We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spice House, Mirissa
Ranked #3 of 191 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent 8 nights at the Spice House in Mirissa with my family recently. We had such a great time there! The Spice House is an absolutely beautiful guesthouse - both charming and stylish. The guesthouse offers lush tropical garden views and has a great pool. Phil and Wathsala were incredibly kind hosts throughout our stay and they helped us a lot with practicalities and information. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a clean, charming and romantic place to stay in Mirissa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoulMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Poul,
We just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your time here.
Once again many thanks to you and your lovely family.
Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for The Spice House, Mirissa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 558 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

After 1 night in Galle we moved to The Spice House where we spent 4 nights. The house and gardens are beautiful. Such a peaceful place to start our holiday in Sri Lanka. The design of the house has been carefully thought out to give the impression of a family home while offering lots of spaces inside and out for relaxation and privacy. At the end of a hot day it was a pleasure to return to this green oasis. We had 2 evening meals here which were delicious and gave us the opportunity to meet some of the other guests. Phil and Wathsala were always available to answer our queries but were unobtrusive. I particularly liked the large garden and enjoyed talking to Phil about plans for further planting and development. I am sure we will return to Sri Lanka one day and will make sure that we book well in advance to secure a room.

Room Tip: The two back rooms have the best view of the garden
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Pam & Sandy,
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review.
We both really enjoyed having you stay with us and we miss not having you around the place!
Best wishes to you both and we also really hope that you come and visit us again?
Kind Regards,
Phil & Wathsala x x - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in this brillIant guest house for 2 nights in early February as part of our honeymoon. The property is beautifully designed and has a very boutique feel to it with lovely furniture and a four poster bed - we've travelled a lot and this is one of the nicest guest houses we've stayed in. The owners Phil and Wathsala were really friendly and the staff were also very helpful. We especially enjoyed the cooking course with the charismatic chef - we tried some of the recipes at home and they went down a treat! The food prepared by the chef (with our help on the first night) was some of the best we tasted in Sri Lanka. The pool was also a real plus to help cool in down in the hot afternoon sun. We loved wandering along the beach at Mirissa but spent most of our time at Spice House enjoying the relaxing atmosphere and hospitality of the owners. Highly recommend!
Jonny & Laura (UK)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnymc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Jonny & Laura,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon?
We will pass on your comments about him and his cookery course to our chef and we are happy to hear that you sucessfully managed to cook them when you got back to the UK.
Once again thank you for your time & thoughts - we really do appreciate them.
Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala x x - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent two nights here in February . It was our 6th hotel in as many nights and we found it to be by far the nicest. The hospitality was great and the house and garden were beautiful. Nothing was too much trouble for Wathsala and Phil in their aim to make our stay more comfortable. The location wasn't perfect but a very cheap tuk tuk was always on hand for the few minutes ride to the beach . Thank you Wathsala and Phil for a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susananna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Without repeating all the wonderful reviews on this brilliant guest house, it is really excellent. We stayed for five nights in January and loved every minute. Saw turtles on the local beach literally 1 minute away and a short walk from local beach around 2 small bays to Mirissa (or a 50p tuc tuc ride), where there are waves to surf, beach bars a few shops etc. Phil and Wathsala are really out to make your visit enjoyable, they will discuss your evening meal in the morning and their chef will cook to your requirements. They will look after all your travel requirements collection from airport etc. The gardens and pool are so peaceful. We took a tuc tuc to Mirissa and the driver spoke perfect english. We booked him to take us to Galle for the day. His name Jayaranga, tel 716690168. Spent whole day with him including a very cheap meal all for £10 for the day. P and W will also help with any travel requirements. Spice House is getting well known and deservedly so. Phil was taking bookings for 2014 so get your skates on or you will miss out on a great experience. See you in a couple of years Phil.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mrpiggy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The building, constructed by the owner (Brit) and his wife (Sri Lankan), is exquisite. A lot of thought put into the layout and design. The pool in the back terrace is just so that you can't see the house for the garden wall when you're swimming, so you feel completely removed from the world. It's gorgeous.

The room was also very beautiful, but there were lots of little things missing -- hooks on the walls in the bathroom to hang a towel, soap, and the windows didn't close entirely, so it didn't feel as secure as it could have -- though the building itself has a gate and seems pretty secure. No AC. Decent fan though. WiFi reached the room, which was nice -- sometimes you don't want to go out into the public area to book your next stay.

Location-wise, it could be better. It's at the east end of town and you have to walk along a noisy road to get to the beach. Probably a better place to stay for its own sake than if you want to walk around, though tuktuks are 150 LKR to get anywhere in town in high season.

Overall it was lovely, if a little pricey at 6200 LKR per night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taraandspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I have just stayed 4 nights at the Spice House and would recommend it to all travellers. The rooms are clean and comfortable the staff are helpful, food great nothing is to much touble. a calm and relaxed atmosphere, short walk to beach. well done to Phil ans Wathsala.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pba2746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirissa
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 191 in Mirissa
319 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#5 of 11 in Mirissa
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kamburugamuwa
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#14 of 191 in Mirissa
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Address: Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: $45 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing