We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calm Rest Guest House Mirissa
Ranked #67 of 186 Mirissa B&B and Inns
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“love this place”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

we have travelled to sri lanka 4 times but this is the first time to mirissa and it will not be our last its a beautiful place we only had one night but wished we were staying for more

the calm rest was basic but very clean and the guy could not do enough for you.

its on a quite road but only only 2 minutes to the beach the location was ideal,
we went whale watching and it was brilliant so quite a few blue whale but unfortuantly no dolphins we had missed them by a couple of days

overall a great place to stay and will certainly return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smillieSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in the modern block, on the upper floor for a few nights in March. The room was large and clean with double bed and mosquito net, bathroom was pretty standard, and clean.
The owners were lovely, and very laid back, Moved rooms after about an hour as decided the cabana was just too open to the elements, and insects! They were completely happy for us to do this. Also lent us plug adaptors, organised us onward transport and found us a table to sit at outside our room.
Breakfast was fine, the usual fruit, toast and eggs.
Overall would recommend as a good, clean, friendly place to stay.
Room was 3,500 rs per night, around £15.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aversm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

£15 (approx) b&b 1 block from the beach, friendly staff, room was in front of eating area, fan, breakfast ok, 1 roach that met my book and lost, there are mosquitos but that's subcontinent (i listen to tms) n wear repellant, no hot water but as it is so hot the coolness is welcoming after the 2nd try! again the room was a bit shabby but i travel on a budget.
the internet was still in the family home but there was no problem using it, although i had to advise the owner of the cost of using 2 x 5 mins (50r), not sure what he wanted to charge. i thought £8 for 1 load of laundry was bit steep considering i got a cut throat shave for £0.60, maybe i'm being tight.
Due to the proximity to the beach i didn't eat in the hotel
overall average and would visit again although there are many hotels around and no need to book unless on the beach

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

A nice place with some wooden cabins - the main building seems to be disused probably due to the tsunami.

We didn't eat here as the beach is just a short walk over the road, so we had breakfast and dinner watching the waves.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Situated just one block from the beach, it is sheltered from the bar music at night. This is the only positive...

Mosquito riddled, dusty, area is a building site, breakfast with the Mosquitos, rooms damp, internet (as advertised) is in the family house and stray dogs sleeping outside your door at night occasionally getting up to bark/whale at each other.

If you are not last minute then there are plenty of other places offering half decent accom for the same price, some even on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjmcnerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mirissa hotels

England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Others who telling "Avoid this place" doesn't make any sense for me, because the people who manage this restaurant are so friendly and they really helpful. Me and my family have been stay in this place for several times. I recommend this place for those who travel with their families mostly. This place is very calm and restful as its name.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We took one of the small cabanas in the garden (there is also normal rooms). At first sight, it was great but the room was provided with cockroaches and even a mouse that ate one of our cloth and woke us several time during the night !!

Moreover, the breakfast was expensive and we had dry bread and strange tea ! They said that it was toasted but it was clearly just like air-dried !

The staff was available to find solutions to our claims but it was just teenagers, without the help of a supervisor...

Finally, they didn't make any apologies or any reduction on the price.

I can't recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feaelwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
1.0 mi away
Sea Goggle Rest Resort
Sea Goggle Rest Resort
#81 of 186 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
Ancient Tree Guesthouse
#13 of 186 in Mirissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Rest Mirissa
Sun Rest Mirissa
#57 of 186 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Garden Guest House
Green Garden Guest House
#53 of 186 in Mirissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beach Guesthouse
Coral Beach Guesthouse
#84 of 186 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Sea Breeze
Surf Sea Breeze
#36 of 147 in Mirissa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calm Rest Guest House Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calm Rest Guest House Mirissa

Property: Calm Rest Guest House Mirissa
Address: Sunanda Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calm Rest Guest House Mirissa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are welcome to the hotel "CALM REST" & invite people who like to enjoy with South Coastal Area. If you are interest with Watching Whales & Dolphins, join with Southern whale group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Calm Rest Guest House Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing