We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family hotel for a short/long stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spice House, Mirissa
Ranked #4 of 183 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice family hotel for a short/long stay. ”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

A really nice family house with friendly staff and management. You can trust the description / reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms were fine, but it would have been better with A/C and a fridge (but the fan was also perfect and silent). The pool and the garden was very nice. There was a nice view from the balcony towards the forest. Last but not least I want to stop and spend one or two words on breakfast: Best in Sri Lanka.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kov1krisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    64
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
101
300
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the lemongrass room which was an upstairs room at the back of the property. Our room had a spacious balcony and a spacious bathroom. The owners' have put a lot of thought into the finishing touches of everything throughout that room and the whole property. The pool was amazing and clean, although we only used this once as the main Marissa Beach is less than a 5 minute ride by tuk tuk. We had one dinner at the spice house, which was an amazing traditional meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed for just one night.
Location: a little out of town. But only a 15minute walk or 3 minute Tuk-Tuk to the beach. And conveniently located further away from the beach parties for a better nights sleep.
Rooms: Big, luxurious, good storage space, comfortable four poster beds, big bathrooms with nice showers. Cant say more than that.
Food: both breakfast and dinner were excellent. Good quality home cooked food, and generous portions!

The guesthouse has a nice pool for the end of long day sight seeing. Excellent value, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Level Contributor
223 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay in the ground floor garden room at the bottom of the drive, we were greeted by Phil and Wathsala, Phil really went out of his way to be helpful and make us feel at home. Our room was very spacious with lovely big bed, it had a ceiling fan which was a life saver as it was very hot & we would not have slept without it as the bedroom only has doors & we did not feel comfortable leaving them open all night. Air con would be a major plus. Storage space was great plenty of it with your own fridge.
Breakfast was great, although I found taking your shoes off was a pain after having a shower & washing my shoes before breakfast I ended up doing it again afterwards due to the terrace being sandy.

We found the location handy with an easy walk along the beach into town and close to the shack a great bar with amazing sea views and laid back vibe. I would stay again, can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Spice House for two nights in January 2014- we would have liked to stay longer. The house itself is beautiful- set back from the Galle Road (which IS vey busy)- we actually stayed in one of the rooms in the building at the bottom of the garden. It was wonderful: very secluded with a lovely comfortable four-poster bed-very romantic.
We ate in the house one night and the food was really good, breakfast also was great and we especially liked the communal dining with the opportunity to meet other travellers.
As other reviews have stated The Spice House is just a short walk from a small beach-almost like a private beach as when we were there only one other couple were on it-it really felt like paradise!By walking along the beach you can reach Mirissa beach itself which is lovely but it was more "built up" than I expected with lots of bars and beachside accomodation, but before reaching this main beach area there are nice bars to have a cocktail while watching the palm trees sway in the breeze!
The owners of The Spice House, Phil and Wathsala are very welcoming and helpful and can organise trips or transport if necessary.
The Spice House is a perfect place to stay in Mirissa as it is away from the main Mirissa beach area and offers peaceful accomodation in a beautiful setting-highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Spice House (in the main house) with our 2 children. The hosts Phil and Watsala are so friendly and made our stay perfect. They have a beautiful house with the jungle as their backyard. We saw purple faced leaf monkeys, fireflies, chipmunks, big parrots and they have a tortoise walking around the garden.
The food is excellent and we recommend that you stay for dinner and eat at the long table together with the other guests (it´s a good opportunity to exchange travel experiences).
The pool is perfect and the beach nearby is cozy and protected by a natural reef which makes the water perfect for swimming.
If we ever come back to Sri Lanka, we will definitely stay at Spice House!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tureh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at the Spice House and was not disappointed. I stayed in the cinnamon room at the front of the house and even though Galle road made it slightly noisy, the room was large, clean and had everything in that I needed. The owners Phil and Wathsala are lovely people, helping to book tours and just generally doing anything to make you feel more relaxed and at home. The gardens are beautiful, with a lovely pool that you can sit and relax in and spot all the wildlife around you.

The dinners were extremely tasty. I know you can do cooking classes here which unfortunately I did not try, but each night there were more different delicious dishes and the fact you can sit around with all the other guests and share stories of your trip just adds to the charm.

There is building work going on at the minute but sri lanka is slowly growing to tourism so you can't really help that. If it bothers you that much, in front of the Spice House is a stunning little bay which is great for swimming as there is a natural reef so no large waves. There is also hardly anyone else around but the real magic is the family of sea turtles that live there. You can spend hours bathing on the sand then slipping into the waters and swimming alongside these majestic giants, truly awe inspiring!

Highly recommend staying here if you're in Mirissa, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the front rooms but heard from the other guests that the ones further down the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leone_eee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 183 in Mirissa
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#2 of 183 in Mirissa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#2 of 9 in Mirissa
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bon Accord Guest House
Bon Accord Guest House
#1 of 183 in Mirissa
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#3 of 183 in Mirissa
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Property: The Spice House, Mirissa
Address: Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Spice House, Mirissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing