We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spice House, Mirissa
Ranked #3 of 194 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Spice House is a delightful gem. Close to the beach, it offers tastefully decorated rooms with balconies, clean en suite bathrooms, an open varandah to lounge around, and mouthwatering meals. The owners Phil and Watsala welcome guests with open arms, and make sure they are comfortable and happy. The newly added swimming pool is a bonus. It's a great place to meet other travelers. And it is definitely a place that families with small children can enjoy. We absolutely loved spending 5 nights there!

Room Tip: The large triple room in the front is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 560 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

If music is the spice of life, The Spice House is like Ceylons lost symphony . This is a little piece of heaven , and was a brilliant place to chill for our last 4 days in Sri Lanka. It was like staying with some rich mates who live in a beautiful mansion.

We felt welcomed even though the place was full and Phil and Watsuna were clearly busy. The rooms are lovely, grounds divine and pool gorgeous. There are loads of activities to do and facilities to use. And eating family style round a table, delicious food, rounded off the days nicely.

Thanks to Phil and Watsuna for having us in your home. I almost feel like inviting you back to ours!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Guys,
Many thanks for your review and for taking the tiime to write it.
Also a big thank you for helping us with organizing the recipes for our cookery classes.
It was a pleasure having you all stay with us & we wish you every happiness for the New Year.
Cheers,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just loved this place. Beautiful architecture, elegant interior design and the homely feeling you get from great hosts. Phil and Watsala's warmth and sense of humor was infectious and made for a great atmosphere amongst all of the guests during our stay. The food was delicious as well and there were these lovely touches such as being given different pastries to try each morning.

The Spice House in Mirissa is slightly away from the busier end of the village and main beach BUT its a 3 min walk to a smaller, more secluded beach bay which my partner and I have since agreed was the most beautiful, picture postcard beach we saw during our travels in Sri Lanka.

As you can probably pick up from this review, we can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Such a warm and welcoming place .Phil and Watsala go out of their way to make sure you have the nicest possible time in Marissa. The perfect place to wind down after a busy time travelling through the country. Can`t recommend it highly enough .Beautiful food and a beautiful house.We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about us.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Thank you and have a great Christmas.
Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A wonderful place to stay, with very easy-going hosts who are helpful, friendly, competent … and who made our trip so easy and comfortable.
We spent four nights at the Spice House, a couple with two mothers. Phil and Wathsala helped with transport, recommendations, their wonderful home of course and a stunning dinner. We had picked Mirissa at the start of our holiday to relax and unwind – which is exactly what our hosts enabled us to do. The friendly touch, easygoing manner and the helpful information both in advance as well as during our stay made the organization very simple.
The Spice House is fantastic value for money; Phil and Wathsala go out of their way to accommodate any and all wishes (in our case this included making their own room available for us!); the location is great – not directly on the beach, but set back amidst palm trees; the dinner (need to pre-book in the morning) probably the very best we had during our entire stay in Sri Lanka; and the house itself everything you could wish for – clean, comfortable, beautiful … perfect for relaxing!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and comfortable; the front rooms have large verandahs, but occasionally you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

No Question the owners made us feel incredibility welcome and helped us with any questions we had. The owner has a vision of making the back a massage place and also is in the making of an outdoor stone pizza oven, pity won't be there to see & taste the finished product. The rooms are clean and unfortunately the first night there it rained hard and a leaking roof dripped onto my wife in the night. We told Phil the next morning and was moved into a different room. We did book a whale trip through them and as recommended PLEASE go through Raj and the whales, jetwing eco holidays or eco team sri lanka as the operators they put us on to our experience was dreadful and highly unprofessional (we did get half our money back).
Quite a bit of building work being done a guess before peak season kicks off, shame it was while we were there.
The hotel décor is lovely as are the owners, breakfast was delicious. As the title says a lot of potential but not quite there yet, really hope that it does.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dylan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Dylan,
Thank you for comments.
Firstly we are really sorry about the leaking roof that you experienced during your stay with us,as you know every other guesthouse in Sri Lanka uses asbestos in their roofs which when we constructed our house for health & safety reasons we didnt want to use unfortunately because it is a traditionally built house and we have used very old reclaimed roof tiles we do occasionally experience this problem during heavy monsoon rain which we repair straight away.Until the off season i am unable to solve it completely as we dont want to do any major work while we have guests staying.
Regarding the building work my neighbours are completing a guesthouse next door.
Im sorry that you had a bad experience with the whale watching captain that we recommended, unfortunately it was terrible weather on the morning that you went out, i truly believe that the captain thought he was doing what his passengers wanted by going out to try and see some whales despite the heavy seas & rain.He does have a brand new purpose built boat so there were no safety issues.
Once again thank you for your comments and we are sorry that your experience with us was not a better one.
Kind Regards,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The spice house hotel is a charming place in Mirissa, although it is not on the Beach we had loved staying there and would come back if we were in Mirissa again. Great and welcoming host, clean rooms, we really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 194 in Mirissa
322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#13 of 194 in Mirissa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mirissa Hills
Mirissa Hills
#3 of 11 in Mirissa
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Address: Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range: $45 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing