We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spice House, Mirissa
Ranked #3 of 192 Mirissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot friendly welcome”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend at the Spice House Mirissa. Lovely friendly welcome from Phil and his Sri Lankan wife Wathsala. Like visiting old friends really. Really nice rooms and chilled garden and pool for relaxing. Main beach is only a 10 min walk and there is also a nice quiet swimming cove just opposite. Breakfast is fab with local fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, toast, coconut rotti. Dinner if you want it is cooked by their local chef and they are hoping to expand their menu with snacks soon. They are just putting the finishing touches to this smashing little guest house and we will certainly be back for more! Very good value ...

Room Tip: We stayed in Cardamom overlooking garden and pool was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandPhilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Chris & Phil,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us,we really do appreciate your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year - thank you for the repeat booking.
Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    65
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
107
309
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wathsala and Phil make you welcome like you're back at home. Sitting round having a few chats with them and other guests while dining on some fabulous curries. Rooms were clean and tidy and spacious. And the new pool was perfect for floating around and relaxing. Only a sort tuktuk ride to Mirissa for some great beach side dining.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kierenreeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Kieren,Bu & the kids,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about us.
I really enjoyed our chats and also the honest feedback that you gave me on things that we might improve around the house.
From our point of view it was a pleasure to have such nice guests staying with us and we are really glad that you also enjoyed your time with us.

Best Wishes,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We started our trip in Mirissa, booking two nights at the beautiful Spice House. The rooms were fantastic. Sharp, clean, simple yet elegant. The beds sit beautifully, being elegant 4 poster gems. In order to make a place special you do however require welcoming, friendly, passionate owners and the Spice House offers exactly that. Phil and his wife bend over backwards to work around your needs and the breakfasts set you up for the day, with only dinner required.

This seriously is a place which needs to be visited.

In addition to all the above, we sorted out a driver for the rest of our holiday through the Spice House. His name was Channar, the brother of Phils lovely wife. Channar was greeeeeeaaaaat. He wasn't only a 'bloody nice guy' but a top driver, who like the owners, would do everything he could for you. We explored parts of the country he hadn't seen before and loved every minute. Channah, along with the Spice House, are two gems of Sri Lanka.

Make contact with Phil to book him up. He will no doubt be in hot demand given he is an absolute star.

Miss the place and miss our Driver. Hope they are all well. Will come back and visit soon.

Dom and Victoria. PS Thanks for the hairspray. xx

Room Tip: We had a back room which was away from the road, therefore a touch quieter. It also had really good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintnicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Domonic & Victoria,

Thank you for your excellent and kind review.
We are so glad to hear that you had a great time after you left us exploring the rest of the island with Channa.We really do appreciate your comments and like yourselves hope to see you both again soon.
Take care & best wishes,

Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is an amazing place, with the best owner we ever met: Wathsala (she is so adorable!). We first planed to stay only 2 nights, but finally decided to stay there for our 5 last nights! We manage to go by bus to Galle (only 1h to get there - the bus stops in front of the house) and to Habaraduwa and Koggola (only 30 minutes by bus) to visit a turtle hatchery and see the stick fishermen. The house is beautiful, such as the tropical garden with a really nice swimmingpool (Wathsala is planning to buy some deckchairs in order to lay down and relax next to the swimingpool). We really felt like staying in our own house, with our new family: Wathsala, her really nice and smiling mother, the man working there every day (one day, he climbed on a really high coconut tree in the garden in order to pick some coconuts for the dinner: we were really impressed!) and the great new Chef who cooked the evening dinner: we eat there 3 times and really enjoyed it! Wathsala asked us every time in the morning what we wanted to eat for dinner, so we could choose and really enjoy it. We had our dinners with other guests in the house and had lots of fun with them (there was a large table and some smaller ones so we could choose wether we wanted to eat together or not). There was no really hot water in our bathroom (only in a bathroom downstairs, available if we wanted), but we did not really care as it was quite hot, so it was nice to get colder under the shower! When we checked-in online for our plane back home, we saw that it was leaving at 6.00 am, instead of 2.00 am, so we had to change our plans (we did not want to wait for many hours at the airport). Wathsala offered us to stay at her house until late in the evening and fixed our way back to Colombo airport with her brother. So we could still enjoy a last full day with our new family :-)
Thank you again, Wathsala, for making the end of our stay in Sri Lanka really unforgettable! If we ever come back to Sri Lanka and Mirissa, we will stay for sure at your lovely home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Ayubowan Thank you very much for your review.Im really glad that you enjoyed your stay with me & my family & i really hope that you will come back again some time to meet my husband.
Wishing you every health & happiness.
Love Wathsala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This guest house is wonderful. As soon as you arrive you feel at home - we were greeted with tea and cake on the porch which was a lovely touch. We had the choice of three lovely rooms on our arrival - opting for a garden/pool view room. The gardens and pool are stunning - we could have quite easily lounged around here and at the beach for 4 - 5 days. We dined at the guest house on one of the two nights of our stay. The rice and fish curry prepared by the chef of the guest house was definetly one of, if not, the best we had on our 16 day hols in Sri Lanka.

Thank you to Phil and family for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Hannah,
Thank you very much for your very positive feedback.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we really like it when our guests go away having felt like they have stayed in our home as guests & not just in another faceless hotel.
We will also pass on your comments to our chef, thank you.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate it.

Kind Regards,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

just returned from our trip to sri lanka, staying 4 nights in the spice house. it is our 5th trip to sri lanka and this has to be one of the best and most welcoming guest houses, cant wait to return.the whole family are so friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
the rooms are spacious and clean, we had the front room with a really large balcony and my husband never wanted to move from it, the views are lovely.Breakfast was massive and it was something different every day.The gardens and the pool are really nice and so peaceful.
Across the road and about a 2min walk is a little bay and you can either walk round to the main beach its about 15min or you could get a tuktuk for about 100-200rupees, but it is a nice relaxing walk.
You can have meals in the house if you tell them in the day but we do like to go different places and there are loads of resturants, again in walking distance or by tuktuk if you do walk at night i would advise you take a torch but i would suggest this anywhere in sri lanka as the roads can be quite dark in places, meals in the house are cooked by a local chef and are lovely.
All in all we had a brilliant time, its like having your own house.
We will certainly be returning and would 100% recommend the Spice House, just sorry we didnt manage to meet Phil who returned a couple of days after we left, a big thank to Wathsala and her family for making our stay so enjoyable and a big cuddle for Asli the puppy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
Im really glad to hear that you have fallen in love with Sri Lanka as much as i have!
As you say it was a shame that i missed your visit but i am happy to hear that Wathsala & her family took good care of you, as i have now moved out here permanently im sure that we will meet up in the future so i can thank you personally?
Once again many thanks for your kind comments.

Kind Regards,
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House,Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at The Spice House at Mirissa. Wathsala and her family completely made us feel at home and did everything possible to ensure our stay was relaxing, enjoyable and an opportunity to be a part of the Sri Lankan way of life. The house itself is beautiful, with light and airy rooms, which we found were perfectly suited to the climate and also spacious.

The level of hospitality was like nothing else we have seen. More so when I became unwell due to a throat and chest infection and needed medical treatment. Wathsala accompanied my husband and myself to a hospital and she ensured I was seen to immediately and helped arrange the medication I required. I cannot say thank you enough.

As others have said, the breakfast is amazing and totally enjoyable. If you're interested, they can even arrange authentic Sri Lankan breakfast foods such as string hoppers for you to try. Don't be afraid, embrace the culture including the food and you won't regret it!

When it came time to leave, both my husband and I were sad to go, as we were welcomed so well and made to feel as though it was a place we could have stayed for much longer. Needless to say, we will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front rooms, as we could see the ocean and enjoy the beautiful breeze at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellymac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thespicehouse, Owner at The Spice House, Mirissa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi Kelly,
We both hope that you are feeling better now?
Speaking as a Westerner the Buddhist way of life that my Wife, Wathsala and the rest of her family lead is really refreshing to me and their helpful & caring nature is just part of their normal everyday way of life.
We really appreciate your kind comments & are glad that you embraced the culture here that i have so fallen in love with myself.
We look forward to welcoming you both again soon into our home.
Wishing you all the best.
Phil & Wathsala - Owners of The Spice House Mirissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mirissa hotels
0.0 mi away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 11 in Mirissa
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peacock Villa
Peacock Villa
#1 of 192 in Mirissa
316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Imagine Villa Hotel
Imagine Villa Hotel
#4 of 192 in Mirissa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mandara Resort
Mandara Resort
#4 of 11 in Mirissa
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sri Sharavi Beach Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Number ONE Mirissa
Number ONE Mirissa
#17 of 192 in Mirissa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spice House, Mirissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spice House, Mirissa

Property: The Spice House, Mirissa
Address: Km 151, Galle Road, Mirissa 81740, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Mirissa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Mirissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spice House, Mirissa is a beautiful Colonial style guesthouse with its own private swimming pool set in a peaceful, landscaped garden full of tropical flowers, fruits, spices, ponds & hammocks. It is ideally situated only one minute from a beautiful, reef protected bay & 1km from the main bustle of Mirissa beach. The guesthouse is English owned by an experienced traveller and his Sri Lankan Wife which allows us to offer our guests the perfect mix of Western comfort & luxury alongside Sri Lankan charm & service - we like our guests to feel like part of the family. The house is shaded by coconut palms & cinnamon trees to the front while the back is terraced which allows wonderful views over the surrounding jungle. Local wildlife is often seen in our garden with daily visits from monkeys, kingfishers, peacocks, woodpeckers & squirrels. We can also help with Airport transfers & booking whale watching trips during the season (November - April). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Spice House Hotel, Mirissa Hotel Mirissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing