We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spice House, Mirissa
Ranked #3 of 192 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This place is just amazing. As other reviews will attest to, Phil and Wathsala are two of the most generous, caring hosts you could hope to meet. The house itself is simply gorgeous, the rooms airy and furnished with beautiful antiques. We stayed in the cinnamon room which was large and had a lovely veranda. The pool is perfect, with plenty of loungers to relax after a hard days snorkel. Phil also provides kayaks and snorkel gear free of charge which is a lovely touch. Oh and make sure to have dinner there, great Sri Lankan curry, and plenty of it! Thanks Phil and Wathsala!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    65
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
107
309
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

First of all, the service and overall friendliness of Phil and his wife is extraordinary considering all the people that pass through the house. Value for money can't be beat in this area. The pool is clean and refreshing, and the general staff wonderful. Breakfast were good. Dinners were fantastic. Less than a 5 minute walk from the house, is a bay that is great to swim in as I don't like big waves to contend with, However, there are no beach chairs or umbrellas there. 5 minutes by tuk tuk ( 100- 150 rupees) is the main beach with chair/umbrellas and food. I would highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldtc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a room here. Booked for one night and stayed for 5! relaxing, friendly and beautiful. Tons of recommendations of where to visit in Mirissa from Phil and his wife, along with amazing Sri Lankan cooking every night if you fancy.

Room Tip: We had less bites staying in the rooms inside the house, but you don't get the view, so try out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

You'd have to go a VERY long way to meet 2 more helpful, generous and delightful people than Phil and Wathsala. Nothing was too much trouble from our initial enquiry some months ago to the time we left them. Their home is a delight - tastefully decorated and traditional and a real haven of tranquility (despite the builders next door who actually didn't affect us whatsoever). We were given a choice of rooms, one at the back overlooking the garden and pool and the other at the front from which we could see the sea. We chose the latter but both were equally well appointed and we were not at all bothered by traffic on the main road as the house is set back. We didn't miss not having air conditioning - we found the ceiling and additional fan perfectly adequate. We went whale watching whilst in Mirissa and despite the fact that we had to be up and about by 5.30 a.m., Wathsala was anxious to ensure that we all had hot drinks before leaving. Although breakfast was provided on the boat, we were given toast and coffee on our return. Breakfast at the Spice House was an opportunity to meet other guests from all over the world and the food kept appearing at the table for as long as guests wanted it. Sadly we were unable to enjoy an evening meal as the cook was off sick but I understand that he is now back, along with a newly appointed cook - we envy the current guests who are able to enjoy authentic Sri Lankan cuisine in lovely surroundings.
We don't know what else Phil and Wathsala could do to make the Spice House #1 in Mirissa but we hope they make it to the top. We are sure Wathsala will wow the Australians in her new sari !! Thank you both for a superb stay.

Room Tip: Book early if you can and ask what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked months ago to stay at the Spice House for two weeks and it was a good thing we did, as rooms get taken very quickly. The photographs on Trip Advisor and on the owners' website are accurate in their attractiveness, but of course can't convey the atmosphere of the place, which manages to be both laid-back and thoroughly professional at the same time. Wathsala is unfailingly cheerful and welcoming, while Phil has used his experience as a world traveller to combine all the elements needed to make the perfect place to stay. He also deals with any problems, no matter how trivial, quickly and efficiently. During our stay we used three of the rooms, all of which are comfortable and tastefully designed. Our favourite was the Mud House which gave the perfect view of the monkeys in the jungle just over the wall. In the evenings there is the opportunity to meet other guests at the long table where the excellent dinners are served. After we left Mirissa we stayed at three other places in Sri Lanka, none of which came close to comparing in any aspect even though they were no cheaper. If we go back to Sri Lanka we will be sure to book very early for the Spice House.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Phil and Wathsala have greated a wonderful home and it was a bliss to stay here! Nice people, beautiful garden and rooms and the best food we had i Sri Lanka!
The beach is nice but I am afraid Mirissa will be over developed soon. If we return we'd like to stay at Mirissa Spice House again

Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Evelinatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had been traveling around Sri Lanka for 5 days before arriving at Mirissa, and loved the contrast of the Spice House compared to other 3 star hotels/ B&B's we had contact with - This place was comfortable, homely, and attracts cool guests. We booked for 1 night and extended our stay. Prior to our arrival, Phil handled our inquiries promptly and gave us good travel advice. Upon arrival, Wathsala was warm and welcoming, definitely one of the friendliest people we met on our trip :)

We'd definitely recommend this gem of a place in Mirissa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 192 in Mirissa
316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#4 of 192 in Mirissa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#17 of 192 in Mirissa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Property: The Spice House, Mirissa
Address: Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing