private beach front location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing